Ugh, multiplayer sucks

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Plawerth
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Ugh, multiplayer sucks

Post by Plawerth »

Hello, I'm new to Factorio, I've been doing the single-player for about 50 hours.

Decided to try a big multiplayer map to see what happens. Ugh, that totally sucked.

1. On multiplayer map join, I suddenly start seeing a ton of Steam Achievements scrolling by. God dammit, now I will not be able to do these myself. How do I remove these from my "official" steam achievements lists?

- Automated Cleanup
- Automated construction
- Circuit veteran 2
- Circuit veteran 3
- Computer age 1
- Computer age 2
- Iron throne 2
- Iron throne 3
- Mass production 2
- So long and thanks for all the fish.

2. Catching up takes forever. I only have 1.5 megabit down / 256 kilobit up, after the map download, it says catching up for 20 minutes. The bit-rate from the server is only about 16 kilobit while catching up. Why?

3. Once actually connected, the server maintains a steady 16-20 kilobit connection, and I see lots of things happening, but I can barely move. At one point I was completely frozen, unable to move at all, meanwhile people keep chatting and materials fly by on the belts. ???

4. Often times when I go into the menu for something, I get stuck in the option menu for the machine. I try to press E or Escape to close it but it just reopens again all by itself, trapping me in the menu.

5. Decided to try clicking on the various menus in the top right, and they do nothing. But then at some point Statistics pops up, and now I can not get out of it. And because of the GUI size, the Statistics window covers the Gear button so I cannot even access the main menu to disconnect.