Bob mods for 0.12 General Topic.

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

Robotic Intermediates would be useful for Logistics and Warfare. Should I:

Poll ended at Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:38 pm

Mirror the research and intermediates in both mods.
2
6%
Create a new Robotic Overhaul and expansion mod. (Similar in style to the Electronics mod, which Logistics and Warfare use for their robots)
14
45%
Place the new intermediates in a common mod (The Intermediates part of Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod)
15
48%
 
Total votes: 31

User avatar
CorrettoSambuca
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by CorrettoSambuca »

SHiRKiT wrote:What I've found out in 0.11 after 80hours of gameplay is that robots are better to produce bob's circuits than belts.
Yep, but you need circuits to make robots :cry:

Ackos
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by Ackos »

The sulfur fields need to be turned on in the bobsores configs.

User avatar
SHiRKiT
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 702
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by SHiRKiT »

CorrettoSambuca wrote:
SHiRKiT wrote:What I've found out in 0.11 after 80hours of gameplay is that robots are better to produce bob's circuits than belts.
Yep, but you need circuits to make robots :cry:
That's why I do in the following order:
- Just get from 4 to 8 eletronic circuits assemblers
- Convert every one of them into blue science
- Get robots tech
- Tech robots and logistics
- Build robots and roboports
- Redo the circuit production with robots only

kiba
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:32 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by kiba »

SHiRKiT wrote:
CorrettoSambuca wrote:
SHiRKiT wrote:What I've found out in 0.11 after 80hours of gameplay is that robots are better to produce bob's circuits than belts.
Yep, but you need circuits to make robots :cry:
That's why I do in the following order:
- Just get from 4 to 8 eletronic circuits assemblers
- Convert every one of them into blue science
- Get robots tech
- Tech robots and logistics
- Build robots and roboports
- Redo the circuit production with robots only
Very expensive and energy inefficient.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7328
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by bobingabout »

Build sideways.

There are some good examples of what people have done to make an expandable bob's circuits with belts doable.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by DerivePi »

SHiRKiT wrote:
CorrettoSambuca wrote:
SHiRKiT wrote:What I've found out in 0.11 after 80hours of gameplay is that robots are better to produce bob's circuits than belts.
Yep, but you need circuits to make robots :cry:
That's why I do in the following order:
- Just get from 4 to 8 eletronic circuits assemblers
- Convert every one of them into blue science
- Get robots tech
- Tech robots and logistics
- Build robots and roboports
- Redo the circuit production with robots only
Bah! You guys and your robots - here is a small startup schematic for the Electronics Department in Bobs Mods - very simple* and should be mostly balanced for producing in proportion, 10 ckts, 3 adv ckts, 2 proc units and 1 adv proc unit (or whatever alternate names Bob gave them).
BOBS ELEC 1.jpg
BOBS ELEC 1.jpg (585.9 KiB) Viewed 3391 times
You just need ferric chloride, water, H2SO4 and Nitrogen for fluids and stone, quartz, lead plate, raw wood, copper plate, tin plate, gold plate, coal, plastic and, for the module department at the other end of the electronics department, you will need aluminum plate

Anxiously waiting for 0.12 update (couldn't finagle the .RAR file to work)
*simple - as compared to developing real circuits on real bread boards

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3853
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by orzelek »

bobingabout wrote:Build sideways.

There are some good examples of what people have done to make an expandable bob's circuits with belts doable.
I'd say it's not the problem of logistics for me.

It's usually the problem of being literally stuck in game - there is no way to progress further until you build all of this. And biters are not waiting for you - you also have no access to modules to try and optimize your factory a bit.

It would be good to spread those requirements a bit between advanced and next circuit stage. For example by making adv circuit only use basic electronic components.

User avatar
CorrettoSambuca
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by CorrettoSambuca »

orzelek wrote: I'd say it's not the problem of logistics for me.

It's usually the problem of being literally stuck in game - there is no way to progress further until you build all of this
I agree! It's not the difficulty that puts me off, it's the difficulty spike.
Everyhing before this point can be easily dealt with using standard vanilla factorio knowledge/techniques/complexity, but those damn circuits immediately shoot the brainpower requirements through the ceiling.
Maybe having a resource-inefficient way of producing them for the early game, and a more resource-efficient production chain with later-game recipes and machines would help.

