Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by cpy »

I found Factorio.pdb file inside factorio bin folder, do we really need this file for game to work?
Do we relly need this MS debug file to download with game?

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by daniel34 »

To run the game, no.
But it's useful in case your game crashes and you make a bug report with log file.
Rseding91 wrote:The file exists so the stack traces produced if the game crashes are human readable. It's intended to be there.
Besides, although the file is ~100MB big it shrinks to about ~15MB when compressed.
quick links: log file | graphical issues | wiki

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by Rseding91 »

Without it a given stack trace generated in the crash log will look like this:
#0 0x100449149
#1 0x7fff8f55752a
#2 0x7fff6a17e6fb
#3 0x1007ce1e8
#4 0x10077e7a3
#5 0x100238404
#6 0x100151200
#7 0x10015124e
#8 0x1004699ee
#9 0x7fff9e19f46b
#10 0x7fff9e19f76f
#11 0x100451a19
#12 0x1008de986
#13 0x7fff9526a99d
#14 0x7fff9526a91a
#15 0x7fff95268351
With it that stack trace might look like this:
Factorio crashed. Generating symbolized stacktrace, please wait ...
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\stackwalker\stackwalker.cpp (923): StackWalker::ShowCallstack
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\util\logger.cpp (306): Logger::writeStacktrace
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\util\logger.cpp (360): Logger::logStacktrace
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\util\crashhandler.cpp (84): CrashHandler::writeStackTrace
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\util\crashhandler.cpp (174): CrashHandler::SignalHandler
f:\dd\vctools\crt\crtw32\misc\winxfltr.c (372): _XcptFilter
f:\dd\vctools\crt\crtw32\startup\threadex.c (378): _callthreadstartex$filt$0
f:\dd\vctools\crt\crtw32\misc\amd64\chandler.c (162): __C_specific_handler
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 00007FF96AF19AED)
00007FF96AF19AED (ntdll): (filename not available): _chkstk
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 00007FF96AEA4FE9)
00007FF96AEA4FE9 (ntdll): (filename not available): RtlImageNtHeaderEx
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 00007FF96AF18BFA)
00007FF96AF18BFA (ntdll): (filename not available): KiUserExceptionDispatcher
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\chart\charttag.cpp (45): ChartTag::renderTrainStop
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\graphics\chartrenderer.cpp (205): ChartRenderer::prepare
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\gui\minimapgui.cpp (47): MinimapGui::paintComponent
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\widget.cpp (1292): agui::Widget::_recursivePaintChildren
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\widget.cpp (1308): agui::Widget::_recursivePaintChildren
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\widget.cpp (1308): agui::Widget::_recursivePaintChildren
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\widget.cpp (1304): agui::Widget::_recursivePaintChildren
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\widget.cpp (1308): agui::Widget::_recursivePaintChildren
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\libraries\agui\src\agui\gui.cpp (1025): agui::Gui::render
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\graphics\guirenderer.cpp (35): GuiRenderer::prepare
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\mainloop.cpp (222): MainLoop::prepare
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\mainloop.cpp (473): MainLoop::tickStep
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\mainloop.cpp (576): MainLoop::run
c:\cygwin64\tmp\factorio-vbn8ul\src\main.cpp (493): wmain
f:\dd\vctools\crt\crtw32\startup\crt0.c (255): __tmainCRTStartup
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 00007FF968108102)
00007FF968108102 (KERNEL32): (filename not available): BaseThreadInitThunk
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 00007FF96AECC5B4)
00007FF96AECC5B4 (ntdll): (filename not available): RtlUserThreadStart
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by cpy »

Well i ALWAYS delete that file so, you get adresses from me anyway. :D

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by Zeblote »

cpy wrote:Well i ALWAYS delete that file so, you get adresses from me anyway. :D
...why? 100MB is nothing on modern hard drives.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by Rseding91 »

Zeblote wrote:
cpy wrote:Well i ALWAYS delete that file so, you get adresses from me anyway. :D
...why? 100MB is nothing on modern hard drives.
Maybe he likes delaying the 0.13 dev time by making us take hours more time to possibly figure out what the stack trace could have told us in 5 seconds. Or maybe: https://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/im ... xlke84.jpg
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by cpy »

I also don't send crashes to you. So don't worry. I have plenty of time to wait for 0.13, i play diablo and kerbal so i have things going for me.

First thing i do when i get game is to disable crash reports, by deleting apps responsible for it or blocking executables from being run (remove run privileges), then remove all pdb files. I have crash reports and all usage reports disabled in windows and basically everythign i run so yeah. I'm not beta tester i'm customer. So deal with it. :P
I bought name in the game package so that all support you get from me. Also factorio is the only game i went a bit extra to support devs as much as i did. I still think you do hellova good job with game. My crash reports wont make it any better anyway.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by Rseding91 »

cpy wrote:... My crash reports wont make it any better anyway.
If you never give them to the developers then yes, that's true.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7329
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by bobingabout »

I don't think I've ever actually handed in a crash report... okay, maybe once(Beam weapon related issue?), but still, most of the issues I report don't usually end in a crash.
From what I recall, most were just describing the issue, including one that locked up the game entirely, but produced no crash.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by cpy »

Rseding91 wrote:
cpy wrote:... My crash reports wont make it any better anyway.
If you never give them to the developers then yes, that's true.
I don't truly play factorio, i play heavily modded factorio that crash probably only because of mod use so i spare you frustration of going, OMG this guy uses so many mods and it's mod that crashed it and we wasted so much time on it. That kinda thing.

My bug reports made it to new topics in forums explaining problem as best as i can, so that counts. :)

seronis
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Do we really need Factorio.pdb?

Post by seronis »

If a mod causes a crash then there is SOMETHING that can usually be done so the game handles it in a failsafe / non-crashy way. Reports are always useful to devs who know how to use them. Personally I wish I knew how to use stack traces. Its one skill I never picked up

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”