Is the Steam version of Factorio behind?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Is the Steam version of Factorio behind?

Post by zOldBulldog »

I saw a post in the News forum indicating that Factorio 0.16 came out in mid-December. But when I bought Factorio from Steam (some days ago... mid-March) I got 0.15.40.

Can somebody enlighten me as to why the Steam version is so far behind, whether I can upgrade to 0.16 manually somehow, and whether there are any reasons for "choosing" to stay in 0.15 even if able to upgrade?

Blue skies and clear waters :geek:

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: Is the Steam version of Factorio behind?

Post by Bilka »

0.16 is experimental, so you have to opt-in: Right click factorio -> properties -> betas -> select 0.16.x
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by zOldBulldog »

Bilka wrote:0.16 is experimental, so you have to opt-in: Right click factorio -> properties -> betas -> select 0.16.x
That makes all the sense in the world. I didn't realize there was an experimental branch.

That leads to the questions:

- Is it stable enough by now that it is OK for even a new player to use it?

- When upgrading, do I have to start a new world or does the old one carry over?

- When upgrading, do blueprints carry over?

- I am early enough in my playing that starting a new world would have little impact. Can you think of any reason for me NOT to go to 0.16?

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Post by Bilka »

zOldBulldog wrote: - Is it stable enough by now that it is OK for even a new player to use it?
Yes, I'd actually call it more stable than 0.15, unless a new update breaks something.
zOldBulldog wrote: - When upgrading, do I have to start a new world or does the old one carry over?