One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby Cribbit » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:43 pm

Can you even seek out new copper patches fast enough? Even if you had a world that was nothing but copper, so all you had to do was place belts/bots and miners, could you place fast enough?
Cribbit
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:35 pm

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby Koub » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:33 am

Nasabot wrote:This is the reason why copper cable need a nerf!

No, seriously:
I'd really like it if the recipe gets changed to:

1 Copper-> 1 copper cable (+ adjusting all other recipes to this)

I dont see how the inflation of copper cables are a good thing. In my opinion the only thing this does is limiting possible belt based solutions for your factory.
The copper cable inflation unnessary reduces the number of designs!

That's part of the puzzle. The devs want some items to be produced in high numbers very fast so you have to figure things (feeding a hugely sped-up assembling machine is a challenge)
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby mrvn » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:43 am

Koub wrote:
Nasabot wrote:This is the reason why copper cable need a nerf!

No, seriously:
I'd really like it if the recipe gets changed to:

1 Copper-> 1 copper cable (+ adjusting all other recipes to this)

I dont see how the inflation of copper cables are a good thing. In my opinion the only thing this does is limiting possible belt based solutions for your factory.
The copper cable inflation unnessary reduces the number of designs!

That's part of the puzzle. The devs want some items to be produced in high numbers very fast so you have to figure things (feeding a hugely sped-up assembling machine is a challenge)


It also allows items to use fractions of a copper ore. Copper cable is also a mild example. In Bobs mods you have ball bearings that produce 16 balls. Now that is a factor that screws up your belt design.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby MeduSalem » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:53 am

Koub wrote:That's part of the puzzle. The devs want some items to be produced in high numbers very fast so you have to figure things (feeding a hugely sped-up assembling machine is a challenge)


I agree with that...

mrvn wrote:It also allows items to use fractions of a copper ore. Copper cable is also a mild example.


Actually I think the devs should have changed all items to the way Ammo/Repair Packs/Science Packs work... being able to use "fractions of items".

That would allow for more interesting recipe ratios.

And also some changes to how Productivity Modules work... instead of creating an additional item every now and then it would just consume the resource items slower.
User avatar
MeduSalem
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby mrvn » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:23 pm

MeduSalem wrote:Actually I think the devs should have changed all items to the way Ammo/Repair Packs/Science Packs work... being able to use "fractions of items".

That would allow for more interesting recipe ratios.

And also some changes to how Productivity Modules work... instead of creating an additional item every now and then it would just consume the resource items slower.


+1.

But could you "repair" them then too? :) I guess they already solved this problem for ammo. Or can you repair ammo?
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby Koub » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:47 pm

The was a discussion on this topic a little time ago, after this : https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-160
Discussion here : viewtopic.php?f=38&t=34319
Also isolated topics were created on that topic, but there was less discussion going on than in the FFF topic :
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=35425
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby MeduSalem » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:38 pm

mrvn wrote:But could you "repair" them then too? :) I guess they already solved this problem for ammo. Or can you repair ammo?


Would that really be necessary? ^^

Koub wrote:The was a discussion on this topic a little time ago, after this : https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-160
Discussion here : viewtopic.php?f=38&t=34319
Also isolated topics were created on that topic, but there was less discussion going on than in the FFF topic :
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=35425


Strange.. I read the FFF back then but can't remember it being mentioned there.
User avatar
MeduSalem
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby DScoffers » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:22 pm

@Dragony - Nice job on hitting 1 billion!

It made me wonder about my production stats.
1.7 billion copper cable produced and consumed.

Mods: Helmod and Score Extended (Not gameplay changing)
Commands used: None
Playtime: 497 Hours (Single Player)
Game type: Default Peaceful (With tweaked resource settings, but nothing too extreme.)




Factorio 2017-10-14 23-53-50-51.jpg
Factorio 2017-10-14 23-53-50-51.jpg (3.33 MiB) Viewed 421 times
@
DScoffers
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby Koub » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:43 am

[Koub] Removed posts saying "why should we care" and subsequent answers as they're irrelevant. If you don't care, don't read the topic.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby GoldenPorkchop80 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:51 pm

Koub wrote:[Koub] Removed posts saying "why should we care" and subsequent answers as they're irrelevant. If you don't care, don't read the topic.


