[15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am
Contact:

[15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by dragonmoony »

The game uses the pingpong server to determine the address, but then uses the one it expected instead of the one it gets, and this prevent multiplayer from working.

Why doesn't the game just accept and use the address (port) it gets instead of the one it expects?

Code: Select all

  19.659 Factorio initialised
  31.230 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:49: Loaded external blueprint storage: playerIndex = 0, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510603277; records:
  33.159 Info ServerSynchronizer.cpp:28: nextHeartbeatSequenceNumber(0) initialized Synchronizer nextTickClosureTick(0).
  33.159 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(-1) changing state from(Ready) to(PreparedToHostGame)
  33.160 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(-1) changing state from(PreparedToHostGame) to(CreatingGame)
  33.161 Loading Level.dat: 917021 bytes.
  33.161 Info Scenario.cpp:135: Map version 0.15.37-0
  33.232 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:226: Loaded library shelves:
  33.232 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:794: Game shelf: playerIndex = 65535, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510637208; records:
  33.233 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:49: Loaded external blueprint storage: playerIndex = 0, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510603277; records:
  33.236 Checksum for script C:/Users/Mohsen/AppData/Roaming/Factorio/temp/currently-playing/control.lua: 282129324
  33.237 Info UDPSocket.cpp:27: Opening socket at (0.0.0.0:34197)
  33.240 Hosting game at 0.0.0.0:34197
  33.240 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://auth.factorio.com/generate-server-padlock-2
  33.871 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 200
  33.871 Info AuthServerConnector.cpp:108: Obtained serverPadlock for serverHash (nvvKOSXNRmKQBCzJwBFShFNbXhsL9eC8) from the auth server.
  33.871 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(0) changing state from(CreatingGame) to(InGame)
  33.872 Info ServerRouter.cpp:580: Asking pingpong servers (pingpong1.factorio.com:34197, pingpong2.factorio.com:34197) for own address
  33.928 Info UDPSocket.cpp:39: Opening socket for broadcast
  33.931 Info GameActionHandler.cpp:3320: MapTick (0) processed PlayerJoinGame peerID(0) playerIndex(0) mode(create ) 
  34.731 Warning ServerRouter.cpp:470: Received own adddress message reply with conflicting address (got 143.179.1.24:43512, expected 143.179.1.24:16973)
  34.732 Warning ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:564: Determining own address has failed. Best guess: 143.179.1.24:16973
  35.415 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:600: Matching server connection resumed
  38.265 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:116: Disconnecting multiplayer connection.
  38.265 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(InGame) to(DisconnectingScheduled)
  38.300 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(DisconnectingScheduled) to(Disconnecting)
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(Disconnecting) to(Disconnected)
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:140: Quitting multiplayer connection.
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(Disconnected) to(Closed)
  38.336 Info BlueprintShelf.cpp:683: Saving blueprint storage.
  38.422 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://multiplayer.factorio.com/remove-game/223215
  38.588 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 200
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:236: Socket closed
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  38.744 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket


dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Post by dragonmoony »

I had seen that post prior to making my own. it doesn't solve this problem (that is unique to this game), and also the IP address it expects and gets are the same, the only thing is the port number. This is beyond my control (ISP related) so does this mean that I can never play this game in multiplayer (which is the sole reason I bought it, to play with 1 of my friends), or can the game just accept the info it gets instead of using the info it expects?

I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.

Surely something can be done to fix this issue?

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8283
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Post by Loewchen »

dragonmoony wrote:I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.
You don't need a static port to play multiplayer, you need it to run a server. This is not a factorio limitation, if you change your telephone number after every call, printing a number in the phone book does not work.

dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Post by dragonmoony »

Loewchen wrote:
dragonmoony wrote:I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.
You don't need a static port to play multiplayer, you need it to run a server. This is not a factorio limitation, if you change your telephone number after every call, printing a number in the phone book does not work.
isn't what I'm doing running a server? wouldn't the game just work if it used the port it got confirmed instead of the one it expected? wouldn't people be able to join my server through steam no matter what port or IP address I had in the future?

can you please help me get this multiplayer to work? are you one of the devs?

User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Post by HanziQ »

Your game tried to access 2 different pingpong servers with 2 different IPs to obtain your IP address. The received vs expected address are just the 2 responses from the pingpong servers, whichever arrives first becomes the expected one. The address was the same, but the port wasn't, which means your ISP is using Restricted cone or Symmetric NAT (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_a ... ranslation) and therefore, UDP hole punching cannot be used. If someone else tried to connect to your server via the determined IP and port, they wouldn't get through. You still can play multiplayer, but you cannot host without opening a port manually somehow or tunnelling using a service like Hamachi/ZeroTier.

nuhll
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by nuhll »

I have excact same problem.

Please let us give factorio an port and ip (dns). Other games let you set this up in the config.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=55454

User avatar
SmokeyAssassin
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by SmokeyAssassin »

You specify the ip address in your server load command

--start-server-load-latest --server-settings ./data/server-settings.json --bind <IPADDRESS>:<PORT>

You could try blockinging all but one pingpong server in your firewall, but this would allow the server to run, it may prevent people from joining your game, as you have some funky coneNAT going on.

namanjohnson101
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:01 am

Re: [15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by namanjohnson101 »

nuhll wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:56 pm
I have excact same problem.

Please let us give factorio an port and ip (dns). Other games let you set this up in the config.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=55454
hey,

Damm even I am having a similar kind of issue, I have searched all over the internet and even have posted on number of threads on different forum, no solution seems to work. I am really frustrated, can anyone of you here help me resolve this issue, I am very much tired now.

Honktown
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1025
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by Honktown »

namanjohnson101 wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:09 am
nuhll wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:56 pm
I have excact same problem.

Please let us give factorio an port and ip (dns). Other games let you set this up in the config.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=55454
hey,

Damm even I am having a similar kind of issue, I have searched all over the internet and even have posted on number of threads on different forum, no solution seems to work. I am really frustrated, can anyone of you here help me resolve this issue, I am very much tired now.
If you're on Linux, you can use iptables to redirect traffic to different ports/IP:

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... p-and-port

On Windows you would have to do shenanigans, I honestly don't have a clear idea on how. You can set interfaces to have higher/lower priority than another, but I don't know if you can make them application-specific. Maybe there's a firewall program like iptables that would let you redirect traffic? Windows Firewall has advanced rules, and you can set inbound and outbound rules (this could break things, make a restore point, write down what you did, etc, etc):
Attachments
bleh.png
bleh.png (47.64 KiB) Viewed 9708 times
I have mods! I guess!
Link

pinknemo13
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Post by pinknemo13 »

Honktown wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:50 am
namanjohnson101 wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:09 am
nuhll wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:56 pm
I have excact same problem.

Please let us give factorio an port and ip (dns). Other games let you set this up in the config.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=55454
hey,

Damm even I am having a similar kind of issue, I have searched all over the internet and even have posted on number of threads on different forum, no solution seems to work. I am really frustrated, can anyone of you here help me resolve this issue, I am very much tired now.
If you're on Linux, you can use iptables to redirect traffic to different ports/IP:

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... p-and-port

On Windows you would have to do shenanigans, I honestly don't have a clear idea on how. You can set interfaces to have higher/lower priority than another, but I don't know if you can make them application-specific. Maybe there's a firewall program like iptables that would let you redirect traffic? Windows Firewall has advanced rules, and you can set inbound and outbound rules (this could break things, make a restore point, write down what you did, etc, etc):
Had the same issue thanks for your repply!! issue is solved now

Thansk

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”