Page 1 of 1

Run from ramdisk

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:05 pm
by Camylarde
Hi,

is there a way to move factorio to ramdisk?
I have:
1)Created a ramdisk h:/
2) Moved the steam part of the game to the root.
3) Created a sub-folder config-copy to have a separate location for roaming/factorio config data.
4) Applied the article How to move your data folder from this forum technical section faq.
5) Found the exe in the /bin folder

I still get error
---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
weakly_canonical: Incorrect function.

: "h:/config-copy/config\config.ini"
path1: h:/config-copy/config\config.ini
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

despite the file confirm.ini being there in the path. Notable is also that if the file isn't there the new one is not created as the article says it should be...

Any suggestions?

Re: Run from ramdisk

Posted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 8:44 am
by posila
Camylarde wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:05 pm
weakly_canonical: Incorrect function.
Hello, the error you are seeing originates from std::filesystem standard C++ library (which might or might not get it from underlying calls to WinAPI).
Can you please
1) post exact build version of Windows you are running (Win + R and type in winver, or just post Factorio log).
2) decribe steps you used to create the ramdisk
3) post your modified config.ini and command line parameters you use to launch Factorio?

Re: Run from ramdisk

Posted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 9:38 am
by Optera
For such experiments I'd start by downloading the portable version directly from factorio.com instead of using the steam version.