Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.

Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:40 pm

I've got some weird issues that involve Factorio, i5-6300hq (with HD 530 graphics), GTX 960m (2gb dedicated VRAM) and Vsync.

This is what happens when I look at somewhat populated area:
Fig. 1
Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_3.png (3.69 MiB) Viewed 499 times

Key features:
a. Out of 33.3ms frame cycle, 27.5 is spent on flip[off];
b. Vsync is DISABLED both in Factorio and NVCP;
c. Firing up Task manager and GPU-Z shows us following:
Fig. 2
Screenshot_4.png
Screenshot_4.png (47.99 KiB) Viewed 499 times

d. You can clearly see that the gpu has plently of performance overhead, basically idling at 1/3 load, however for some reason Task manager shows almost full GPU load when I am tabbed into the game;
e. Switching the renderer to a vastly inferior HD 530 in the NVCP makes the game run without any problem on the same settings, at about 3/4 iGPU load:
Fig. 3
Screenshot_5.png
Screenshot_5.png (4.54 MiB) Viewed 499 times


I would appreciate any dev comments and willing to cooperate to investigate this problem further down the line.

Edit: running latest Nvidia drivers. Also, disabling Vsync required me to reboot my laptop for it to finally work, and gpu load in Task manager became similar to what's reported in GPU-Z.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby posila » Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:58 pm

Hello again :)

First of all, post here logs from running both on HD 530 and on GTX 960m, please. My suspicion is that they weren't running on the same settings, but instead they were using default values for some of the settings, and the default values were different for the two cards. Even if they are the same, I don't know what they are.

FPS being exactly 30 while GPU Load and Memory Controller Load both being low makes me think v-sync is being forced somewhere.
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:34 pm

I restarted my laptop and that seemed to help to get rid of Vsync. However, it seems like I managed to lock it up again in "on" state by turning it on and off. Also, the 30 FPS lock on a 960m is gone for some reason.
Logs:
960m.log
(4.87 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

hd530.log
(4.75 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Both GPUs offer not the most pleasant gameplay experience in the world, with plenty of stutters here and there (probably vsync-related). The log files show that indeed graphic settings do default to lower values when using HD 530, but seeing the same stutter on a 960m is weird because of very low GPU and VRAM usage.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Loewchen » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:44 pm

See as well: 58204
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:51 pm

OK, this is not funny anymore.
In-game
Screenshot_6.png
Screenshot_6.png (2.85 MiB) Viewed 408 times

GPU-Z
Screenshot_7.png
Screenshot_7.png (18.08 KiB) Viewed 408 times

First part of factorio-current.log, GTX 960m
Code: Select all
   0.001 2018-03-09 02:18:52; Factorio 0.16.28 (build 35903, win64, steam)
   0.001 Operating system: Windows 10 (version 1709)
   0.001 Program arguments: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Factorio\bin\x64\Factorio.exe"
   0.002 Read data path: C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/data
   0.002 Write data path: C:/Users/Сергей/AppData/Roaming/Factorio [191698/237858MB]
   0.002 Binaries path: C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin
   0.023 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6300HQ CPU @ 2.30GHz, 4 cores, RAM: 3447/8081 MB, page: 4241/9361 MB, virtual: 228/134217727 MB, extended virtual: 0 MB]
   0.031 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 0] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: en]
   0.032 Available display adapters: 1
   0.033  [0]: \\.\DISPLAY1 - Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 {0x05, [0,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 60Hz}
   0.033 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.514 Initialised Direct3D:[0] NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M; driver: nvldumdx.dll 23.21.13.9101
   0.519   Video memory size (dedicated video/dedicated system/shared system/available): 2007/0/4040/4088 MB
   0.561 DSound: Starting _dsound_update thread
   0.561 DSound: Enter _dsound_update; tid=5876
   0.561 Device reset internal.
   0.565 Desktop composition is active.
   0.565 Graphics settings preset: high
   0.565 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: normal] [Video memory usage: all] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.565                   [Parallel sprite loading: 1] [Max texture size: 0/8192] [Bmp cache: 0] [Sprite slicing: 1] [Low quality rotation: 0]
   0.788 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   0.854 Loading mod base 0.16.28 (data.lua)
   1.357 Loading mod auto-research 4.0.3 (data.lua)
   1.410 Loading mod belt_buffer 0.1.4 (data.lua)
   1.461 Loading mod EndlessResourcesWithFullYield 0.16.0 (data.lua)
   1.516 Loading mod Laser_Beam_Turrets 0.2.0 (data.lua)
   1.562 Loading mod upgrade-planner 1.5.2 (data.lua)
   1.616 Loading mod base 0.16.28 (data-updates.lua)
   1.672 Loading mod auto-research 4.0.3 (data-final-fixes.lua)
   1.725 Checksum for core: 75317914
   1.725 Checksum of base: 283245926
   1.725 Checksum of auto-research: 1245212902
   1.725 Checksum of belt_buffer: 2761169321
   1.725 Checksum of EndlessResourcesWithFullYield: 2805839289
   1.725 Checksum of Laser_Beam_Turrets: 133330043
   1.725 Checksum of upgrade-planner: 378958687
   1.898 Loading sounds...

