[0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
pcmaster160
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:51 pm
Contact:

[0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Post by pcmaster160 »

After changing the default config to use high resolution sprites the game crashes on startup after displaying 'Cropping bitmaps...'

Log:

Code: Select all

0.000 2017-04-24 21:58:43; Factorio 0.15.1 (build 29050, linux64, steam)
   0.047 Operating system: Linux (Ubuntu 17.04)
   0.047 Program arguments: "/home/matt/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin/x64/factorio" 
   0.047 Read data path: /home/matt/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data
   0.047 Write data path: /home/matt/.factorio
   0.047 Binaries path: /home/matt/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin
   0.052 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz, 8 cores, RAM: 16002MB]
   0.053 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 0] [UIScale: 100%] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255]
   0.171 Available display adapters: 2
   0.171  [0]: resolution 1920x1080px at [1920,0]
   0.171  [1]: resolution 1920x1080px at [0,0]
   0.171 Create display on adapter 1. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.453 Initialised OpenGL:[1] Gallium 0.4 on AMD CAYMAN (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.10.0-19-generic, LLVM 4.0.0); driver: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.3
   0.454     Video memory size (dedicated/total available/current available): 2048/3069/2039 MB
   0.473 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: high] [Video memory usage: all] [Light scale: 30%] [DXT: false]
   1.034 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   1.038 Loading mod base 0.15.1 (data.lua)
   1.095 Loading mod base 0.15.1 (data-updates.lua)
   1.137 Checksum for core: 530912544
   1.137 Checksum of base: 2731413614
   1.225 Info PlayerData.cpp:55: Local player-data.json available, timestamp 1493095937
   1.225 Info PlayerData.cpp:60: Cloud player-data.json available, timestamp 1493095934
   1.278 Loaded shader file /home/matt/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/game.glsl
   1.281 Loaded shader file /home/matt/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/zoom-to-world.glsl
   1.292 Initial atlas bitmap size is 16384
   1.305 Error CrashHandler.cpp:232: Received SIGSEGV
Factorio crashed. Generating symbolized stacktrace, please wait ...
#0  0x0000000000abf2bd in Logger::logStacktrace(StackTraceInfo*) at /tmp/factorio-2BhRut/src/Util/Logger.cpp:408
#1  0x0000000000682470 in CrashHandler::writeStackTrace() at /tmp/factorio-2BhRut/src/Util/CrashHandler.cpp:105
#2  0x00000000006826f4 in CrashHandler::SignalHandler(int) at /tmp/factorio-2BhRut/src/Util/CrashHandler.cpp:237
#3  0x00007ffa0a0047f0 in ?? at ??:0
   2.440 Error Util.cpp:76: Unexpected error occurred. If you're running the latest version of the game you can help us solve the problem by posting the contents of the log file on the Factorio forums.
Please also include the save file(s), any mods you may be using, and any steps you know of to reproduce the crash.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Post by posila »

Hi, it look like the crash comes from graphics driver, as there is no Factorio stacktrace except for crash handling code.

Could you try to open Factorio properties in Steam library and set launch options to following?

Code: Select all

--graphics-quality=high --max-texture-size=8192
I am interested to know if it will work with reduced max texture size, since you seem to have enough VRAM.
If that still doesn't work you can use

Code: Select all

--graphics-quality=normal
to switch back to normal resolution sprites.

pcmaster160
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Post by pcmaster160 »

posila wrote:Hi, it look like the crash comes from graphics driver, as there is no Factorio stacktrace except for crash handling code.

Could you try to open Factorio properties in Steam library and set launch options to following?

Code: Select all

--graphics-quality=high --max-texture-size=8192
I am interested to know if it will work with reduced max texture size, since you seem to have enough VRAM.
That fixed it! Using the open source Radeon drivers for an AMD 6970 card if that helps.

Thanks :)

Edit: Launching with --max-texture-size=16384 also seems to work (I think this is the max texture size my card supports).

Running

Code: Select all

glxinfo -l | grep -i texture | grep -i max
outputs:

Code: Select all

GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH = 10
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE = 16384
    GL_MAX_3D_TEXTURE_SIZE = 2048
    GL_MAX_ARRAY_TEXTURE_LAYERS = 2048
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_MAX_ANISOTROPY_EXT = 16
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_BUFFER_SIZE = 1503238553
    GL_MAX_COLOR_TEXTURE_SAMPLES = 8
    GL_MAX_DEPTH_TEXTURE_SAMPLES = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
        GL_MAX_VERTEX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
        GL_MAX_COMBINED_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 80
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_COORDS_ARB = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_COORDS_ARB = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
        GL_MAX_GEOMETRY_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS = 16
    GL_AMD_shader_trinary_minmax, GL_ANGLE_texture_compression_dxt3, 
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH = 10
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE = 16384
    GL_MAX_3D_TEXTURE_SIZE = 2048
    GL_MAX_ARRAY_TEXTURE_LAYERS = 2048
    GL_MAX_CUBE_MAP_TEXTURE_SIZE_ARB = 16384
    GL_MAX_RECTANGLE_TEXTURE_SIZE_NV = 16384
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_UNITS_ARB = 8
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_LOD_BIAS_EXT = 16
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_MAX_ANISOTROPY_EXT = 16
    GL_MAX_COLOR_TEXTURE_SAMPLES = 8
    GL_MAX_DEPTH_TEXTURE_SAMPLES = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
        GL_MAX_VERTEX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
        GL_MAX_COMBINED_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 80
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_COORDS_ARB = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_COORDS_ARB = 8
        GL_MAX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS_ARB = 16
    GL_APPLE_texture_max_level, GL_EXT_base_instance, 

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Post by posila »

Hmm, --max-texture-size=16384 is what it used by default. Not sure why it started to work then, but I am glad it works :D

pcmaster160
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] High Resolution Sprites Crashes on Startup (Linux)

Post by pcmaster160 »

I figured it out. At some point in config.ini the value video-memory-usage was changed from all to high. When it is on all and I launch (even with --max-texture-size=16384) the game will crash on startup. However if I lower the value to high the game will launch again.

Hopefully if anyone ever finds this thread in the future this will help!

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”