[15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.

[15.37] Error when trying to host server: "Determining own address has failed."

Postby dragonmoony » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:49 am

The game uses the pingpong server to determine the address, but then uses the one it expected instead of the one it gets, and this prevent multiplayer from working.

Why doesn't the game just accept and use the address (port) it gets instead of the one it expects?

Code: Select all
  19.659 Factorio initialised
  31.230 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:49: Loaded external blueprint storage: playerIndex = 0, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510603277; records:
  33.159 Info ServerSynchronizer.cpp:28: nextHeartbeatSequenceNumber(0) initialized Synchronizer nextTickClosureTick(0).
  33.159 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(-1) changing state from(Ready) to(PreparedToHostGame)
  33.160 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(-1) changing state from(PreparedToHostGame) to(CreatingGame)
  33.161 Loading Level.dat: 917021 bytes.
  33.161 Info Scenario.cpp:135: Map version 0.15.37-0
  33.232 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:226: Loaded library shelves:
  33.232 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:794: Game shelf: playerIndex = 65535, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510637208; records:
  33.233 Info BlueprintLibrary.cpp:49: Loaded external blueprint storage: playerIndex = 0, nextRecordID = 0; timestamp = 1510603277; records:
  33.236 Checksum for script C:/Users/Mohsen/AppData/Roaming/Factorio/temp/currently-playing/control.lua: 282129324
  33.237 Info UDPSocket.cpp:27: Opening socket at (0.0.0.0:34197)
  33.240 Hosting game at 0.0.0.0:34197
  33.240 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://auth.factorio.com/generate-server-padlock-2
  33.871 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 200
  33.871 Info AuthServerConnector.cpp:108: Obtained serverPadlock for serverHash (nvvKOSXNRmKQBCzJwBFShFNbXhsL9eC8) from the auth server.
  33.871 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(0) changing state from(CreatingGame) to(InGame)
  33.872 Info ServerRouter.cpp:580: Asking pingpong servers (pingpong1.factorio.com:34197, pingpong2.factorio.com:34197) for own address
  33.928 Info UDPSocket.cpp:39: Opening socket for broadcast
  33.931 Info GameActionHandler.cpp:3320: MapTick (0) processed PlayerJoinGame peerID(0) playerIndex(0) mode(create )
  34.731 Warning ServerRouter.cpp:470: Received own adddress message reply with conflicting address (got 143.179.1.24:43512, expected 143.179.1.24:16973)
  34.732 Warning ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:564: Determining own address has failed. Best guess: 143.179.1.24:16973
  35.415 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:600: Matching server connection resumed
  38.265 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:116: Disconnecting multiplayer connection.
  38.265 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(InGame) to(DisconnectingScheduled)
  38.300 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(DisconnectingScheduled) to(Disconnecting)
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(Disconnecting) to(Disconnected)
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:140: Quitting multiplayer connection.
  38.335 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:671: mapTick(257) changing state from(Disconnected) to(Closed)
  38.336 Info BlueprintShelf.cpp:683: Saving blueprint storage.
  38.422 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://multiplayer.factorio.com/remove-game/223215
  38.588 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 200
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:236: Socket closed
  38.588 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
  38.744 Info UDPSocket.cpp:206: Closing socket
dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Postby Loewchen » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:07 am

See: 53952
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3221
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Postby dragonmoony » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:14 am

I had seen that post prior to making my own. it doesn't solve this problem (that is unique to this game), and also the IP address it expects and gets are the same, the only thing is the port number. This is beyond my control (ISP related) so does this mean that I can never play this game in multiplayer (which is the sole reason I bought it, to play with 1 of my friends), or can the game just accept the info it gets instead of using the info it expects?

I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.

Surely something can be done to fix this issue?
dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Postby Loewchen » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:48 am

dragonmoony wrote:I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.

You don't need a static port to play multiplayer, you need it to run a server. This is not a factorio limitation, if you change your telephone number after every call, printing a number in the phone book does not work.
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3221
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Postby dragonmoony » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:43 pm

Loewchen wrote:
dragonmoony wrote:I own many video games, and almost all of them have online multiplayer, and all of those work 100% fine, with the same pc, same ISP.

You don't need a static port to play multiplayer, you need it to run a server. This is not a factorio limitation, if you change your telephone number after every call, printing a number in the phone book does not work.

isn't what I'm doing running a server? wouldn't the game just work if it used the port it got confirmed instead of the one it expected? wouldn't people be able to join my server through steam no matter what port or IP address I had in the future?

can you please help me get this multiplayer to work? are you one of the devs?
dragonmoony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am

Re: Game uses wrong port - MP not working

Postby HanziQ » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:22 am

Your game tried to access 2 different pingpong servers with 2 different IPs to obtain your IP address. The received vs expected address are just the 2 responses from the pingpong servers, whichever arrives first becomes the expected one. The address was the same, but the port wasn't, which means your ISP is using Restricted cone or Symmetric NAT (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_a ... ranslation) and therefore, UDP hole punching cannot be used. If someone else tried to connect to your server via the determined IP and port, they wouldn't get through. You still can play multiplayer, but you cannot host without opening a port manually somehow or tunnelling using a service like Hamachi/ZeroTier.
User avatar
HanziQ
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Location: Factorio HQ


Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zavian and 6 guests