[0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop [NAB]

Things that has been reported already before.
Post Reply
Suitcase08
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 9:22 pm
Contact:

[0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop [NAB]

Post by Suitcase08 »

Edit: After being directed to this viewtopic.php?f=7&t=30881&start=0 I now know this is intended behavior.

Expected: Chain signals to turn red copying the signals beyond the train stop, and force trains to wait at the chain signals until a Train Stop is open before queuing at the center Stop.

Occurence: Chain signals turn blue after I place the center train stop. Trains pass the chain signals to reach the middle train stop and move to wait at the next (red) signal.

Image

It seems like the chain signals don't copy 'red' if the next rail signal is beyond a train stop, only turn blue (if one or all are red) or green (if all are green).

Is this behavior intentional?

Mods in play:
Launch Control
P-Robo Charge Delay

I don't suspect the mods are playing any role, but those are the two I am using just in case it's relevant.

Found the issue on reddit first, admittedly:
https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... n_signals/

Image
Last edited by Suitcase08 on Wed Oct 12, 2016 5:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1822
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop

Post by Nexela »

This is intended behavior since there is not a "train" between the stop and the chain signal.

You should be able to search the forums for the dev response.

User avatar
impetus maximus
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1299
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop

Post by impetus maximus »

i've posted about this. this is intended by the devs. i don't agree with it so i made my own chain signal, with my rules. ;)
chain.damn.you.jpg
just wire a red, or green wire to some poles, and connect the two, or more signals together.
then set the sending signal mode of operation to read, and the other signal (AKA faux chain signal) to 'close signal' mode RED > 0.

HTH

Suitcase08
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop [NAB]

Post by Suitcase08 »

Thanks for the tip! I'll have to test that out!

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2595
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.13] Chain signals not reading through Train Stop

Post by steinio »

impetus maximus wrote:i've posted about this. this is intended by the devs. i don't agree with it so i made my own chain signal, with my rules. ;)


just wire a red, or green wire to some poles, and connect the two, or more signals together.
then set the sending signal mode of operation to read, and the other signal (AKA faux chain signal) to 'close signal' mode RED > 0.

HTH
This sounds so simple so I just wonder what complicated code lies behind the implemented chain signal and can the developer change it this way.

Maybe this also explains them with a simple equation.

Greetings steinio
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

Post Reply

Return to “Duplicates”