Page 4 of 4

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:34 am
by Gr3atsaga
So, after trying so many things... I finally got it to work.

Here is what I did:

Did a text search for "command-ran", then did a backwards hex search for 01 01. I kept going through them until I found the first occurrence that was not obviously something else (in my case, I have a large amount of bytes that say things about full inventory before I got to the offending bytes, I'm guessing when the game notified me that my inventory was full)

Unlike previous suggestions, when I finally found the correct byte, it was not 01 01 01, it was in fact 01 01 00. The first byte there is indeed the achievement blocker, the second one being the command notification. If we can figure out what the third byte is, and whether it is just 00 or 01 and never anything else, then there might be more of a discernible pattern we can find.

Perhaps this is due to the recent update, but this byte was no where near 6A D8 40. Also, I only had 1 occurrence of that byte string in my level.dat file.

I'm just thankful that after an hour, I finally found the damned byte. Wanted to try out a quick command, but I guess I typed it wrong and it failed. I had made a save backup, but I figured that if the command failed then I wouldn't be penalized for using the command, because it technically wasn't used. But I was wrong, of course. A failed command is apparently still a used command. Go figure.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:28 pm
by WaterReloaded
Yeeeeees, i've done it. 8-) For all those who are blind like me, simply do what Gr3atsaga wrote. Search for "command-ran" and then do a backwards search for 01 01 once. :!:
And then be crazy :P and change some 01 01's to 00 00's. Because there is no (for me) visible pattern, this is the only way to achieve this. Now i'm happy with my savegame. :D

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:00 pm
by Shprytny
I was trying everythin possible but there is no "command-ran" or "command" i was trying to search by 6A D8 40, 49 numbers after it counting from 6A (By counter) and 81,
I did search for nauvis and lookin for chat from there but this chat was so long away from it.
I think i've done everything to make it but nothing worked.
I would be really happy if someone more experienced would do this on my save but probably no one want to waste his time, maybe if someone here's link to my save:
https://mega.nz/#!CWo3jQDK!LQltXJbaa2g1 ... vnKrwIEXOY

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:20 am
by Gr3atsaga
Shprytny wrote:I was trying everythin possible but there is no "command-ran" or "command" i was trying to search by 6A D8 40, 49 numbers after it counting from 6A (By counter) and 81,
I did search for nauvis and lookin for chat from there but this chat was so long away from it.
I think i've done everything to make it but nothing worked.
I would be really happy if someone more experienced would do this on my save but probably no one want to waste his time, maybe if someone here's link to my save:
https://mega.nz/#!CWo3jQDK!LQltXJbaa2g1 ... vnKrwIEXOY
Hmm, yours is interesting... its a modded save, so the rules I was able to find don't seem to apply. This bit moves around a lot apparently.

So I think I found the bit... but, since again its a modded save, I don't think you can get the vanilla achievements anyway.
The achievements are now saying, "This achievement can only be unlocked on a freeplay map." Instead of saying you used console commands.
I might have actually found a new part of the pattern though - at least this has been constant between both my save and yours.

The offending bit was located right after an array of FF bits followed by a 00 bit -> essentially searching for FF 00 01 could eventually lead to it.
In both cases it was exactly preceeded by: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 (8 FF bits followed by a 00 bit). Perhaps that could be a pattern...

Do you want me to give you the fixed save? As I said, it looks like you still can't get the achievements. Unless there are custom achievements you have or something, idk.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:53 am
by zOldBulldog
Gr3atsaga wrote:
Shprytny wrote:I was trying everythin possible but there is no "command-ran" or "command" i was trying to search by 6A D8 40, 49 numbers after it counting from 6A (By counter) and 81,
I did search for nauvis and lookin for chat from there but this chat was so long away from it.
I think i've done everything to make it but nothing worked.
I would be really happy if someone more experienced would do this on my save but probably no one want to waste his time, maybe if someone here's link to my save:
https://mega.nz/#!CWo3jQDK!LQltXJbaa2g1 ... vnKrwIEXOY
Hmm, yours is interesting... its a modded save, so the rules I was able to find don't seem to apply. This bit moves around a lot apparently.

