I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
User avatar
db48x
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by db48x »

Recaptcha is the worst piece of software in the world. I spent at least 5 minutes clicking on bicycles and busses and mountains and other crap, waiting 5 to 10 seconds for each new image to fade into view, and finally got a green checkbox. And then the login failed anyway and it said that I hadn't solved the captcha. The images are tiny and hard to see, and they've started adding noise and reducing the contrast in order to make them harder to identify.

No, I won't do that ever again. I can feel my blood boiling just thinking about it. I don't care why you think you need it, or what metrics you based your decision on; it's terrible. Please get rid of it so that I can download Factorio again.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Jap2.0 »

Would something from this thread work?
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

User avatar
db48x
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by db48x »

If I had an API token then I could use the new API endpoint, but I would have to log in to factorio.com to create a token. Catch-22.

If they're worried about someone using the login form to brute-force a user's password (and that's a valid concern), the right solution is exponential backoff. After each password failure just wait longer and longer before returning a reply, and eventually you just stop answering those requests. Recaptcha was probably an easy fix, but not a good one for users or ultimately for security. Running third-party javascript in your page is always a bad idea, even if the third party once promised not to be evil.

In the short term my problem is solved, because I found a version of Factorio 0.12.30 and it was eventually able to update itself. It had to download > 4GB of updates though, and could only do so at a 20th of my full download speed, so that took all day. I have to say that the update process is really poorly built, but that's a separate bug report.

User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by HanziQ »

If you are able to update, you should have your token in the player-data.json file in https://wiki.factorio.com/Application_directory

User avatar
db48x
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by db48x »

HanziQ wrote:
Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:49 am
If you are able to update, you should have your token in the player-data.json file in https://wiki.factorio.com/Application_directory
That's nice. Still doesn't change the fact that I cannot log in to factorio.com.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Jap2.0 »

HaziQ/Sanqui: would something like Google's No CAPTCHA work?
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

User avatar
db48x
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by db48x »

Jap2.0 wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:33 am
HaziQ/Sanqui: would something like Google's No CAPTCHA work?
That's simply the latest version of recaptcha; it's the problem.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by eradicator »

Btw, i can attest to the crappyness of recaptcha too. (Luckily i don't need it for factorio due to stored cookies/session id). Just yesterday it forced me to do like 10 sets of 5 captchas each because it constantly lost connection after the fifth one. And well...the fact that it demands more than one captcha at all, and has these really annoying ones where it constantly (and extremely slowly) fades in new pictures all the time also makes it one of the worst captcha "experiences" i know. It also seems to use IP lists to punish people who use VPNs. So it probably only works "well" for people with a good fast connection who don't look "suspicious" and thus only have to solve one captcha.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Jap2.0 »

Yeah, I agree that captchas can suck; sometimes I get through in a matter of seconds and sometimes I'm there clicking for minutes.
Unfortunately I don't see any alternatives.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Koub »

Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by eradicator »

Well, well. It looks like my cookies have expired. And now i can join the club of the unhappy "locked out of the mod portal" customers. I even tried to disable my adblocking addons (which is obviously unacceptable), but all i get is "please solve the captcha" again and again. *sigh*. One more entry on the list of sites i can only use in a vm'ed addon-free browser.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4942
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Klonan »

eradicator wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:32 pm
Well, well. It looks like my cookies have expired. And now i can join the club of the unhappy "locked out of the mod portal" customers. I even tried to disable my adblocking addons (which is obviously unacceptable), but all i get is "please solve the captcha" again and again. *sigh*. One more entry on the list of sites i can only use in a vm'ed addon-free browser.
The captcha only appears after 3 failed on the main website, I will put it on a card to do the same for the mod portal

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by eradicator »

Klonan wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:52 pm
eradicator wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:32 pm
Well, well. It looks like my cookies have expired. And now i can join the club of the unhappy "locked out of the mod portal" customers. I even tried to disable my adblocking addons (which is obviously unacceptable), but all i get is "please solve the captcha" again and again. *sigh*. One more entry on the list of sites i can only use in a vm'ed addon-free browser.
The captcha only appears after 3 failed on the main website, I will put it on a card to do the same for the mod portal
That would be much appreciated. Logging into the main site works fine here.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
Sanqui
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by Sanqui »

This should be fixed now, the mod portal gives you three attempts before presenting a CAPTCHA.
ovo

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: I cannot log in to factorio.com due to recaptcha

Post by eradicator »

Works fine for me now. Thanks for the fix :).
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”