Page 1 of 1

Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:34 pm
by JakenVeina
Does anyone else use SteamCMD for server management, and have you been able to update to the experimental branch?

I've tried every iteration I can think of and steamcmd always just reports "App is up to date".

"app_update 247520 -beta experimental"
"app_update 247520 -beta beta"
"app_update 247520 -beta 0.13.5"

etc.

I've had to just zip up the files on my desktop and upload them manually at every patch.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 2:10 pm
by ChainsLunatic
I do, but nope, I neither can't update to experimental.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:37 pm
by ChainsLunatic
JakenVeina wrote:Does anyone else use SteamCMD for server management, and have you been able to update to the experimental branch?

I've tried every iteration I can think of and steamcmd always just reports "App is up to date".

"app_update 247520 -beta experimental"
"app_update 247520 -beta beta"
"app_update 247520 -beta 0.13.5"

etc.

I've had to just zip up the files on my desktop and upload them manually at every patch.
I just got it working. Try:

call steamcmd.exe +login JakenVeina +force_install_dir ..\Factorio\ "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 7:56 pm
by PlasmatikSteak
ChainsLunatic wrote:
JakenVeina wrote:Does anyone else use SteamCMD for server management, and have you been able to update to the experimental branch?

I've tried every iteration I can think of and steamcmd always just reports "App is up to date".

"app_update 247520 -beta experimental"
"app_update 247520 -beta beta"
"app_update 247520 -beta 0.13.5"

etc.

I've had to just zip up the files on my desktop and upload them manually at every patch.
I just got it working. Try:

call steamcmd.exe +login JakenVeina +force_install_dir ..\Factorio\ "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
I've tried

Code: Select all

call steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\factorio_steam "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
but it just keeps telling me that it is up to date even though it's not installing any experimental version.

When I start factorio from commandline it tells me it's 0.14.23

Code: Select all

 0.054 Running in headless mode
 0.064 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
 0.086 Loading mod base 0.14.23 (data.lua)
Anybody know what i'm doing wrong here?

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 12:17 pm
by daniel34
PlasmatikSteak wrote:I've tried

Code: Select all

call steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\factorio_steam "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
but it just keeps telling me that it is up to date even though it's not installing any experimental version.
Try -beta 0.15.x
I also don't think you need the quotes.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 6:23 pm
by PlasmatikSteak
daniel34 wrote:
PlasmatikSteak wrote:I've tried

Code: Select all

call steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\factorio_steam "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
but it just keeps telling me that it is up to date even though it's not installing any experimental version.
Try -beta 0.15.x
I also don't think you need the quotes.
Nice!
It worked, with the quotes. Thanks.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 3:40 pm
by Caennanu
i have just used this update, for the first time.
It updated fine, but server won't start after.

@echo off
start "" steamcmd.exe +login REMOVED +force_install_dir +force_install_dir C:\Servers\Factorio_0.15.3 +app_update 427520 -beta 0.15.x +quit

I am getting the error now tho, that level.dat is missing when i start the server.
I did not have this issue prior to the update from 15.3.

I can slightly remember reading a similar issue, but cannot find it.
Redownloaded the zip file from factorio.com, it does not contain that file either?

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 4:49 pm
by Caennanu
i have it working, but not thru the CMD update.
When i download from the site unpack and copy the json and bat file over, it works just fine.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 5:23 pm
by daniel34
Caennanu wrote:I am getting the error now tho, that level.dat is missing when i start the server.
I did not have this issue prior to the update from 15.3.