So I think I found the bit... but, since again its a modded save, I don't think you can get the vanilla achievements anyway.
The achievements are now saying, "This achievement can only be unlocked on a freeplay map." Instead of saying you used console commands.
I might have actually found a new part of the pattern though - at least this has been constant between both my save and yours.

The offending bit was located right after an array of FF bits followed by a 00 bit -> essentially searching for FF 00 01 could eventually lead to it.
In both cases it was exactly preceeded by: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 (8 FF bits followed by a 00 bit). Perhaps that could be a pattern...

Do you want me to give you the fixed save? As I said, it looks like you still can't get the achievements. Unless there are custom achievements you have or something, idk.
Try this:
- Copy the save, to be certain you can come back to where you are now.
- Disable the mods and start the game. I think that would enable and grateful you the achievements you already completed.
- Re-enable the mod.
- If the modded game got messed up in any way, restore the copy you made in the first step.

I am not certain this will work, but it seems like it should, if you managed to Re-enable achievements except for the mod part. Worth a try.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:55 pm
by Gr3atsaga
zOldBulldog wrote: Try this:
- Copy the save, to be certain you can come back to where you are now.
- Disable the mods and start the game. I think that would enable and grateful you the achievements you already completed.
- Re-enable the mod.
- If the modded game got messed up in any way, restore the copy you made in the first step.

I am not certain this will work, but it seems like it should, if you managed to Re-enable achievements except for the mod part. Worth a try.
I was already able to re-enable the achievements for him. But as I said, it is saying that he has to be in a freeplay map. His save is indeed *not* on a freeplay map, it is on a modded map.

I found the bit and turned it off.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 4:58 am
by DalaiAlpaca
Any idea how to do this in 0.17? I was running a MP game with friends who were new, so I set the aliens to peaceful. Went to set them off of peaceful awhile back. Didn't have much luck trying to fix the hexes myself.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:54 am
by heckter
I have tried this half a dozen times & it has worked everytime. At any point, enter any command in the console then save. Open level.dat & search for text string "command-ran". Once it shows the first appearance, search backwards for hex 01 01. The first appearance of 01 01 is the achievement lockout & achievement warning message. Change these to 00 00 & save. Open your game save & see if it worked. Always remember to make a back-up just in case there are any problems. Also, this is on 0.16.51.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:53 am
by Jap2.0
heckter wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:54 am
Also, this is on 0.16.51.
DalaiAlpaca wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 4:58 am
Any idea how to do this in 0.17?

How to re-enable achievements?

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 7:30 am
by Good_Days13
I started my main world with peaceful mode on, so I used the console to turn it off, but now I can't get achievements. Is there a way to turn them back on? I have HxD.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:12 am
by Koub
[Koub] Merged into the thread discussing the subject.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:55 pm
by Good_Days13
mooop12 wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:10 pm
It still works, though it took me a while. The way I do it is I search for 6A D8 40, and then I search for 01 01 a few times until the characters around the found string don't seem to repeat anymore. Also, a few lines after the found sequence there seems to be the chat history, that way you know you're in the right place (I think? Haven't actually checked on different saves if it's always there). See attached screenshot. The red 00s is what was previously 01s, one is a flag for console commands used, the other is whether the warning has been shown.

HxD_2018-01-07_00-03-36.png
Yes, this worked for me.

Re: Re-Enable Achievements...

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 6:28 pm
by TTR1
Sorry for the necro.

Been trying to figure it out myself for a few days now to no avail. Tried looking for 6A D8 40 and then 01 01 or 01 01 00. Tried looking for command-ran then 01 01, etc. I think this method has been patched on the latest version. That, or I'm too incompetent with the hex editor.

Would anyone be able to give this save a shot?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KDeG0 ... 8vwXBXnHBi