Performance optimization - post your saves

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
mathturtle
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by mathturtle » Sat May 12, 2018 12:36 pm

@Rseding91 Here is a save that exhibits the behavior mentioned in the comments of the FFF. I load it and it sits for 6-8 seconds with a full progress bar before actually loading the game. (I have a 7700k with DDR4, so I don't think it is my pc being slow). I think it may have something to do with items on belts, it seems to have gotten worse since I started feeding the belt megabase.

Please excuse the spaghetti :)
Attachments
16megabase.zip
save that when loaded sits for 6+ seconds with a full "loading save" progress bar
(66.23 MiB) Downloaded 56 times

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Blacky007 » Wed May 16, 2018 5:02 pm

I have a Map with 3 giant 32 to 48-Lane bluebelt smelter I'am running at 20-25 UPS
if one or two of theem get of with no more ore the UPS goes extremly up.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/of7rab81hs58u ... 6.zip?dl=0

my System is a I7-990X @6x3,7Ghz with 24GB Ram and a 980TI-6GB VRAM
I hope you can optimize the belts mutch more to make it better playable.

User avatar
Szpak
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Szpak » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:35 pm

Let me post my savefile.
map.jpg
map.jpg (290.27 KiB) Viewed 2272 times
40 FPS/UPS 'cause it is idling mostly ;)

system is a laptop with:

i3 2.4ghz
8gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 635M 2gb RAM
WIN 8.1
Attachments
15 GW 3RPM Non Peacefull Final.zip
(49.85 MiB) Downloaded 63 times

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3281
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by orzelek » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:31 am

Please take alook at this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=60922

There is a save there that demonstrates potential problem with alogirthm responsible for putting bots back to robports.
When space in roboprots runs out (in certain area I guess?) entity update times are going from reasonable 10-15 to 50-100ms range.

c0bRa
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:33 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by c0bRa » Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:28 am

Hio,

i've got my Savegame with pretty much networking and trains (> 1,200 trains) which runs on my i7-6700k with ~15 fps. Perhaps it could give you some intentions for performance optimization.

Map:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1086a4b51213h ... l.zip?dl=0
Mods (just RSO, Waterfill, Power Armor MK3):
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mgxzb9c2htha ... 9xZqa?dl=0

epr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:36 pm

Entities going to sleep

Post by epr » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:00 pm

I was playing around with the UPS Wars 2 challenge and noticed mining drills don't go to sleep when facing empty rails.
2000 mining drills taking about 1 ms entity update time, while doing nothing.
When all drills are busy filling cargo wagons, update time goes down to 0.6 ms and 0.4 ms when wagons are backed up and trains on manual.
Entities that are not powered also stay active and cost more UPS than powered inactive ones.

Is there something you could do about it or is this intentional?

Thanks

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7976
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Entities going to sleep

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:04 pm

epr wrote:I was playing around with the UPS Wars 2 challenge and noticed mining drills don't go to sleep when facing empty rails.
2000 mining drills taking about 1 ms entity update time, while doing nothing.
When all drills are busy filling cargo wagons, update time goes down to 0.6 ms and 0.4 ms when wagons are backed up and trains on manual.
Entities that are not powered also stay active and cost more UPS than powered inactive ones.

Is there something you could do about it or is this intentional?

Thanks
Simply put: don't mine directly into rails.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3870
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Koub » Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:23 am

Hi. This thing has just been posted, and I think it's a good candidate as a benchmarking megabase.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

wirfeon
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by wirfeon » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:45 am

Hello.

This is my megabase. https://www.dropbox.com/s/ukpmj8ytqplyk ... n.zip?dl=0

The issue here is, that it slows overall. Like if you run /c game.speed=0.7
If I change the game.speed it works for values lesser then 0.7. Greater values has no effect.

I run on Ubuntu 18.04 and this laptop https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-lati ... 12-gb-ssd/. It's no game box, but it looks like it has more to offer. CPU load around 3 and GPU 40% busy.
Screenshot from 2018-08-08 11-19-18.png
CPU & RAM
Screenshot from 2018-08-08 11-19-18.png (88.29 KiB) Viewed 1391 times
Screenshot from 2018-08-08 11-20-02.png
GPU load
Screenshot from 2018-08-08 11-20-02.png (62.41 KiB) Viewed 1391 times
So. I have a few questions...
Can I do some adjustments in video settings to help it run faster?
Can someone with better hardware run this and tell me what game.speed he was able to achieve?
What does have the most impact on performance? Is it the world discovered, lenght of trains, railroads, belts, etc...

Thanks!

