Page 5 of 53

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 6:44 am
by Ayyno
Awesome! Excited to see what new complexities you'll bring to 0.15! <3 Thanks for all your hard work!

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 12:46 pm
by YookoS
Hello,

0.15.6 just came out and broke your greenhouse mod:

Image

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 1:17 pm
by Kormer
YookoS wrote:Hello,

0.15.6 just came out and broke your greenhouse mod:

Image
Adding the line fuel_category = "chemical", to the seedling entry in prototypes\items.lua fixed the issue for me. The full corrected items.lua is in the code below.


Code: Select all

data:extend(
{
  {
    type = "item",
    name = "bob-greenhouse",
    icon = "__bobgreenhouse__/graphics/icons/greenhouse.png",
    flags = {"goes-to-quickbar"},
    subgroup = "bob-greenhouse",
    order = "g[greenhouse]",
    place_result = "bob-greenhouse",
    stack_size = 20
  },
  {
    type = "item",
    name = "fertiliser",
    icon = "__bobgreenhouse__/graphics/icons/fertiliser.png",
    flags = {"goes-to-main-inventory"},
    subgroup = "bob-greenhouse-items",
    order = "g[fertiliser]",
    stack_size = 100
  },
  {
    type = "item",
    name = "seedling",
    icon = "__bobgreenhouse__/graphics/icons/seedling.png",
    flags = {"goes-to-main-inventory"},
    fuel_category = "chemical",
	fuel_value = "200J",
    subgroup = "bob-greenhouse-items",
    order = "g[seedling]",
    stack_size = 200
  },
}
)

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 1:29 pm
by ukezi
since when have the seedlings a fuel value? the problem is caused by a item with a fuel value without a fuel type.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 2:04 pm
by Recon777
I suggest making a "fluids" crafting menu.
The "intermediate products" menu is dominated by the sheer quantity of fluid options (that you can't hand-craft anyway), so it may be best to just give them their own menu.

Image

Oh, I also see the "sort raw gems" recipe despite having selected the other option for gems in the config at map start. Not sure if you've put that fix in yet or not.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 8:56 pm
by Airat9000
find bug

A rocking chair, extracts and does not transfer liquid to the pipes.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 10:08 pm
by SphynxLoL
Inserters from logistics mod seem to keep holding items in their hands. Just picked up the logistics mod, running Logistic Train Network as well. Vanilla Inserters never kept anything in their hand when a train had left the station. After the logistics mod was installed they all keep something in their hand. Just a heads up! Thanks for all the hard work!

Edit: Toggled off Bob's Logistics and inserters went back to holding nothing after train left.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 10:40 pm
by bobingabout
Airat9000 wrote:find bug

A rocking chair, extracts and does not transfer liquid to the pipes.
Make sure you have the latest version. It was broken in 0.15.0, but fixed in 0.15.1. I just tested and it worked fine for me.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 11:26 pm
by bobingabout
Alright, Power mod is out. As you know with the change to boilers and steam engines, all new stats.

Code: Select all

new Boiler
    max_health = 200,
    target_temperature = 165,
    energy_consumption = "1.8MW",
      effectivity = 0.5,

2
    max_health = 250,
    target_temperature = 235,
    energy_consumption = "3MW", --"1.8MW" * 10/9 * 220/150
    effectivity = 0.6,

3
    max_health = 300,
    target_temperature = 305,
    energy_consumption = "4.5MW", --"1.8MW" 10/8 * 290/150
      effectivity = 0.7,

4
    max_health = 350,
    target_temperature = 375,
    energy_consumption = "6.3MW", --"1.8MW" * 10/7 * 360/150
      effectivity = 0.8,



new steam engine
    max_health = 400,
    effectivity = 1,
    fluid_usage_per_tick = 0.5,
    maximum_temperature = 165,

2
    max_health = 500,
    effectivity = 1.1,
    fluid_usage_per_tick = 0.625,
    maximum_temperature = 275,

3
    max_health = 600,
    effectivity = 1.2,
    fluid_usage_per_tick = 0.75,
    maximum_temperature = 385,


I figured out that the new system allows you to make chains of up to 10 boilers, that power upto 20 steam engines, or 10 turbines. I still need to figure out the heat exchanger values.
I designed the boilers to need 9, 8 and 7 for a full chain, hence the 10/7 multiplier. the second multiplier is the water temperature difference EG 360/150 (in the form of max temp minus water starting temp of 15)

here's some more numbers.

