[0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

User avatar
mexmer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by mexmer » Mon Oct 17, 2016 6:18 am

Walayimuna wrote:Hello, I'm sorry for posting this here, but I didn't know where was the correct location to post this sugestion.

Your recipe to gather gases from the atmosphere is similar to the composition on earth's atmosphere, ~78% nitrogen and ~21% oxygen.

But the fauna on the planet, the enemies seem to be, at least to me, giant insects.

Insects don't have lungs, my understanding is that in order for them to grow to that size it would require a atmosphere richer in oxygen, like earth was on pre-historic era.

Perhaps there could motivate a change on the recipe to gather gases from the atmosphere to provide more oxygen?

I apologize for my writing if there are any typos, english is not my native language.

Thank you
and how would your engineer breathe?
they don't use gasmask or anything, so by your logic atmosphere must be similar to earth, not different, regardles the fauna. ;)

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:43 am

Peppe wrote:Logistics button is halfway off screen in this update.
I noticed this myself. It's something I'm going to have to look at, but I felt that getting something that works the way I wanted was a bit more important than trying to fix an alignment issue.
Peppe wrote:Bob's config seems to have no affect on logistics mod as far as the tech unlocks and inserter button / checkbox options.

bob's config -> config.lua no affect:

Code: Select all

-- Logistics mod

-- If set to true, long versions of Burner, Fast, Smart and Express inserters are added.
bobmods.config.logistics.LongInserters = false

-- If set to true, Near (near side of standard belt) and Far (near side of long handed belt) inserters are added. Requires LongInserters to be true
bobmods.config.logistics.NearInserters = false

-- If set to true, short in long out, and long in short out combinations of Near, Standard, Far and Long inserters are added. Requires LongInserters and NearInserters to be true.
bobmods.config.logistics.MoreInserters = false
These are old settings from how it used to work, They're not needed anymore and should be removed.
MAYBE an option to remove the GUI instead.
Nexela wrote:
bobingabout wrote: inserters 0.14.1:
* Optimise on_tick routine.
Thank you for this! Should drastically improve script speed in multiplayer.
That was the intention. Hopefully I succeeded.

Part of the optimisations include:
Check if tick % 20 == 0. IE, only run 3 times a second.
Don't run the sanity check. Instead of iterating through all players(And crashing if they don't have an entry in the table), it just iterates through the table.
For each entry in the table check the following, in this order.
Is the player connected.
Does it have a targeted inserter
Is the inserter valid? (could have been deleted and not cleared yet)
Is the player in range.
If the first two are true, and either of the last two are false, the GUI will be closed.

Of course, the issue with only checking it 3 times a second is that if someone else mines out the inserter while you're pressing buttons on the GUI, you have those 20 ticks before the next update where it might be possible to cause a crash.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3613
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by orzelek » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:39 pm

There was an update to interface recently that would help you with this.
More info in release thread here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=33827

There is also example in the posts just below how to actually use it.
It makes most of validations uneccessary since game guarantees validy of connected players list.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Mon Oct 17, 2016 6:00 pm

The problem with using the new connected_players table is that it may result in a situation similar to using the players table where it indexes a player who doesn't have an inserters mod table built yet. That was the point of moving away from using the players table in the first place, checking if connected is true is more of an afterthought.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:36 pm

Here is a preview of the model you asked, a new version of the jeep.

I know it is not a sprite sheet, it'll be turned into a sprite sheet once bobingabout agrees with the final model

https://youtu.be/fzUfEg9kIs8

Please let me know your opinion on the model.

ghostwalker788
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by ghostwalker788 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:34 pm

i have an error that appears that seems to not exsist else where
help plz bob
Attachments
Untitled.png
the error i got
Untitled.png (172.35 KiB) Viewed 2411 times

ukezi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by ukezi » Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:29 pm

you have a mod installed, that uses god modules while you don't have them enabled.

ghostwalker788
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by ghostwalker788 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:21 am

i have bob's modals enabled

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:51 am

I actually looked at the code of my mods before I finally realised... that's not one of my modules.

It's a conflict between PowerAndArmors and bobmodules. It is a bug that has come up previously.

Yes, it is edited by my mods, but it's not a bob's module.

The issue is caused by the original module having a productivity effect without a limitation_message_key tag.

