[15.40] Can't connect to any server nor host one

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
User avatar
TheVidoja
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:23 pm
Contact:

[15.40] Can't connect to any server nor host one

Post by TheVidoja »

Hello!
So yesterday I bought Factorio (yay!) and decided to join a server that a friend hosts via IP. But the thing is that I couldn't join, no matter what I did to solve it, and we knew for a fact that the server was joinable because the rest of the group joined without a problem. Then, I decided to read the log to see what was happening, and saw that the error was this:

Code: Select all

Error ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:94: MultiplayerManager failed: multiplayer.not-received-connection-accept-reply
After that I decided to join any public game to try and see if the problem was server-side or client-side, and the conclusion was that the problem is on my side (client-side), because I couldn't join any server: doesn't matter the one I tried always the same message and error on the log.
This is a full log of me opening the game and trying to join a random public server selected from the ingame list:

Code: Select all

   0.001 2018-01-01 13:33:45; Factorio 0.15.40 (build 30950, win64, steam)
   0.001 Operating system: Windows 10 (version 1709) 
   0.001 Program arguments: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Factorio\bin\x64\Factorio.exe" 
   0.001 Read data path: C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data
   0.001 Write data path: C:/Users/TheVidoja/AppData/Roaming/Factorio
   0.001 Binaries path: C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin
   0.010 System info: [CPU: AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor           , 8 cores, RAM: 16341MB]
   0.011 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: 100%] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: en]
   0.013 Available display adapters: 2
   0.014  [0]: \\.\DISPLAY1 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 {0x80001, [1920,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 60Hz}
   0.014  [1]: \\.\DISPLAY2 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 {0x80005, [0,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 60Hz}
   0.014 Create display on adapter 1. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.149 Initialised Direct3D:[0] NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970; driver: nvldumdx.dll 23.21.13.8859
   0.156     Video memory size (dedicated video/dedicated system/shared system/available): 4058/0/8170/4088 MB
   0.211 DSound: Starting _dsound_update thread
   0.211 DSound: Enter _dsound_update; tid=15240
   0.212 Device reset internal.
   0.215 Desktop composition is active.
   0.215 WARNING: You have vsync and desktop composition enabled on Direct3D. Consider disabling vsync to increase performance on some configurations.
   0.215 Graphics settings preset: very-high
   0.216 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: high] [Video memory usage: all] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.414 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   0.424 Loading mod base 0.15.40 (data.lua)
   0.584 Loading mod base 0.15.40 (data-updates.lua)
   0.650 Checksum for core: 3865022077
   0.650 Checksum of base: 1503927233
   1.124 Info PlayerData.cpp:58: Local player-data.json available, timestamp 1514809817
   1.124 Info PlayerData.cpp:63: Cloud player-data.json available, timestamp 1514809813
   1.393 Loaded shader file C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/game.cso
   1.393 Loaded shader file C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/zoom-to-world.cso
   1.415 Initial atlas bitmap size is 16384
   1.447 Created atlas bitmap 16384x16381
   2.216 Created atlas bitmap 16384x1262
   2.299 Created atlas bitmap 16384x3181
   2.640 Created atlas bitmap 16384x4758
   3.092 Created atlas bitmap 8192x1912
   3.203 Created atlas bitmap 8192x800
   3.252 Created atlas bitmap 8192x2028
  19.946 Sprites loaded
  19.946 Convert atlas 8192x1912 to: mipmap 
  20.078 Convert atlas 8192x800 to: mipmap 
  20.158 Convert atlas 8192x2028 to: trilinear-filtering 
  21.152 Loading sounds...
  23.847 Custom inputs active: 0
  23.905 Factorio initialised
  29.219 Info UDPSocket.cpp:27: Opening socket at (0.0.0.0:0)
  34.944 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  34.944 Info UDPSocket.cpp:236: Socket closed
  34.944 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  34.945 Joining game 35.198.118.222:1025
  34.945 Info UDPSocket.cpp:33: Opening socket
  34.946 Info ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:560: MapTick(-1) changing state from(Ready) to(Connecting)
  36.259 Error ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:94: MultiplayerManager failed: multiplayer.not-received-connection-accept-reply
  36.259 Info ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:560: MapTick(-1) changing state from(Connecting) to(InitializationFailed)
  37.611 Info ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:181: Quitting multiplayer connection.
  37.611 Info ClientMultiplayerManager.cpp:560: MapTick(-1) changing state from(InitializationFailed) to(Disconnected)
  37.657 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  37.657 Info UDPSocket.cpp:236: Socket closed
  39.816 DSound: Stopping voice
  39.816 DSound: Joining thread
  39.818 DSound: Exit _dsound_update; tid=15240
  39.818 DSound: Waiting for voice to stop ... signaled
  39.819 DSound: Joined thread
  39.819 DSound: Destroying thread
  39.819 DSound: Thread destroyed
  39.819 DSound: Releasing buffer
  39.819 DSound: Voice stopped
  39.819 DSound: Deallocating voice
  39.819 DSound: Deallocated voice
  39.854 Steam API shutdown.
  39.858 Goodbye
One final thought, it might be useful: if I use the VPN my university provides and try to connect to the server, it works with no problem. Haven't tried with any other VPN tho.

Well, this one is a strange problem and I hope that we can solve it so that no other person suffers this error.
If you need any other information or need me to try anything, just tell me and I'll answer ASAP.

Thanks to everyone in advance!

PS: Merry Christmas and happy new year everyone!!!


UPDATE: I just noticed that, when on the public server list, if I click any server, the ping value on the right always ends up saying "can't reach" (or something similar).

heavensbee
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.40] Can't connect to any server nor host one

Post by heavensbee »

I have the exact same problem, tried everything with my firewalls and such, no result.. However i can join large public multiplayer servers just not my friends one.

xBUTCHERx
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 9:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.40] Can't connect to any server nor host one

Post by xBUTCHERx »

I'm using the latest version 0.16.43, I see the server in the browser, but I can not connect to any server other than [VERTORIO] OPEN SERVER. On all other servers, ping: no answer. In the settings of the router, the ports are forwading.

gallo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: [15.40] Can't connect to any server nor host one

Post by gallo »

Same issue, all relevant ports are open, and nothing. This is stupid.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”