Page 3 of 4

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 3:40 am
by bobingabout
Hearken wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:57 am
I am trying to modify the amount of power generated by the nuclear machines in the power mod. I've managed to set the reactors and exchangers to my desired values, but the turbines seem to be capped at 11.82 MW because the maximum temperature they seem to be able to handle is 1000C:
0.2 KW * 60 * 1 * (1000-15) = 11820 KW.
My desired output from a turbine is 25 MW which is achievable at 2099C:
0.2 KW * 60 * 1 * (2099-15) = 25008 KW
Setting the maximum temperature for both reactors and exchangers to 2099C causes no issues as far as I can tell. The UI tooltip informs me that the maximum temperature of the turbine is 2099C, but the maximum output remains 11.82MW. Is there some way to increase this hidden maximum temperature so that I can get a higher power output?
Part of the reason why my steam temperatures are what I've set them to is because there's an element of hard coding that says you can't go above 1000C.
I think there is a way to increase it, but I can't remember the specifics.

An alternate approach could be to modify the water power per degree stat on water instead of increasing the temperature.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:54 am
by Silari
bobingabout wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 3:40 am
Part of the reason why my steam temperatures are what I've set them to is because there's an element of hard coding that says you can't go above 1000C.
I think there is a way to increase it, but I can't remember the specifics.

An alternate approach could be to modify the water power per degree stat on water instead of increasing the temperature.
Isn't that just the Steam prototype having a max_temperature set to 1000? Space Exploration has 5000 degree steam for it's anti-matter and energy beam stuff, and it's fine.
Hearken wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:57 am
Is there some way to increase this hidden maximum temperature so that I can get a higher power output?
A quick test with setting the max_temp of heat exchangers, turbines, and steam to 2099 works fine - gives me 25MW output.

Code: Select all

data.raw.fluid.steam.max_temperature = 2099
data.raw.generator["steam-turbine"].maximum_temperature = 2099
data.raw.boiler["heat-exchanger"].target_temperature = 2099

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 9:52 am
by Hearken
Silari wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:54 am

Isn't that just the Steam prototype having a max_temperature set to 1000? Space Exploration has 5000 degree steam for it's anti-matter and energy beam stuff, and it's fine.

A quick test with setting the max_temp of heat exchangers, turbines, and steam to 2099 works fine - gives me 25MW output.

Code: Select all

data.raw.fluid.steam.max_temperature = 2099
data.raw.generator["steam-turbine"].maximum_temperature = 2099
data.raw.boiler["heat-exchanger"].target_temperature = 2099
Thank you, changing the steam max temp fixed for me. Interestingly, before changing the steam max temp I could still produce 2099C steam with the exchangers, but the turbines wouldn't accept it as an input.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2021 12:37 am
by bobingabout
Silari wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:54 am
Isn't that just the Steam prototype having a max_temperature set to 1000? Space Exploration has 5000 degree steam for it's anti-matter and energy beam stuff, and it's fine.
I'm sure it used to be more complicated than that, but if that's all it takes to fix it now, that's not bad.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:15 am
by spiro9
Would it be fine to build "addon mods," as it were, which piggyback off the library and other bob's mods code, without actually containing any of that code within themselves? There's some convenient functions in there that would be nice to work with while I'm starting out, but I don't want to build anything like that without express permission.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2022 6:16 pm
by kirazy
spiro9 wrote:
Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:15 am
Would it be fine to build "addon mods," as it were, which piggyback off the library and other bob's mods code, without actually containing any of that code within themselves? There's some convenient functions in there that would be nice to work with while I'm starting out, but I don't want to build anything like that without express permission.
If you're just using them and calling functions/assets within those rather than incorporating those assets/code into your own mod, you're fine. A number of people have mods that do just this.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2022 8:18 pm
by spiro9
kirazy wrote:
Thu Apr 28, 2022 6:16 pm
spiro9 wrote:
Thu Apr 28, 2022 7:15 am
Would it be fine to build "addon mods," as it were, which piggyback off the library and other bob's mods code, without actually containing any of that code within themselves? There's some convenient functions in there that would be nice to work with while I'm starting out, but I don't want to build anything like that without express permission.
If you're just using them and calling functions/assets within those rather than incorporating those assets/code into your own mod, you're fine. A number of people have mods that do just this.
Okay, good. Was thinking I'd like to experiment with the ore generation functions to create new ores and materials and such with relative ease.

