Old menu picture

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mango
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:27 pm
Contact:

Old menu picture

Post by Mango »

Hello everybody,

I'm using the image that was previously in the main menu as a wallpaper.
Just now I bought a new 2560 x 1440 monitor and the image is 1920x1080

I don't remember how I got the image originally and I don't see it on Artwork page.

Is it available somewhere in higher resolution?

I'm talking about this image
Factorio.jpg
Factorio.jpg (909.77 KiB) Viewed 357 times
Hm.... so we have a mystery doner... intriguing.

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Old menu picture

Post by DaveMcW »

The 1920x1080 image was included in the 1.0 Factorio release. I don't know of any higher resolution version.

User avatar
Mango
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Old menu picture

Post by Mango »

Ok, thanks.

I used some online upscaler to make the img bigger.

Attached if anybody is interested.
Attachments
FactorioUp.jpg
FactorioUp.jpg (5.62 MiB) Viewed 334 times
Hm.... so we have a mystery doner... intriguing.

FuryoftheStars
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1514
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Old menu picture

Post by FuryoftheStars »

The image should still be in the Factorio files, because if you go into settings and disable background simulations for the main menu, that image comes back.

Aside from that, I don't know what OS you are using, but Windows I know has a few stretching options. As 2560x1440 is the same ratio as 1920x1080, on Windows, you could just use the "Fit" stretch option. (And if it wasn't the same ratio, you could use a free image editor like paint.net to add black bars to the needed sides to make it the same ratio so the fit stretching didn't distort the image.)

I'm not sure what options other OS's have, but I would think they would allow similar?

User avatar
Mango
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Old menu picture

Post by Mango »

The ration is the same of course.

But when you display the 1920x1080 on 2560x1440 screen it is blury.
Anyway, the upscaled img is fine.
Hm.... so we have a mystery doner... intriguing.

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”