New to factorio, how should i start

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Lynsis
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

New to factorio, how should i start

Post by Lynsis »

somewhat new to factorio. i started playing after watching a video using bobs mods and i bought the game and started playing with that right away, didnt play a single stock game. i was wondering if it would be adviseable for me to play a stock game or two or continue on with the modded games.

Jaridan
Inserter
Inserter

Re: New to factorio, how should i start

Post by Jaridan »

bobs mods... if you've installed EVERYTHING from bobs mods, then your chains will be huge.

I'd strongly advice to first play a normal game or 2, maybe with a goal on "design"in the 2nd one or so (read : mainline (google it if u wanna know more)).

I'm currently playing a game with bobs mods and it's incredibly fun automating all of it..BUT bobs mod will, literally, take you 5-15x(rough noob estimate on my end :S i haven't finished a game with this mod yet ,so others prolly know better) more time to reach the end, depending on what you do, how you play, how focused you are on reaching the end, resource settings etc.

A base game also helps to just get the basics down and used to. Maybe try the tutorial or first few mission/campaign.

Ackos
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by Ackos »

Beat the vanilla, get the basics down.

bobucles
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by bobucles »

The campaign missions are pretty handy for teaching the ropes. IMO it's a bit weak on teaching trains and combat, but it's good for learning research, mining, and low tier production.

Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by Xterminator »