The proper fix would be to for me to change the code check for a limitation_message_key tag, and if it doesn't exist, add one if I add a limitation, however, for now, you can use bobconfig to disable productivity limitations, and then the mod will load.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

ghostwalker788
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by ghostwalker788 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:11 am

thanks that helped alot

User avatar
GeekinaCave
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by GeekinaCave » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:21 pm

Hi, a quick question, im using cheat mode to see the capacities of the grids in the vehicles with the new bobvehicleequipment, however i only got a 8x2 grid which not work for all the modules using in it.

Im tring using the VehiclesEquipement mod with no change.

Peppe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Peppe » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:28 pm

GeekinaCave wrote:Hi, a quick question, im using cheat mode to see the capacities of the grids in the vehicles with the new bobvehicleequipment, however i only got a 8x2 grid which not work for all the modules using in it.

Im tring using the VehiclesEquipement mod with no change.
You need to use bob's warfare, which should add a large grid to the car/tank.

Remove any other mod that adds a grid to the car/tank.

User avatar
GeekinaCave
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by GeekinaCave » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:47 pm

I do, but still only get a slim grid, im not sure what is the problem...
car.PNG
car.PNG (376.08 KiB) Viewed 2342 times
tank.PNG
tank.PNG (421.69 KiB) Viewed 2342 times
train.PNG
train.PNG (344.89 KiB) Viewed 2342 times

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3613
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by orzelek » Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:27 pm

Thats how bob balanced it.
Higher grade tanks and armored trains have bigger grids.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:00 am

GeekinaCave wrote:Hi, a quick question, im using cheat mode to see the capacities of the grids in the vehicles with the new bobvehicleequipment, however i only got a 8x2 grid which not work for all the modules using in it.

Im tring using the VehiclesEquipement mod with no change.
MK1 things only have a very small grid. MK2 and MK3 things have much larger grids. and the armored train.

Think of the MK1 stuff as similar to the Modular armor, you know, the one you get before the power suit.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
GeekinaCave
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by GeekinaCave » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:02 am

orzelek wrote:Thats how bob balanced it.
Higher grade tanks and armored trains have bigger grids.
oh, ok... i didn't noticed :oops:

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:05 am

Walayimuna wrote:Here is a preview of the model you asked, a new version of the jeep.

I know it is not a sprite sheet, it'll be turned into a sprite sheet once bobingabout agrees with the final model

https://youtu.be/fzUfEg9kIs8

Please let me know your opinion on the model.
I somehow missed this.

It looks like a decent looking Car MK2 type vehicle.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Walayimuna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Walayimuna » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:02 pm

bobingabout wrote:
Walayimuna wrote:Here is a preview of the model you asked, a new version of the jeep.

I know it is not a sprite sheet, it'll be turned into a sprite sheet once bobingabout agrees with the final model

https://youtu.be/fzUfEg9kIs8

Please let me know your opinion on the model.
I somehow missed this.

It looks like a decent looking Car MK2 type vehicle.
It can be altered if you wish, what would you like to change?

Mendel
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by Mendel » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:52 pm

Started using bobs mod pack something like a 100 hours ago

Image

Gradually, my "main belt" is getting rather fat :D Yea it got a bit out of hand. I still dont even have all ores on it (missing half the tungsten based metal mixes) but it has most of em.
also some of the resources actually have only one belt worth of stuff split on 4 belts but it makes it easier to increase throughput later, can just add stuff to the bottom from some more factory buildings when need be.
I just sort of decided to only go for 2 belts of each kind of gem (polished) cause I dont see myself needing that much of em. Okay well honestly I have no idea about ratios. Im just making a lot of everything. :)
Factorissimo works really well together with bobs. helps make sense of things and keeps things at least semi-organized.

This mod set gives so many extra puzzles to solve on top of the base game that I find it hard to get that interested about vanilla updates anymore since it will likely seem so small compared to this whopping amount of content. Im only now starting to get the last tier of circuit stuff out and I still have a bunch of research to do.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6858
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Post by bobingabout » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:19 am

Walayimuna wrote:
bobingabout wrote:
Walayimuna wrote:Here is a preview of the model you asked, a new version of the jeep.

I know it is not a sprite sheet, it'll be turned into a sprite sheet once bobingabout agrees with the final model

https://youtu.be/fzUfEg9kIs8

Please let me know your opinion on the model.
I somehow missed this.

It looks like a decent looking Car MK2 type vehicle.
It can be altered if you wish, what would you like to change?
It looks okay to me. As long as it's an appropriate size when converted to a sprite sheet.

Though I'd like to hear the opinion of a few of my fans too.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users