Page 1 of 1

[1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 2:16 pm
by TaxiService
I've searched far and wide but i couldn't find this issue addressed directly anywhere else.

If i insert multiple stacks of items in a rocket silo on the same tick, all but one stacks are ignored by the silo, leaving the remaining inserters hanging as the rocket launches.

When a second rocket is ready, one of the hanging inserters deposits its stack, and again the rocket launches leaving the remaining inserters hanging.

note: all the inserters outputting to silos in these tests are stack limited to 10.

This circuit will load 10 science packs in 10 chests, for a total of 100. When full, a clock starts running for 120 ticks and the inserters will try to output every time the clock's tick count is 1. Hand contents count towards the total amount of science packs.


As you can see, only one inserter is unloaded at a time.


this does not happen with wagons, for example.

The same circuit has been mounted on a train which will depart on circuit condition: Anything > 0, and this is what happens:


Every inserter deposits its stack simultaneously.


As a sanity check, i've set each inserter to output on a different tick from 1 to 10, and this is what happens:


In this case only the first two inserters are able to output to the wagon, but on the second pass it is able to collect the remaining 80.

I have also tried outputting from wagons to silo for science, but the results don't change.


edit:
to be clear, i would expect all the inserters to unload simultaneously like how it happens with wagons. /edit

How much of this is intended? Why won't the silo let me do this? Is there something i am missing?

In my search i've found these posts
viewtopic.php?p=501659#p501659
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=78854
in which it is noted how intentional some design decisions are.

Is the game trying to tell me i am not supposed to automate this? That this is supposed to be something made manually?
Thanks for your time and much love <3

included map used to take the vids
fishgentest.zip
builds seen in the op
(9.99 MiB) Downloaded 141 times

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 12:38 pm
by orzelek
I think I'm a bit confused - am I seeing correctly that all science pack inserters are set up to put them into rocket silo?

Rocket on auto launch will trigger when something is put in it. So one inserter can put what it holds into it and then it launches preventing other inserters from activating.

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 1:34 pm
by TaxiService
I can see that! The question is: why?

Is this a bug? Or is this the inteded way for the silo to work?

I don't see any reason the silo should behave differently from a wagon.

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 3:28 pm
by disentius
Works as designed, see here:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Rocket_silo

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 6:47 pm
by Rseding91
Moving to minor issues as there is no "clean" answer. If the rocket waited until the input stack was full it would just delete almost all of the science as the fish don't stack anywhere near that high.

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 7:37 pm
by TaxiService
that's the purpose of all that circuitry i built. It only inputs exactly 100 items on the same tick.

I am not saying it should wait for a full stack. I am saying that if i synchronize a number of inserters to output to the silo simultaneously, the silo prevents me from doing that.

Was it purposely designed this way? Because the game lets me produce things with a silo. I have written the circuitry to do it efficiently, but i can't achieve efficiency because in this particular case the game misbehaves.

I understand this issue wouldn't be a top priority, but it still feels like kind of a grave inconstincency.

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:02 pm
by ptx0
Rseding91 wrote:
Sat Dec 05, 2020 6:47 pm
Moving to minor issues as there is no "clean" answer. If the rocket waited until the input stack was full it would just delete almost all of the science as the fish don't stack anywhere near that high.
seems like it should though, as this would work fine for satellites that don't stack, as well as fish that stack to 100.

as it is, the silo will delete whole stacks of space science when you insert satellites while output is full.

Re: [1.1.4] [Spoilers] Can't insert item stacks simultaneously in rocket silo payload

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:17 pm
by SupplyDepoo
+1 I want to efficiently automate fish to be able to make more legendary spidertrons/fish in the expansion (assuming quality modules work in this case).