[1.0.0] MacOS Audio stops working when Discord call starts after Factorio

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
Dahn94
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:32 pm
Contact:

[1.0.0] MacOS Audio stops working when Discord call starts after Factorio

Post by Dahn94 »

I found a few old forum reports from the 2018 and 2019 but they all seemed to be for Linux users. Using any audio output (headset or no) shows same behavior.

I noticed sound used to stop working some weeks back but finally narrowed things to reproducible steps:

1. Launch Factorio
2. Launch Discord
3. Start Discord call
4. Audio in Factorio will cut out as call begins

If Factorio is started after Discord call is connected, audio works correctly.


Dahn94
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] MacOS Audio stops working when Discord call starts after Factorio

Post by Dahn94 »

87.712 Info SteamContext.cpp:482: Entered own lobby.
165.178 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:112: Disconnecting multiplayer connection.

This is the interval in which the Discord call was started. I began the call after the MP host session was initiated
factorio-current audio cutout log.log
(79.93 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

Dahn94
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] MacOS Audio stops working when Discord call starts after Factorio

Post by Dahn94 »

Digging into this I found the following in the syslog during a recent session where audio for discord and factorio was working fine for using the built in speakers but then game audio failed when switching to a bluetooth headset:

default 15:32:50.575788-0600 factorio kAudioUnitErr_TooManyFramesToProcess : inFramesToProcess=1536, mMaxFramesPerSlice=1156
default 15:32:50.575833-0600 factorio /AppleInternal/BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/AudioDSP/AudioDSP-366.39/CoreAudioUtility/Source/CADSP/AUPublic/AUBase/AUBase.cpp:1380 inFramesToProcess=1536, mMaxFramesPerSlice=1156; TooManyFrames

this gets spammed in the syslog until the workaround described above is performed (starting the game after bluetooth audio is running)

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users