[0.12.x][v0.12.10] Bob's Modules.

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

Post Reply
orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by orzelek »

Are god mods meant to be so godly?

After you make first few and insert them into assembler thats making them you can start mass manufacturing them easily.
And putting them in other things makes things a bit weird - especially with the speed bonus of 4-5 god modules (only using grade 1 for now). It looks like I could de-construct half or more of my factory and produce more. Only limiting factor is speed of inserters.

Not sure if thats related but game started lagging for me after I started switching to god modules.. not sure if it's related :D

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

I don't know if lag is related or not, it might be a catalyst due to the increased activity elsewhere.

And yes, God modules are supposed to be godly, hence the name "God" Modules. You can simply not use them, or even turn them off in config.lua if you don't like them.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

KrzysD
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by KrzysD »

I just noticed this last night when i made my first god module, but maybe remove the module space for the pumps, that would balance it better for those that want it.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

KrzysD wrote:I just noticed this last night when i made my first god module, but maybe remove the module space for the pumps, that would balance it better for those that want it.
Actually, I have a better idea. Remove the "Productivity" option, so you can still put in power, polution and speed, but not the one that gives you extra things.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by orzelek »

bobingabout wrote:
KrzysD wrote:I just noticed this last night when i made my first god module, but maybe remove the module space for the pumps, that would balance it better for those that want it.
Actually, I have a better idea. Remove the "Productivity" option, so you can still put in power, polution and speed, but not the one that gives you extra things.
That'd make me drop them completely - they would stop being lazy option ;)

Might be a bit much to request - would it be possible to add config setting to select if they have speed and/or productivity?

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by UberWaffe »

bobingabout wrote:Actually, I have a better idea. Remove the "Productivity" option, so you can still put in power, polution and speed, but not the one that gives you extra things.
I'm currently playing with that approach (except on mining drills productivity is till allowed). Works well for me.
File contents shown below.

Code: Select all

-- Limit Use of productivity to mining drills only.
-- ===================================================================
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-5"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-6"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["furnace"]["electric-furnace"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["beacon"]["basic-beacon"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- unchanged
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["oil-refinery"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["chemical-plant"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["tf-cokery"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed"} -- unchanged
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["tf-biolab"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["electrolyser"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["electrolyser-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["electrolyser-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["chemical-furnace"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["mixing-furnace"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["electric-chemical-mixing-furnace"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["electric-chemical-mixing-furnace-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["chemical-plant-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["chemical-plant-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["chemical-plant-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["air-pump"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["air-pump-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["air-pump-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["air-pump-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["water-pump"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["water-pump-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["water-pump-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["water-pump-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["beacon"]["basic-beacon-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- unchanged
data.raw["beacon"]["basic-beacon-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- unchanged
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["tank-assembling-machine"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["assembling-machine"]["tank-ammo-assembling-machine"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["lab"]["lab"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["lab"]["lab"].module_slots = 0 -- Labs should not have any modules. Was 2
data.raw["lab"]["lab-module"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
data.raw["lab"]["lab-module"].module_slots = 0 -- Labs should not have any modules. Was 2
data.raw["furnace"]["tf-stone-crusher"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed

-- Allow mining drills to have productivity effect.
-- ===================================================================
data.raw["mining-drill"]["basic-mining-drill"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["pumpjack"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-mining-drill-1"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-mining-drill-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-mining-drill-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-mining-drill-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-area-mining-drill-1"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-area-mining-drill-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-area-mining-drill-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-area-mining-drill-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-pumpjack-1"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-pumpjack-2"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-pumpjack-3"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"
data.raw["mining-drill"]["bob-pumpjack-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "productivity", "pollution"} -- should allow "productivity"

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

I didn't mean on everything, just a few select things like the pumps.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by cpy »

Where do you put those data.raw?

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by UberWaffe »

I've created a quick little mod that has that file in it.

The mod is called the Unproductive mod and can be downloaded here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/15sjy78t4xtme ... 0.zip?dl=0
Note: You do not need a dropbox account to download it, you can choose not to sign up when doing the download.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

I do like to see when people make these little mods like this.

The only problem is that with the code as is in that list, every entity listed has to exist, else it will cause an error.
you should probably add some redundancy to this to make it work even if none of my mods are installed, example as follows.

Code: Select all

if data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-4"] then
  data.raw["assembling-machine"]["assembling-machine-4"].allowed_effects = {"consumption", "speed", "pollution"} -- "productivity" removed
end
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by UberWaffe »

bobingabout wrote:I do like to see when people make these little mods like this.

The only problem is that with the code as is in that list, every entity listed has to exist, else it will cause an error.
you should probably add some redundancy to this to make it work even if none of my mods are installed, example as follows.
...snip...
Very good point. I completely disregarded that I have tree-farm and Tankz installed as well.

