[0.15] Scenario: Island Spawn

Place to share custom user maps, scenarios and campaigns.
Post Reply
BinarySpike
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:15 am
Contact:

[0.15] Scenario: Island Spawn

Post by BinarySpike » Sat May 06, 2017 7:24 am

Been working on an Island Spawn scenario which I teased on reddit. Unfortunately the mods thought it was a rule 9 violation :lol:

In this scenario you spawn on an island with default resources and some electric poles. The four main resources—iron, copper, coal, and stone "infinitely" spawn over landfill in their quadrants. Additionally, islands spawn containing all the other elements, uranium, oil, and enemies.

There are three tips to keep in mind. First landfill is the most important resource in this game, it allows you to spawn new patches of ore and connect to islands. Second islands contain substantially more ore—thus they are valuable targets for mining. Finally, holding ctrl and left click, and swiping the mouse over furnaces and assemblers saves a ton of time.

I still have a few features to finish:
  • More configurables
  • Welcome screen that explains the scenario
  • Fix visual artifacts in water during chunk generation
  • Make concrete erase ores
  • A lot more work into balancing the ore generation in quadrants and islands respectively.
Here is a screenshot of the seed "1337" (a good starter)
Image

Github page: https://github.com/BinarySpike/IslandSpawnScenario
Attachments
Island Spawn.zip
v0.1
(5.67 KiB) Downloaded 262 times

Molter
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15] Scenario: Island Spawn

Post by Molter » Mon May 08, 2017 11:43 am

Is there a way to make spawn bigger/different shape?

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15] Scenario: Island Spawn

Post by daniel34 » Tue May 09, 2017 7:35 pm

BinarySpike wrote:The four main resources—iron, copper, coal, and stone "infinitely" spawn over landfill in their quadrants.
At first I thought this was a bug, but then I re-read the description and now think this is deliberate. However could you include a config option to disable that and only spawn ore in the starting area? It's too OP if the only thing you need to do to get more ores is just put more landfill down, it's also annoying to have ore under every structure unless you mine it.
image

Post Reply

Return to “Maps and Scenarios”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users