The one mod that I'd probably start running into serious issues with is Adjustable Inserters. Another mod, Inserter Configuration, has decent functionality but does not appear to support anything other than 4 directions, and lags out with high ranges. I don't know if it's possible to extend individual functions and add onto their functionality, I sincerely *doubt* that's the case, but in regards to the GUI rendering there's some convenient functions there I'd like to be able to piggy-back off of, the other functionality I can probably figure out how to recreate easy enough. I just don't want to do that without permission.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2022 8:48 pm
by KiwiHawk
If you have specific things you'd like to discuss or questions, discord is probably the easiest. Look for the channel #bobs-mods-feedback on the Omni discord: https://discord.gg/WQYks7W

I'm the one doing dev work on Bob's mods these days. Bob is often on there too.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun May 01, 2022 8:13 pm
by bobingabout
By "Bob is often there too.", I just show up randomly, with days between messages, and give basic responses like "Yes, that's fine" or an explanation of why something is the way it is, and if I think it should change.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon May 09, 2022 5:11 pm
by Hannu
Is there any way to change initial settings later? I forgot to set speed penalty for productivity modules and would like to add it. After 150 hours I do not begin new save with new settings. I can use commands or hack save files with hex editor or anything if someone tell what to change. Vanilla like -15 % per tier seem OK.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon May 09, 2022 5:28 pm
by bobingabout
Hannu wrote:
Mon May 09, 2022 5:11 pm
Is there any way to change initial settings later? I forgot to set speed penalty for productivity modules and would like to add it. After 150 hours I do not begin new save with new settings. I can use commands or hack save files with hex editor or anything if someone tell what to change. Vanilla like -15 % per tier seem OK.
yeah, just change them.
MOST settings in bob's mods change the definitions when you load the game, and the only way to change them is from the main menu, which requires a game restart. Simply change the settings to the ones you want to use, restart the game, then load a save. It'll tell you the settings are different, but just continue and load without restarting, and the new settings will apply to your current save.

The ones that are per map, or per player should be able to be changed while in the game anyway (though some a limited to admin only, but if you're on single player, you are the admin)

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon May 09, 2022 6:09 pm
by Hannu
bobingabout wrote:
Mon May 09, 2022 5:28 pm

yeah, just change them.
MOST settings in bob's mods change the definitions when you load the game, and the only way to change them is from the main menu, which requires a game restart. Simply change the settings to the ones you want to use, restart the game, then load a save. It'll tell you the settings are different, but just continue and load without restarting, and the new settings will apply to your current save.

The ones that are per map, or per player should be able to be changed while in the game anyway (though some a limited to admin only, but if you're on single player, you are the admin)
Thank you very much. I did not notice that I can change mod settings in main menu.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2022 7:18 am
by Zyrconia
Hi!

I played with pure speed/prod modules before, but this time I really used Helmod to map out the chains and it looks like pure productivity and speed modules are a clear upgrade on normal ones, while basically being only negligibly more expensive.

So it looks like it is an either or situation: either you want to only have base modules or there is no need to build base modules ever, just get pure ones, for the same cost and only advantages.

Am I missing something or is this the design?

How do you feel about pure modules?

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2022 6:35 pm
by bobingabout
Zyrconia wrote:
Mon Aug 22, 2022 7:18 am
Hi!

I played with pure speed/prod modules before, but this time I really used Helmod to map out the chains and it looks like pure productivity and speed modules are a clear upgrade on normal ones, while basically being only negligibly more expensive.

So it looks like it is an either or situation: either you want to only have base modules or there is no need to build base modules ever, just get pure ones, for the same cost and only advantages.

Am I missing something or is this the design?

How do you feel about pure modules?
They are more expensive, because they're basically 2 modules in one. I tend to use them exclusively when I'm able to. (Which is like... everything that isn't being made as an ingredient)
This is one reason why there's an option to turn them off, they're just a little OP.
Then there's God Modules that are more OP, which is why they're turned off by default.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2022 10:01 am
by CaptRonSolo
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I was curious about updates to Bob's Power and what the chances were of seeing a 3x3 Substation 5, to better match assemblers/labs?

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2022 12:45 am
by bobingabout
CaptRonSolo wrote:
Sun Dec 25, 2022 10:01 am
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I was curious about updates to Bob's Power and what the chances were of seeing a 3x3 Substation 5, to better match assemblers/labs?
Why do you specifically want it to be 3x3? All other substations are 2x2.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:12 am
by canisdirusleidy
Is there an option to disable tech gate for basic boilers/steam plants?

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:14 am
by KiwiHawk
canisdirusleidy wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:12 am
Is there an option to disable tech gate for basic boilers/steam plants?
No

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:31 am
by canisdirusleidy
KiwiHawk wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:14 am
canisdirusleidy wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:12 am
Is there an option to disable tech gate for basic boilers/steam plants?
No
Which, by the way, leads to the following: complete lack of power source for lab if new game started with "Burner electric generator" (Bob's Power) and "Burner power phase" (Bob's Technology) simultaneously disabled in mods settings.

Re: [1.1] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:41 am
by KiwiHawk
canisdirusleidy wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:31 am
KiwiHawk wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:14 am
canisdirusleidy wrote:
Wed Jan 04, 2023 6:12 am
Is there an option to disable tech gate for basic boilers/steam plants?
No
Which, by the way, leads to the following: complete lack of power source for lab if new game started with "Burner electric generator" (Bob's Power) and "Burner power phase" (Bob's Technology) simultaneously disabled in mods settings.
Good point. I'll change it so Steam Power tech is only enabled if there's an alternative power source available.