Performance optimization - post your saves

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4045
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by mrvn »

Take your existing blueprint and place 2x2 of them. Then remove the rails in the middle leaving everything else as is. Now you have a larger cell that works just like your existing setup.

You can also use landfill paintings (so you have different landfills) to put sand under rails and grass around them or some other combination. Then have one blueprint for the power/roboport grid that includes the sand/grass tiles. Place them everywhere and you get a nice outline of where rails might go. Then you can decide on a case by case basis where to put rails or where to ignore rails positions to e.g. build a big solar array.

mr_fancy_pants
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by mr_fancy_pants »

mrvn wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:19 pm
Take your existing blueprint and place 2x2 of them. Then remove the rails in the middle leaving everything else as is. Now you have a larger cell that works just like your existing setup.

You can also use landfill paintings (so you have different landfills) to put sand under rails and grass around them or some other combination. Then have one blueprint for the power/roboport grid that includes the sand/grass tiles. Place them everywhere and you get a nice outline of where rails might go. Then you can decide on a case by case basis where to put rails or where to ignore rails positions to e.g. build a big solar array.
This is actually a pretty reasonable suggestion, however. there is another issue with using larger grid sizes, and that's to do with the fog of war. Since you can't deconstruct or blueprint into the fog of war anymore (which is a change I still really really hate), the larger cells are much more cumbersome to get the whole thing unfogged so you can place it in one go, especially as they're normally used for expansion into areas that don't have radar yet. Even the smaller grids I currently use sometimes run afoul of this, depending on where the chunk boundaries end up.

It also makes it trickier to lay down grids while not covering up delicious resource patches when the grids are twice as large - it can be tricky even with the smaller ones.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4045
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by mrvn »

mr_fancy_pants wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 11:48 pm
mrvn wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:19 pm
Take your existing blueprint and place 2x2 of them. Then remove the rails in the middle leaving everything else as is. Now you have a larger cell that works just like your existing setup.

You can also use landfill paintings (so you have different landfills) to put sand under rails and grass around them or some other combination. Then have one blueprint for the power/roboport grid that includes the sand/grass tiles. Place them everywhere and you get a nice outline of where rails might go. Then you can decide on a case by case basis where to put rails or where to ignore rails positions to e.g. build a big solar array.
This is actually a pretty reasonable suggestion, however. there is another issue with using larger grid sizes, and that's to do with the fog of war. Since you can't deconstruct or blueprint into the fog of war anymore (which is a change I still really really hate), the larger cells are much more cumbersome to get the whole thing unfogged so you can place it in one go, especially as they're normally used for expansion into areas that don't have radar yet. Even the smaller grids I currently use sometimes run afoul of this, depending on where the chunk boundaries end up.

It also makes it trickier to lay down grids while not covering up delicious resource patches when the grids are twice as large - it can be tricky even with the smaller ones.
Yeah, I know that problem. I'm currently playing PyAddon mods and his roboports have construction area only slightly larger than the logistic area. So you have to place roboports closer together to build them and can later remeove some without loosing logistic coverage.

I've made a blueprint for expanding that's basically just roboports, radars and power poles on top of landfill in a big grid. Just place that anywhere and anything not in fog of war is placed. Wait for the next radar to be build, rince and repeat. And then I have to manually deconstruct half the roboports/radars that were added just to build the rest.

DustFireSky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by DustFireSky »

Here is another little megabase. Round about 200-250 Trains (Why is in the train overview no train counter present? Have I missed a game option to find out how many trains I have?).

I get 41-46 UPS with an Ryzen 9 3900X. I build only needed rails! At some points, there is a traffic jam. But, it depends on the time (loading/unloading) of the trains. If all trains coming in the same time.... JAM Mania! The rail tracks/style and all what u see is my creation. Just the tiny nuclear power plants 480MW are a blueprint from another person. The huge nuclear power plant is my own creation.

PS: Can't Upload the file....

Maybe it helps to optimize the game. :lol:

External Download Link

manjhi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by manjhi »

Posting my 1k SPM base which runs at ~26 UPS. It's relatively huge because of the restrictions I'm playing with.

- No beacons or modules
- No robots
- No nuclear power
- No solar power
- No assembling machine 3 (yellow assemblers)
- No express (blue) belts, underground belts or splitters
- No electric furnaces
- No nuclear fuel

What can be optimized here (without relaxing any restrictions) to improve UPS?

Image

I'm guessing most of the impact is from these many assemblers and trains? There are lots of circuits too, which control the trains.

Savefile: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10490
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Rseding91 »

manjhi wrote:
Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:35 pm
What can be optimized here (without relaxing any restrictions) to improve UPS?
Basically: https://i.imgur.com/Pef9iV3g.jpg but replace "candles" with "the inefficient ways to play the game" :P
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

manjhi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by manjhi »

Rseding91 wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 5:41 am
manjhi wrote:
Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:35 pm
What can be optimized here (without relaxing any restrictions) to improve UPS?
Basically: https://i.imgur.com/Pef9iV3g.jpg but replace "candles" with "the inefficient ways to play the game" :P
"inefficient" is such a weird way to spell fun.

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users