Sounds like a lose-lose situation. No benefits at all. Enforces a lot of extra inventory management to the point that I'd rather randomly lose blueprints than being forced to constantly doing manual labour to deal with my bluepints and then somehow manage to also get lost in what blueprint is which becasue I have too many in my inventory and start accidentally remove the wrong ones from my library anyways. I'm not sure if I'm supposed to take this seriously.
I'm glad we agree on these. Anyone who see any disadvantages whatsoever worth considering with these two? Either the last or both of these together should almost completely fix most issues with people accidentally losing blueprints, and they are both easy to implement. And keeps restrictions and feature losses to a minimum.EnerJi wrote: ↑Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:32 amI think this is the minimum solution that should be considered. It must be made harder and more obvious when deleting a blueprint that exists in the library.Qon wrote: ↑Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:40 pmA decent solution. Possibly make it somewhat easy and possible but different in a way that makes it clear that it exists in the library. Like instead of a dlete button, having a button that opens up the library and the book it is stored at, with the blueprint marked so you find it and can open it from the library and open up it again from there.
I think this would be a terrific solution (and very intuitive as the trash bin metaphor is pervasive across many applications and operating systems), perhaps for a post-1.0 patch.Qon wrote: ↑Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:40 pmOr just have a trash bin that blueprints are moved to instead of deleted when you press the delete button. It can delete the oldest things automatically once it reaches some max capacity. A solution similar to auto saves. Make recovery easy. And it's as simple to implement as a confirm dialog, but better in every way.
As an additional point, clear blueprint hotkey could be brought back and send the old content to the trashbin also, and instead of just clearing it, it could activate the new "+" feature instead that fills a blueprint with new contents but keeps the icons. That's more like 2 suggestions in one though, the second part might have some disadvantage?