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Jap2.0 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:07 pm

I tested it on my relatively old PC and got ~48-52 FPS/UPS (the equivalent of a speed of 0.8-0.85), but someone with a newer PC should be able to get a solid 60. Video settings should have little to no affect, as it should be limited by UPS. As for performance impacts: the update took about 19-20 milliseconds in total (60 UPS requires that it be less than 16.66). That was nearly entirely consumed by the game update (which is basically everything unless you're in multiplayer or have mods). Transport belts took about 4ms, the electric network took about 0.7ms, bots took 0.05ms, trains 0.6ms, and everything else ("entity update") 14-15ms. Large scale fluid physics (nuclear power plants) are known to be a big performance hog, but the only other option viable for megabases is spamming millions of solar panels, and that takes enormous amounts of space.

Factorio is largely bottlenecked by single-threaded CPU and memory latency. Is your CPU turboing? That could give a large performance gain. I could also probably give some more specific advice if you posted a screenshot with show-fps and show-time-usage enabled in the debug (F4) menu, and possibly a log file.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

wirfeon
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by wirfeon » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:47 am

I don't use any mods. Turbo is enabled. I also set on all processors

Code: Select all

sudo cpufreq-set -c  -g performance
and run it with

Code: Select all

nice -n -10
It helped just a little.

When I looked closely to the processes one of them was indeed eating all the CPU.
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-30-22.png
CPU
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-30-22.png (70.04 KiB) Viewed 1332 times
These are 3 screenshots from running it in fullscreen, maximized window and reduced window. FPS/UPS differ significantly. How come? I thought that update times are just CPU thing.
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-36-37.png
Fullscreen
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-36-37.png (4 MiB) Viewed 1332 times
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 08-51-02.png
Maximized
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 08-51-02.png (4.25 MiB) Viewed 1332 times
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-27-53.png
Reduced
Screenshot from 2018-08-09 09-27-53.png (1.25 MiB) Viewed 1332 times
And this is the logfile
factorio-current.log
Logfile
(3 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by posila » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:27 am

I have Dell Latitude E7450 with Core i7-5600U and 16GB RAM and my theory from past observations is that ultra-low power CPUs (the ones with U suffix) greatly suffer from thermal throttling when under big load. What I was seeing was CPU temperature ramping up to 100°C within few seconds, CPU undercloking under 1GHz, fans kicked few seconds after that and when cooling stabilized CPU frequency increased to about 1.7GHz for me. Matters are even worse when gaming without dedicated, because integrated GPU generates heat on the same die as CPU, so more GPU work causes CPU to heat up too.

That said your save doesn't run much faster on my desktop. So it just gotten too big. Things take the most time to update in your save are inserters, transport lines and pipes.

theolderbeholder
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:45 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by theolderbeholder » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:39 pm

If the game slows the more you zoom out I´d say the GPU is the bottleneck. Even though it claims to have only 40% load . Maybe it is the memory interface (no dedicated memory, as far as I can tell from the specs), maybe thermal throtteling.

PunkSkeleton
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by PunkSkeleton » Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:48 pm

theolderbeholder wrote:If the game slows the more you zoom out I´d say the GPU is the bottleneck. Even though it claims to have only 40% load . Maybe it is the memory interface (no dedicated memory, as far as I can tell from the specs), maybe thermal throtteling.
No, this is usually because of render preparation taking much more time. I have GTX 1070 and I'm experiencing this problem all the time, especially in busy areas with lots of belts.

Dune
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:27 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Dune » Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:20 pm

posila wrote:That said your save doesn't run much faster on my desktop. So it just gotten too big. Things take the most time to update in your save are inserters, transport lines and pipes.
@posila - what are transport lines? belts? For pipes, I heard mention that work on improving pipes was coming. Any word on that?

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Jap2.0 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:12 am

Dune wrote:
posila wrote:That said your save doesn't run much faster on my desktop. So it just gotten too big. Things take the most time to update in your save are inserters, transport lines and pipes.
@posila - what are transport lines? belts? For pipes, I heard mention that work on improving pipes was coming. Any word on that?
Transport lines are for belts. From what I've heard, pipe optimization is still planned for 0.17, but we don't have anything specific yet.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Kirbykirby56
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:21 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Kirbykirby56 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:44 pm

https://mega.nz/#!smYxBQrL!1xF6so-WZ8Tz ... YEaR1pON8E
Suspected issue: Ghost tile slowdown.
(It could also be the 525 construction robots)
Zoom out all the way for render slowdown.
~7K Ghost Concrete (It's a rough estimate)

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm

Re: Performance optimization - post your saves

Post by Blacky007 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 5:24 pm

Running a 3200 Sience per minute
UPS at about 20
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lclmrrxwdz6hs ... 7.zip?dl=0

I'am Running a I7 990X @3,7Ghz. with 24Gig RAM.
I really want to know what this would be in 0.17.

Greetings Blacky007

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”