Code: Select all

Power = water power per degree(0.2kW) * fluid per tick * 60 * (Water Temperature - 15) * effectivity 

0.2kW * 0.5   * 60 * 150 * 1   = 900kW    (SE1 with B1)
0.2kW * 0.625 * 60 * 150 * 1.1 = 1237.5kW (SE2 with B1)
0.2kW * 0.75  * 60 * 150 * 1.2 = 1620kW   (SE3 with B1)


0.2kW * 0.625 * 60 * 220 * 1.1 = 1815kW   (SE2 with B2)
0.2kW * 0.75  * 60 * 220 * 1.2 = 2376kW   (SE3 with B2)

0.2kW * 0.625 * 60 * 260 * 1.1 = 2145kW   (Maximum of SE2)


0.2kW * 0.75  * 60 * 290 * 1.2 = 3132kW   (SE3 with B3)
0.2kW * 0.75  * 60 * 360 * 1.2 = 3888kW   (SE3 with B4)

0.2kW * 0.75  * 60 * 370 * 1.2 = 3996kW   (maximum of SE3)
Let me know what you think of these stats, and how well they play out in game.
Also keep in mind that simply upgrading the boilers to T2 will be heating water higher than a T1 steam engine can handle, similarly to using steam engines with heat exchangers.
The effectivity bonus also means there's a reason to use a T2 steam engine over a standard engine, or even a turbine. and 0.75 of the MK3 does actually give awkward numbers, it takes 1.3333 per MK1 boiler. MK2 requires a clean 1.6 per MK1 boiler. (5 boilers takes 8 engines, 10 takes 16 etc)


I'll probably play with making new heat exchangers and turbines later.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 2:36 am
by Randonx
So I had some pretty freaky stuff start happening after adding Bob's Power to my mod lineup, and updating Bob's Greenhouse. Let me know if anybody has seen anything like this.

It's happened on multiple attempts, tested on a variety of items. Next step is to disable mods one by one to see if it goes away.

http://imgur.com/a/ij6J4



Edit:Fixed
Found out that one of my mods, Bigger Stack Sizes Modded, somehow got disabled. So what happened is all of the inventory I have that was over the default stack limits was expelled all over the map until I had few enough items to fit in my inventory. Sorry for implicating your mods, Bob. I should've known better, but I don't know how that mod got disabled (so the only changes I know i had made were Bob's power and the Greenhouse update.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 5:16 am
by YookoS
Build up a setup with 1 pump, 14 mk4 boilers and 40 mk1 steam engines (just for testing) and it works fine for me at full utilization... and that is... pretty cool.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 6:57 am
by bobingabout
YookoS wrote:Build up a setup with 1 pump, 14 mk4 boilers and 40 mk1 steam engines (just for testing) and it works fine for me at full utilization... and that is... pretty cool.
I didn't even know pipes were able to throughput that much steam.
Randonx wrote:So I had some pretty freaky stuff start happening after adding Bob's Power to my mod lineup, and updating Bob's Greenhouse. Let me know if anybody has seen anything like this.

It's happened on multiple attempts, tested on a variety of items. Next step is to disable mods one by one to see if it goes away.

http://imgur.com/a/ij6J4



Edit:Fixed
Found out that one of my mods, Bigger Stack Sizes Modded, somehow got disabled. So what happened is all of the inventory I have that was over the default stack limits was expelled all over the map until I had few enough items to fit in my inventory. Sorry for implicating your mods, Bob. I should've known better, but I don't know how that mod got disabled (so the only changes I know i had made were Bob's power and the Greenhouse update.
these are early times of 0.15 modding beta, I expect confusion.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 7:33 am
by YookoS
in reference to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=44644 the new rotation is 1:20:40, so i just optimize that with your boilers

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 9:11 am
by nagapito
Randonx wrote:So I had some pretty freaky stuff start happening after adding Bob's Power to my mod lineup, and updating Bob's Greenhouse. Let me know if anybody has seen anything like this.

It's happened on multiple attempts, tested on a variety of items. Next step is to disable mods one by one to see if it goes away.

http://imgur.com/a/ij6J4



Edit:Fixed
Found out that one of my mods, Bigger Stack Sizes Modded, somehow got disabled. So what happened is all of the inventory I have that was over the default stack limits was expelled all over the map until I had few enough items to fit in my inventory. Sorry for implicating your mods, Bob. I should've known better, but I don't know how that mod got disabled (so the only changes I know i had made were Bob's power and the Greenhouse update.
Could be worse....
You could had gone to the factorio bug section reporting strange behaviours to the devs just to realize later that you still had one mod active.....

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 9:27 am
by Mobius1
Your barreler pumps aren't active on your mods, is that intended? Only the Air Pump is enabled from MK1 through MK4. Also the icons of ALL the items are out of scale, I think they changed the default item scaling factor because all mods that changed icons got bugs like that, some also got icon positioning bug, like they're offset from their square, haven't seen those on your mods yet.

Keep up the great work m8, looking forward to see what you will create now with these many new functions!

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 9:37 am
by nagapito
Mobius1 wrote:Your barreler pumps aren't active on your mods, is that intended? Only the Air Pump is enabled from MK1 through MK4. Also the icons of ALL the items are out of scale, I think they changed the default item scaling factor because all mods that changed icons got bugs like that, some also got icon positioning bug, like they're offset from their square, haven't seen those on your mods yet.

Keep up the great work m8, looking forward to see what you will create now with these many new functions!
Barreling pumps was not implemented since vanilla does it automatically now.
About the icons, screenshot? I have zero issues with the icons!

Have you adjusted GUI zoom level? That is the only reason I see that could cause an unexpected issue.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 10:15 am
by bobingabout
Mobius1 wrote:Your barreler pumps aren't active on your mods, is that intended? Only the Air Pump is enabled from MK1 through MK4. Also the icons of ALL the items are out of scale, I think they changed the default item scaling factor because all mods that changed icons got bugs like that, some also got icon positioning bug, like they're offset from their square, haven't seen those on your mods yet.

Keep up the great work m8, looking forward to see what you will create now with these many new functions!
There are some icon issues on the categories. I have fixed those issues, in the affected mods, but since it's purely a cosmetic issue (and it doesn't entirely look bad either) specifically on the crafting menu, I haven't pushed the changes yet.

If you're having further issues, I'm not sure what the problem is.

As mentioned by Nagapito, if you change the games scale, strange things can happen. Also if you set graphics to very low, I've seen issues too. These are base game issues that have existed for a while.

As for the pumps, they were disabled on purpose, because barrelling is handled entirely by the base game now. The air pump remains for use to create compressed air. In theory, I probably should remove that too and just add the recipe to the assembling machine. Or I could get clever and just make a small 1x1 compressor, the 2x2 size was only needed to allow barrelling to have inserters access.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 10:23 am
by nagapito
I wished they actually made the icon system a little more cleaver and uniform.

You look at base game technologies and see them referencing an 128x128 icon but when you try to use one on a mod, it doesnt work unless you specify icon_size....
Some of the vanilla prototypes earned the protection of some voodoo witch in the base code, making some stuff work by magic and life harder for modders.

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 11:34 am
by nagapito
Almost forgot....

How about a new logistic/contruction robot MK5 that would have the same stats of a MK4 but not require recharging and would require a fusion reactor, uranium cell and the mk4 to be assembled?

Re: [0.15.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 12:57 pm
by Shielder
Bob, Will the HD icons be used in the research and crafting menu ?