Page 1 of 1

Factorio performance testing process

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2021 7:48 am
by beltscientist
Hi Everyone,

I'm testing factorio on my new Macbook Pro M1 Pro.

I'm using the baseline from here:
https://factoriobox.1au.us/map/info/4c5 ... e161705504
ie "flame_Sla 10k - 10x1000spm Belt Module"
which seems to have lots of performance data on the site.

I have downloaded the map, and I'm running it using the following process:
/Applications/factorio.app/Contents/MacOS/factorio --benchmark "FlameSla10k.zip" --benchmark-ticks 18000

This gives output like (redacted):

Code: Select all

Running update 17900
  Performed 18000 updates in XXXXXX ms
  avg: XXXXX ms, min: 5.538 ms, max: 24.041 ms
  checksum: 4141161264
XXXXX Goodbye
My numbers seem to be not quite right. Can you please check that I have the process correct before I post the numbers?

Cheers

Re: Factorio performance testing process

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2021 4:41 pm
by azesmbog
Your numbers are quite correct, but they need to be converted from milliseconds to the usual UPS.
My terminal line looks like this:

Code: Select all

 ./factorio --benchmark "flame_Sla_10k.zip" --benchmark-ticks 1000 --disable-audio --mod-directory /dev/null --benchmark-runs 5 
Ticks - 1000 (but you can also 10,000 - then the result is more accurate, but it counts longer)
the test is repeated 5 times
Then we recalculate the resulting result into the usual UPS:
Image
I also recommend checking the flame_30k test - in my opinion, it more accurately determines the alignment of forces :)
Image

Re: Factorio performance testing process

Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2022 1:19 pm
by jodokus31
I don't think that factorio runs natively on M1 Pro Processors?
Then, it will be emulated, so the numbers might be lower than expected

I wonder, how much effort it would be to build a native version for M1