Guide: Shorter path/milestones to late game designs

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Guide: Shorter path/milestones to late game designs

Post by zOldBulldog »

In over 1000 hours of game play I invested less time trying to launch rockets and more time trying to figure out better ways to do things. I studied the classic ways of doing things but always questioned doing things the way "everybody does it" in search for better methods and designs. Some of what I ended up with will be obvious to expert players, some will seem absurd. So, read this with an open mind, feel free to criticize (in detail and with logical arguments) as you might convince me to change my mind, and get ideas to improve your own approach.

This guide starts as a modest list. Over time I will add screenshots examples of how you might choose to do these steps and more details.

GOALS OF THE METHODS IN THIS GUIDE

- The goals in this guide are NOT to simply launch rockets. I this guide, rockets are only a means to Space Science and to the improved robots, mining, etc that come with it,
- To minimize the tedium of the early game.
- To invest as little as possible in early game tech that needs to be replaced.
- To avoid as much as possible designs that will need to be replaced.

STEPS/MILESTONES

- Burner stage:
--- As short as possible
--- Location is determined by proximity of resources.
--- Drills/furnaces count of 8 coal, 8 iron, 2 copper, 1 stone.
--- Start steam power plant with at least 1 boiler and steam engine.
--- Start minimal science, logistics and automation research.
--- Early automation includes switching to electric drills, furnaces (assembler directly fed from stone miner), gears, Yellow belt/underground/splitter, blue assembler.