Code: Select all

"tf-stone-crusher", "tank-assembling-machine", "tank-ammo-assembling-machine"
Updated version can be found at: https://www.dropbox.com/s/kstp5e3u5vham ... 1.zip?dl=0
Checks for everything, even vanilla entities, in case some mods does remove them.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

You could go even further, and instead of re-defining the whole list with productivity removed, you could instead search within the array for productivity, then remove only that one entry.

In this instance, it is probably over-kill, but if you want to take a look at an example, have a read through the code of my Electronics Overide mod. It uses this method to search for Intermediates I'm removing, and replace them with the equivelent.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

dog_365
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by dog_365 »

in the v0.12.1 version of the mod i can't produce god modules in assembling machines is that normal?

crysanja
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 4:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by crysanja »

works for me, however you need assembly machine V or higher

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

dog_365 wrote:in the v0.12.1 version of the mod i can't produce god modules in assembling machines is that normal?
They're a complex recipe with a high number of ingredients, and therefore need a high tier assembly machine. General rule is an assembly machine can make things with double the components of its mk level.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
oLaudix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by oLaudix »

I have a question to people that use this mod. It looks very interesting, but when i compare the recipies to vanilla modules they look very easy to make. It takes like 8 times less materials to make it. MK8 modules ofc are fairly complicated and expensive but those look seriously OP compared to vanilla ones. So my question is: Does it look balanced gameplay wise? Isn't it making the game a bit 2 easy? I have similar problem with Assembly Machines. Those recipies looks easy as well.

PS. I love the changed graphics of modules. Now they actually look like you hook them up into slot.
Image

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

oLaudix wrote:I have a question to people that use this mod. It looks very interesting, but when i compare the recipies to vanilla modules they look very easy to make. It takes like 8 times less materials to make it. MK8 modules ofc are fairly complicated and expensive but those look seriously OP compared to vanilla ones. So my question is: Does it look balanced gameplay wise? Isn't it making the game a bit 2 easy? I have similar problem with Assembly Machines. Those recipies looks easy as well.

PS. I love the changed graphics of modules. Now they actually look like you hook them up into slot.
Are you looking at the recipes to make them with Metals Chemicals and Intermediates installed, or not. The true difficulty is with it installed.

As for the ammount given... I suppose it could be a little too overpowered when you get to the higher levels... but the current stats are to reflect what most people wanted at the time. Of course you use the stats to please some people, and others are less pleased. Maybe I should make a way to easilly costimise their stats?
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
oLaudix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by oLaudix »

bobingabout wrote:Are you looking at the recipes to make them with Metals Chemicals and Intermediates installed, or not. The true difficulty is with it installed.
I see. I'm kinda afraid of that part sice I'm medicore at the game and there is shitton of stuff added there. I would probably get overwhelmed. Ill leave it untill I install MCI then. I still need to get bored with vanilla stuff.
bobingabout wrote:Maybe I should make a way to easilly costimise their stats?
Waste of time probably. Most ppl will take it as it is. 20k/m of copper and 12k/m of iron to make 1 god module per minute is actually quite good. 113/m of iron and 200/m of copper for Speed Module 3 is easy as pie Especially when you compare it to 900/m and 1600/m of iron and copper of vanilla SM3 and those are weaker than yours. So if anything i would balance the cost of early modules. As for stats I like the new ratio of main stat vs energy increase since it is actually efficient to use best stuff available with any module I want instead of going 10000 AM2 with energy modules. My biggest problem are Raw Modules and God Modules so if i wont use those off it probably wont be as OP (they are tempting as hell though(not that hell is tempting)).

PS. I just found out about Beavons Mk3 ... God Modules pale in comparison to these xD
Image

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by bobingabout »

oLaudix wrote: My biggest problem are Raw Modules and God Modules so if i wont use those off it probably wont be as OP (they are tempting as hell though(not that hell is tempting)).
Open Config.lua in a text editor. You can disable Combined modules and God modules in here if you think they make the game too easy.
oLaudix wrote:PS. I just found out about Beavons Mk3 ... God Modules pale in comparison to these xD
That's one reason why you can't put productivity effects in a beacon. It means you can't use Productivity, Raw Productivity and God modules in them, so they can only be used to reduce energy consumption and polution and increase speed.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
oLaudix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.x][v0.2.9] Bob's Modules.

Post by oLaudix »

bobingabout wrote:That's one reason why you can't put productivity effects in a beacon. It means you can't use Productivity, Raw Productivity and God modules in them, so they can only be used to reduce energy consumption and polution and increase speed.
Raw Speed though :D I must say i really like Your mods. Some stuff is a tad OP but i just skip it. On the other hand You don't change vanilla recipies 2 much. That scared me off from DyTech.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”