Page 1 of 1

Alter Mapgen Settings After Playing Map

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 3:48 pm
by Engineer1701D
After almost 200 hours of building and exploring a death world and not finding Uranium I decided to check the settings from the map string. Somehow I disabled Uranium all together (0 is what

Code: Select all

/c game.player..print(game.player.surface.map_gen_settings["autoplace_controls"]["uranium-ore"]["size"])
displays). I've read several threads here and some external threads on things related to console command to alter these settings. Thus far none succeed in changing size from zero.

Any ideas on how to enable Uranium generation?

Re: Alter Mapgen Settings After Playing Map

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:17 pm
by Xeanoa

Re: Alter Mapgen Settings After Playing Map

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:20 pm
by Engineer1701D
You may be right. I was hoping not to install any mods, but no different than using a console command (for achs I mean).

Re: Alter Mapgen Settings After Playing Map

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 7:19 pm
by eradicator
Map gen settings have to be written as a complete table.

This will set the values back to default:

Code: Select all

/c local mgs = game.player.surface.map_gen_settings mgs["autoplace_controls"]["uranium-ore"] = {frequency = 1, richness = 1, size = 1} game.player.surface.map_gen_settings = mgs

Re: Alter Mapgen Settings After Playing Map

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 9:37 pm
by Engineer1701D
Ah hah. That sounds plausible. Just setting Uranium Size to 1 wasn't taking when I tried it.

I decided to use the mod suggested in the first response. It occurred to me since I had already disabled achs using commands that using a mod doesn't make it any worse, so I just installed that mod and changed Uranium Size to 1. I didn't want to default the other settings. They are all where I wanted them. I have discovered my first Uranium patch.... all 485K of it lol. I wanted it very rare and small but I guess I somehow set it to completely off by accident.... 200 hours ago.