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by DerivePi »

CorrettoSambuca wrote:
orzelek wrote: I'd say it's not the problem of logistics for me.

It's usually the problem of being literally stuck in game - there is no way to progress further until you build all of this
I agree! It's not the difficulty that puts me off, it's the difficulty spike.
Everyhing before this point can be easily dealt with using standard vanilla factorio knowledge/techniques/complexity, but those damn circuits immediately shoot the brainpower requirements through the ceiling.
Maybe having a resource-inefficient way of producing them for the early game, and a more resource-efficient production chain with later-game recipes and machines would help.
Of course the other way to look at it would be for Bob to add basic electronic components onto the ingredients for the initial circuit formula. That would mean one less production line that needs to be developed for the advanced circuits.

User avatar
CorrettoSambuca
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by CorrettoSambuca »

That would work too, yes. However as they are now they still fit the 3-2 setup for the vanilla greens.
Maybe substituting copper coils for basic components? I'm just throwing the suggestion out there, I don't have the actual recipes handy.

User avatar
SHiRKiT
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 702
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by SHiRKiT »

kiba wrote:
SHiRKiT wrote:
CorrettoSambuca wrote:
SHiRKiT wrote:What I've found out in 0.11 after 80hours of gameplay is that robots are better to produce bob's circuits than belts.
Yep, but you need circuits to make robots :cry:
That's why I do in the following order:
- Just get from 4 to 8 eletronic circuits assemblers
- Convert every one of them into blue science
- Get robots tech
- Tech robots and logistics
- Build robots and roboports
- Redo the circuit production with robots only
Very expensive and energy inefficient.
Works like a charm and requires the least amount of infrastructure.

So Bob, any predictions when you'll have it 0.12 working?

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3853
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by orzelek »

Using bots doesnt really help with reduction of the high complexity spike - maybe having ability to make 1-2 tiers of modules before blue science would help in keeping a progression and reducing the spike a bit.

User avatar
DerivePi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by DerivePi »

The highlighted recipe is the full circuit recipe that Bob chose not to use. Instead, the "Base Circuit Board" is the recipe that is being used to replace "Green Circuits."
Elec Recipes.jpg
Elec Recipes.jpg (212.75 KiB) Viewed 3191 times

User avatar
SHiRKiT
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 702
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by SHiRKiT »

orzelek wrote:Using bots doesnt really help with reduction of the high complexity spike - maybe having ability to make 1-2 tiers of modules before blue science would help in keeping a progression and reducing the spike a bit.
No it doesn't, they can only be built after the spike. I mean that after the spike is gone, I normally build the bots so I can increase my production capacity, since I can't get those things to be built in belts properly.

Need bobs for 0.12!

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1841
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by aklesey1 »

Bob what new BobTech mod do? I see new 2 science packs in editor
Nickname on ModPortal - Naron79

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7328
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by bobingabout »

I'm getting pretty close now, most of them are complete.
DerivePi wrote:The highlighted recipe is the full circuit recipe that Bob chose not to use.
I do actually use it, just not as much as I should. That's one of the things I plan to change, but, not for the 0.12 intial release.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
CartesianBear
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by CartesianBear »

bobingabout wrote:https://www.dropbox.com/s/j9vy343wd78he ... s.zip?dl=0

A zip file this time, of the latest edits.
You missed a closing } at the end of sulfur.lua, before the last closing parenthesis.

User avatar
SHiRKiT
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 702
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by SHiRKiT »

CartesianBear wrote:
bobingabout wrote:https://www.dropbox.com/s/j9vy343wd78he ... s.zip?dl=0

A zip file this time, of the latest edits.
You missed a closing } at the end of sulfur.lua, before the last closing parenthesis.
Although it is missing, for some reason it doesn't crash when I launch the game on my end.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7328
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by bobingabout »

it doesn't look like it's missing to me...


I may not be completely objective, because I'm half asleep, but it looks there to me.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1841
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Bob mods for 0.12

Post by aklesey1 »

1.245 Error Util.cpp:45: __bobwarfare__/data.lua:34: __bobwarfare__/prototypes/entity/turrets.lua:46: attempt to call global 'gun_turret_extension' (a table value)

This launch error with bobwarfare and treefarm AC is still alive, I understand that you're still working on a solution bob? I had installed your beta mods today
Nickname on ModPortal - Naron79

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”