Aw man! I liked my response! I was in the philosophical zone when I wrote that... Like, proper Leonardo Da Vinci mode... :cry:

Oh well! If the mods deem it irrelevant, so it shall be!

I won't make a huge fuss though, the mods here are really great! You guys do good work here, and I feel that you guys don't get enough praise because it's almost overlooked. Keep it up! ;)

No, but seriously, if you guys don't bring back my post, I will fucking lose my shit.

In other news....
DScoffers wrote:@Dragony - Nice job on hitting 1 billion!

It made me wonder about my production stats.
1.7 billion copper cable produced and consumed.

Mods: Helmod and Score Extended (Not gameplay changing)
Commands used: None
Playtime: 497 Hours (Single Player)
Game type: Default Peaceful (With tweaked resource settings, but nothing too extreme.)

Image


I just realized that MASSIVE reactor blueprint setup in the background. Exactly how much power are you producing? I would guesstimate using simple math, but can't get an accurate measurement because it looks like the image crops out the rest of the setup. Just curious.
Contact me:
telnet.Telehack.com (My username is gpc80)
Steam
Twitch.tv
Reddit
Email:redrouster2000@gmail.com (Mods, Admins, and Game Devs ONLY! Anyone else will be blocked on my email, and on this forum)
Hamachi VPN: Please send me a PM for network info.
Forums: Send me a PM
User avatar
GoldenPorkchop80
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:27 pm
Location: ♫ Down in the west Texas town of El Paso... ♫

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby DScoffers » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:54 pm

What you can see in the image is just a small part of a 20GW nuclear setup.
It's not my design, but it's come in very handy. Thanks goes out to "nthexwn" for his design in the post below, which has all the info:
https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?f=208&t=50293

I currently have 6 of these built to produce 120GW.
DScoffers
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby GoldenPorkchop80 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:08 pm

DScoffers wrote:What you can see in the image is just a small part of a 20GW nuclear setup.
It's not my design, but it's come in very handy. Thanks goes out to "nthexwn" for his design in the post below, which has all the info:
viewtopic.php?f=208&t=50293

I currently have 6 of these built to produce 120GW.


120GW

120GW

120GW

120GW

120GW

120GW

Exactly how many RPM are you getting?

My biggest factory only used 1GW, and that was mainly because of laser turrets. I do use accumulators, but I try to match up my power production with my laser turret consumption, because it streamlines everything, and it's redundancy.
Contact me:
telnet.Telehack.com (My username is gpc80)
Steam
Twitch.tv
Reddit
Email:redrouster2000@gmail.com (Mods, Admins, and Game Devs ONLY! Anyone else will be blocked on my email, and on this forum)
Hamachi VPN: Please send me a PM for network info.
Forums: Send me a PM
User avatar
GoldenPorkchop80
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:27 pm
Location: ♫ Down in the west Texas town of El Paso... ♫

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby DScoffers » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:02 pm

I play on peaceful mode, so I don't use any turrets.

RPM: Not sure yet if I'll hit my target so don't want to jump the gun. When rockets are launching the FPS/UPS drops waaay too low to do anything, so rocket launches are now disabled after launching 4,500.
I've built the base from the start to aim for a very high RPM, but power has been the issue. I should have it finished within a week, and then I'll do a post about it.
Everything has Prod3 modules and Speed3 beacons which sap power.
DScoffers
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby evopwr » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:31 pm

Totally loving both posters screenshots, and would really love more screenshots of the actual base designs.
Ive never come close to anything like this size - I always end up getting bored, and starting again. lol.
Truly amazing.
evopwr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:45 am

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby DScoffers » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:43 pm

I'll not hijack this thread any more than I already have, but Dragony, I'd love to see some of your designs too.
DScoffers
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: One Billion Copper Wires produced.

Postby Trudel » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:04 am

DScoffers wrote:I'll not hijack this thread any more than I already have, but Dragony, I'd love to see some of your designs too.


Maybe you'd like to share them in a thread of your own?

Remember, sharing is caring. ;-)
My wife says I only have to faults: I don't listen and something else.
Trudel
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm

Previous

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mango and 7 guests