Blueprints are made for placing solar panels!

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
garath
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Blueprints are made for placing solar panels!

Post by garath »

Still just a beginner here. I've been placing my solar panels and accumulators by hand. Over the weekend, I finally started playing with blueprints. First, I created a blueprint with just a row of solar panels. Then, I built one with a 5x5 grid of panels with a substation and lamp in the middle. I took a robobort, some constructions robots, a supply chest and the parts to a nice location. Then, I started "stamping" the ground with the blueprint. Wow! Too awesome! This was so fast and so much fun that I turned the entire production of my factory to making solar panels and accumulators. It's just a very tiny factory. But after having fun with blueprints, I looked up and saw 1100 Solar panels and almost as many accumulators. Oh, and I did the last half using a personal roboport in my MK 2 armor. Wow!! So convenient!! I can't believe I waited this long to try this out. Oh, and using the deconstruct thing to have my 'bots pick up stuff. AWESOME! I picked up a 400x400 section in the "old" part of my base so I could re-task it for something else.

Next, I plan to create a blueprint of my train unloading station so I can move it (and the railroad tracks) to a different part of my base. I can't wait to try it! Every time I play a new game, I learn something new. In my next game, I think I'll install the Foreman mod so I can bring these blueprints from this game to the next one. Having a ton of fun!

Just learned I can Shift-Click on the ground to make the 'bots remove the trees. Is that right? I was doing it in two steps:

1. Clear the trees using the 'deconstruct',
2. "Stamp" the blueprint on the ground to lay the solar panels.

I can't wait to try Shift-Click to do it in one step.

againey
Inserter
Inserter

Re: Blueprints are made for placing solar panels!