I can slightly remember reading a similar issue, but cannot find it.
Redownloaded the zip file from factorio.com, it does not contain that file either?
level.dat doesn't come with Factorio, it's part of the savegame zip. Check if you can open the savefile with a graphical Factorio instance or try another savefile.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 7:50 am
by Caennanu
daniel34 wrote:level.dat doesn't come with Factorio, it's part of the savegame zip. Check if you can open the savefile with a graphical Factorio instance or try another savefile.
funny thing, i have done that. it refuses to load up in the list of save files.
However, when i do a clean 'install' from the zip file, all the issues are gone.

i'm thinking there is something wrong with the update part of steamCMD. maybe that it changes file paths or something of the sorts that do not reflect in the config files.
if you want, i have both broken and fixed versions on my server in zip format, i can supply if you wish to investigate.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 10:17 am
by Soul
Is the SteamCMD version identical to the headless version? I didn't even think about using Steam to manage my server (I've done it in the past with other games). I've been wget'ing the headless .tar.xz the whole time... :roll:

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 5:59 pm
by daniel34
Soul wrote:Is the SteamCMD version identical to the headless version? I didn't even think about using Steam to manage my server (I've done it in the past with other games). I've been wget'ing the headless .tar.xz the whole time... :roll:
I'm not that experienced with SteamCMD, but I think it just downloads the same files as the standard Steam client would. Since Factorio starts headless when using any of the --start-server command line arguments it should behave just like the headless server.

If you e.g. wanted to run a headless server on WIndows you'd get a full installation or zip-version (even the Steam version works without any Steam connection), and if you start it with --start-server it should behave like a headless server.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 6:35 am
by Caennanu
Soul wrote:Is the SteamCMD version identical to the headless version?
Yes, the steam version is the actual version, as you specify in the update file which version you wish to download.
It then checks which version you have and then downloads and updates the game in sequence (so from 15.3 to 15.6 you get 3x download and installation), this is obviously a bit inefficiƫnt.

What steam does do, it creates additional folders and files. Such as steamapp and some library thing, when you remove that it won't start up the game-client.

So yes, it seems to be the same version, with the addition of steam added plugins.
Even tho headless-client won't run when starting the game-client itsself it will start up just fine and you can generate a map and play it locally.

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Tue May 16, 2017 2:41 pm
by Wezz
PlasmatikSteak wrote:
daniel34 wrote:
PlasmatikSteak wrote:I've tried

Code: Select all

call steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\factorio_steam "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
but it just keeps telling me that it is up to date even though it's not installing any experimental version.
Try -beta 0.15.x
I also don't think you need the quotes.
Nice!
It worked, with the quotes. Thanks.
For me it only sais:
ERROR! Failed to install app '427520' (No subscription)

I'm also using the login anonymous

Code: Select all

steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir "C:\Game servers\Factorio" "+app_update 427520 -beta 0.15.x validate"
Any ideas?

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Tue May 16, 2017 8:29 pm
by Soul
Wezz wrote:
PlasmatikSteak wrote:
daniel34 wrote:
PlasmatikSteak wrote:I've tried

Code: Select all

call steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\factorio_steam "+app_update 427520 -beta experimental validate" +quit
but it just keeps telling me that it is up to date even though it's not installing any experimental version.
Try -beta 0.15.x
I also don't think you need the quotes.
Nice!
It worked, with the quotes. Thanks.
For me it only sais:
ERROR! Failed to install app '427520' (No subscription)

I'm also using the login anonymous

Code: Select all

steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir "C:\Game servers\Factorio" "+app_update 427520 -beta 0.15.x validate"
Any ideas?
You might need to login with your steam credentials

SteamCMD Login
For a game that requires logins
via https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/SteamCMD

Re: Experimental branch with SteamCMD?

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:54 pm
by Wezz
Doesn't work. Also tried logging in manually but steamCMD always hangs. I'm using Steam guard

Code: Select all

Logging in user '' to Steam Public...Login Failure: Invalid Password
FAILED with result code 5
Gonna try to reinstall steamCMD

EDIT:
No need to reinstall steamCMD.

Turns out the password needs to be written, not pasted. Then it asked for the Steam guard code.
The script doesn't work though since it seem to ask for my steam guard code every time.


Well, it's still much faster than downloading and extracting the 600+MB zip file after every update :D