The laptop was rebooted and I havent't touched Vsync settings whatsoever. They are disabled everywhere.
This does NOT happen on an integrated HD530. Vsync is still there for some reason, because I see no tearing, but it doesn't drop to 30 FPS without any valid excuse to do so.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby impetus maximus » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:14 am

if you disable v-sync in game and use an aero theme in widows you will get v-sync.
that is how i run Factorio on my machine. make sure you select 'prefer maximum performance' in nvidia control panel.
also may want to see what drivers people are running. with nvidia, latest doesn't necessarily mean greatest. especially if your card is a generation+ old.
User avatar
impetus maximus
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:07 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:33 pm

impetus maximus wrote:if you disable v-sync in game and use an aero theme in widows you will get v-sync.

This is only true for Win7 and windowed / borderless applications. I run it on win10 in fullscreen.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby posila » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:43 pm

Thanks for the logs. The settings differ from each other, but it runs basically with default values when you run it on GTX 960M, and the card should be able to handle those settings easily (and I think it does handle it, as you can see from GPU-Z, and 30 FPS lock comes from something being broken or misconfigured between Intel and nVidia driver).

Factorio currently doesn't support exclusive fullscreen, only borderless fullscreen. Desktop Window Manager (which was called Aero in Win Vista and 7) can't be disabled in Win 8 and newer.
We will probably add exclusive fullscreens support before 1.0 is released, because of issues like this.

Also, are you running on buttery or is your laptop plugged in to charger when you do these tests?
See also: https://superuser.com/questions/807037/ ... tery-power
https://steamcommunity.com/app/252950/d ... 059248015/
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby ttapada » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:19 pm

Also, are you running on buttery or is your laptop plugged in to charger when you do these tests?
See also: https://superuser.com/questions/807037/ ... tery-power
https://steamcommunity.com/app/252950/d ... 059248015/


You got it! I never noticed the pattern...
That was exactly what was happening to me, my settings were limiting FPS on battery but not when plugged in.

Thank you for your help!
ttapada
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:37 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:44 pm

Thanks for the reply.

I tried this with charger both plugged in and not and it doesn't change the outcome, since it's not FPS limited, but has strange dips when something complicated is on the screen. I also made sure to test with maximum performance power plan, both in Windows settings and NVCP.

I might do additional testing with monitoring software like MSI Afterburner to see what the frame times look like.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm

Re: Factorio runs better on Intel iGPU, than GTX 960m

Postby Ubertwink » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:17 pm

posila wrote:Also, are you running on buttery or is your laptop plugged in to charger when you do these tests?
See also: https://superuser.com/questions/807037/ ... tery-power
https://steamcommunity.com/app/252950/d ... 059248015/


Yesterday I was playing WoW and noticed that after unplugging my charger I went down to vsync + 30 frames, which is not what you want to experience in a mythic+13 dungeon.
I plugged the charger and went back to normal frames.
Did some research and found a setting in the GeForce Experience app, called "Battery boost", in Settings -> Games. Disabled it and I am finally able to properly play Factorio on 960M.
Case closed, I guess. :)

Special thanks to Nvidia for making me pull my hair and lose brain cells.
Ubertwink
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:47 pm


Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests