Feedback

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

Re: Feedback

Postby SquidCap » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:11 pm

Download page: None of them have ANY description of the contents. It is not a description if "warfare mod" says "various things about warfare". I rather not download at all if that is all the info. Note, no one in this page will think this is a problem as they already know what these mods do... I went the other way, trying to find what they are but.. Not even here you have a FAQ.. Nothing tells new users what they are, what they do. Not even installation instructions are anywhere, at least not where one first looks.

First impressions about the whole mod/download/forum experience: fanboys have been ruling this, first time user help is non existent, there are hoops you have to jump thru, request passwork changes, do two accounts and last piece was that most popular downloads have NO explanation about anything since you guys all know all of this already.. It doesn't register as a problem but... it kind of is.. Not a big one, i'll find the info, it'll take me 5-15 minutes longer and i need to search for things that i don't know the name for yet..

So, why not add SOMETHING for the new users to make this less painful. I won't have any long lasting problems, i'm a ex modder myself that turned to game development. The first time user is the key audience, it does not matter if 50th time user has too much info. But for 1st timer, it can mean "f this". I need to know how can i uninstall, dos this affect save games, online and so on. I need some safety, some info that i can assess if it is worth the trouble/risk. I've done this myself, my mods have been downloaded all over the globe (i'm not anyone important, it reaaaally doesn't necessarily take skills) and you just have to design the overall package for people with two left hands, at least give them a feeling of security and control.
SquidCap
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:51 pm

Re: Feedback

Postby Zyrconia » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:25 pm

Just as a test, I switched the overhaul on for everything and now my existing tier 2 inserters (fast) are replaced by tier 3 inserters (express).

Bob should pin a couple of tables with all the stats for the new stuff and the rebalance.
Zyrconia
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Feedback

Postby bobingabout » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:32 am

Zyrconia wrote:Just as a test, I switched the overhaul on for everything and now my existing tier 2 inserters (fast) are replaced by tier 3 inserters (express).

Bob should pin a couple of tables with all the stats for the new stuff and the rebalance.

But turning the overhaul on, nothing actually changed, your fast inserter items in your inventory are still fast inserter items in your inventory, and the fast inserter entities that you placed are still fast inserter entities.
what changed is that when you use a fast inserter item to place an inserter, it now places an entity called blue inserter, which is locale named express inserter. This is very similar to the fast inserter entity.
Since the item name is taken from the entity it places, this is renamed as well.
Mining the fast inserter entity will return the same fast inserter item, which now places blue/express inserter.
No matter what you do, you can't please everyone.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Location: England

Re: Feedback

Postby wormzjl » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:45 pm

Ok there might be a bug with the tiered boiler, with MK1 boiler I get about 90 steam for each coal, but increasing tier causes their steam per coal ratio dropping, with 75 steam per coal for MK4 boiler.
wormzjl
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:19 pm

Re: Feedback

Postby DaleStan » Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:25 pm

That's something I'd expect. You get less steam per coal, but the steam is hotter, so there's more energy in it.

A MK1 boiler produces 165°C steam. With your numbers, this gives 13.5k units of energy per coal. (Here, units are 'degrees of heating'x'units of steam', not kJ or anything else interestingly measurable in-game.) A MK4 boiler produces 375°C steam, which, at 75 steam per coal, gives 27k energy per coal. If you're seeing less energy in your electric network per unit coal, I'd make sure you're pairing your MK4 boilers with MK4 steam engines.
DaleStan
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Feedback

Postby wormzjl » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:46 am

Oh I see, didn't notice the temperature through
wormzjl
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:19 pm

Re: Feedback

Postby Maslofski » Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:28 pm

i like this mod, but sometimes i just want to keep the cool shit, like higher tier buildings and get rid of the ore side of things.

without using ores and intermediates its very much playable, but the only way to obtain sulfur is to use oil processing with sulfur, which only gives 2 sulfur, so its quite hard to get the blue processing unit production going without covering half the map in fluid containers with unwanted liquids. if we could have the base game way to obtain sulfur additionally, that'd be great
Maslofski
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:17 am

Re: Feedback

Postby bobingabout » Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:07 pm

Maslofski wrote:i like this mod, but sometimes i just want to keep the cool shit, like higher tier buildings and get rid of the ore side of things.

without using ores and intermediates its very much playable, but the only way to obtain sulfur is to use oil processing with sulfur, which only gives 2 sulfur, so its quite hard to get the blue processing unit production going without covering half the map in fluid containers with unwanted liquids. if we could have the base game way to obtain sulfur additionally, that'd be great

You can turn on sulfur ore fields too.

As for the sulfur overhaul, that's part of bobrevamp, if you disable this mod, you have the old sulfur processing again, but there are a few things you miss out on, like the rocket silo/fuel overhaul, including hydrazine, and probably a few more things I forgot that I put in there.

I guess I could add in a few options in there to allow you to turn off certain overhauls, like removing the old sulfur recipe... but you are suposed to use the new sulphur dioxide -> sulfur recipe, you can obtain sulfur dioxide from several methods.
No matter what you do, you can't please everyone.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Location: England

Previous

Return to Bob's mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests