Roboports

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Post Reply
xplycyt
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:59 pm
Contact:

Roboports

Post by xplycyt »

Can anyone explain why a roboport holds 350 but can only charge 4 at a time? This seems pretty silly and aesthetically challenging.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5573
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Loewchen »

Because those two values have as much to do with one another as the amount of toast I can fit in my home vs how much I can heat up at a time.

User avatar
planetmaker
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by planetmaker »

Loewchen wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:12 am
Because those two values have as much to do with one another as the amount of toast I can fit in my home vs how much I can heat up at a time.
An now I wish a robot would deliver a steaming-fresh toast hawaii :( I like the comparison! :)

netmand
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:20 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by netmand »

It's like owning an electric car (i.e. Tesla) and arriving at the parking lot which has 4 charging spots (that are taken) ... but lots of other empty spaces.

I've wondered why Roboports are the way they are too. There are no non-electric bots to take up those spaces.

The Borg have ports in every slot AFAIK.

Premu
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Premu »

netmand wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:14 pm
It's like owning an electric car (i.e. Tesla) and arriving at the parking lot which has 4 charging spots (that are taken) ... but lots of other empty spaces.

I've wondered why Roboports are the way they are too. There are no non-electric bots to take up those spaces.

The Borg have ports in every slot AFAIK.
This setup makes sense if you use roboports only occasionally for construction or personal deliveries. With that you can still build a lot fast or get a lot of stuff quickly for a short time while getting away with the minimum amount of roboports to cover the whole area. If their batteries are enough they might do their job and reacharge slowly after having finished. Just don't expect it to work continuesly, for that you need far more roboports close by.

Honktown
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Honktown »

You could increase the charge ports and increase the power delivery... be prepared for the 1 gigawatt recharges when a train stops in :D
I have mods! I guess!
Link

Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Impatient »

It is because the charge time is much lower than the time a bot needs to use that power, I guess.

xplycyt
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by xplycyt »

It really is just a Factorio joke i guess. Just like when we were told there would be cake...

pieterhulsen
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by pieterhulsen »

Because it would be very overpowered if they had more, without this limitation belts would be even further from the power of robots

User avatar
GlassDeviant
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by GlassDeviant »

Premu wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:08 pm
This setup makes sense if you use roboports only occasionally for construction or personal deliveries. With that you can still build a lot fast or get a lot of stuff quickly for a short time while getting away with the minimum amount of roboports to cover the whole area. If their batteries are enough they might do their job and reacharge slowly after having finished. Just don't expect it to work continuesly, for that you need far more roboports close by.
This is why there are several mods that make changes to roboports or add new types.
- GD

Sorry if my posts are becoming difficult to read, my typing ability is rapidly deteriorating due to a nerve disorder. I try to clean them up before posting but don't always get every last typo.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by mrvn »

xplycyt wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:39 am
Can anyone explain why a roboport holds 350 but can only charge 4 at a time? This seems pretty silly and aesthetically challenging.
That raises the question: How many bots can a roboport charge in the time the bot uses up that power?

Honktown
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Honktown »

mrvn wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:56 am
That raises the question: How many bots can a roboport charge in the time the bot uses up that power?
Depends on speed, where it returns, etc. For even moderately sped up robots (like 100%) static cost becomes a rounding error, so at 5 kJ/"meter"? tile?:

Charging energy of a roboport is 1000kW (explicitly that). I don't see an explicit charge port count, but it has four charging offsets, which corresponds to four normal ports. It can charge at 5MW, so 4MW max deliverable is under that limit. 4/.005 = 800 meters per second. Base speed of construction bot is "0.06" (tiles per tick). Speed bonus before space science: 240% (from wiki). 800 / (60 * .06 * 2.4 * n) = n robots. 92.59 = n^2. 9.6 robots per second (is that right? it sounds reasonable, I didn't have /n the first time). Someone check my math.
I have mods! I guess!
Link

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5256
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by Koub »

mrvn wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:56 am
xplycyt wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:39 am
Can anyone explain why a roboport holds 350 but can only charge 4 at a time? This seems pretty silly and aesthetically challenging.
That raises the question: How many bots can a roboport charge in the time the bot uses up that power?
viewtopic.php?p=428014#p428014
Also the whole discussion is interesting.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1967
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by BlueTemplar »

planetmaker wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:09 pm
Loewchen wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:12 am
Because those two values have as much to do with one another as the amount of toast I can fit in my home vs how much I can heat up at a time.
An now I wish a robot would deliver a steaming-fresh toast hawaii :( I like the comparison! :)
Well, at least they can already deliver drinks ! :D

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Roboports

Post by TruePikachu »

BlueTemplar wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:06 pm
planetmaker wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:09 pm
Loewchen wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:12 am
Because those two values have as much to do with one another as the amount of toast I can fit in my home vs how much I can heat up at a time.
An now I wish a robot would deliver a steaming-fresh toast hawaii :( I like the comparison! :)
Well, at least they can already deliver drinks ! :D
Nothing like a steaming hot barrel of sulfuric acid!

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Greybeard_LXI, Werbad