Page 1 of 1

Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:58 pm
by Klonan
0.16 release on the mod portal:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/factory-floor

Image
So i have been working on this for a while,
Here is a .zip
Old versions

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 7:13 pm
by aubergine18
Awesome win! This should be in mod portal IMHO. :)

> Other games try to clone factorio
> Simple Factorio mod replicates clone games

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:27 am
by Mooncat
ETA on Google Play Store? :P

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:51 pm
by Mooncat
Just watched some videos about Big Pharma on Youtube, then remembered I have downloaded this scenario. Did a quick test and quickly addicted to it.
Man, you beat the whole game by just some lua files and a blueprint! :lol:


Wish list:
- Better UI for buying items. Ideally we will have the same layout of the crafting menu, as it is what we are familiar with.
- Ability to buy lands, to expand the factory by costing money.
- Buy fluids!
- Improve the requester chests: currently, it requires you to have enough money for buying the whole requested item stack or the chest will simply stop buying items. It confused me for a few minutes until I figured out that I have to lower the item count so it can work properly.
- Fix for the loaders: ability to make a compressed express belt in front of it.


Some quick tips for players (but I may be wrong. Trust yourself if you find any difference to your experience. :P)
1) Very important: electricity costs you money!
2) Due to point 1, don't connect the electricity network before your factory is ready.
3) Due to point 1, you won't want machines to be idle because they still drain energy.
4) Selling low profit items like iron gear wheels may not be a good idea because you need to pay for the electricity. I haven't done math, but requesting iron plates and selling transport belts seems to be better than selling iron gear wheels for startup.
5) Don't buy too much or you won't have enough money for buying electricity and selling things.
6) You can't handcraft.
7) The UI for buying items is awkward at this moment, so you won't rely on it. And also due to the previous point, you will need to automate the production of transport belts, which is also why making and selling transport belts is a good idea, then, when technology is ready, inserters and assembling machines.
8) So, you will need to mass production electronic circuit, just like how you do in normal gameplay.
9) However, space is limited. You will need to build things as compacted as possible. Also that's why I have installed Factorissimo. Hopefully it will bring the game to another level, literally. :lol:
Edit: aw, I can't enter the factory of Factorissimo in god mode. :cry:
10) But still, the number of requester chests is limited. Don't block their paths!
11) After you automated the production of electronic circuit, make and sell laboratories! It is the moment you start earning big money.

Here is my setup for early stage:
Image
12) I haven't tried requesting copper wire directly. It may be a good idea due to fewer inserters and assembling machines needed, i.e. lower cost for electricity and less space.

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:58 am
by skycoder
i have liked it very much. but:
1. i hoped found oil under concrete, but there was only water(may be it can be in random place, to make player, search it?)
2. when robots remove concrete under chests or accumulators it's failed with error

Code: Select all

Error MainLoop.cpp:766: Exception at tick 2514369: Error while running event on_tick (ID 0)
LuaEntity API call when LuaEntity was invalid.
stack traceback:
        ...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:126: in function 'electric_exchange'
        ...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:77: in function <...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:73>
P.S. version 14.12, don't belive trace ;)
3. price menu should be removed, and it's function's moved to inventory, may be developers should help you and create some additional api )

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:12 pm
by Klonan
I have updated the scenario:
  • Should be MP compatible now - Each player gets their own factory area
  • Price list generator should be more mod compatible
  • Buying items with your character is simplified - Just use the character crafting GUI
factory-floor-0.1.0.zip
(61.87 KiB) Downloaded 77 times

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:29 pm
by Jap2.0
Oh, this is cool! Unfortunately I won't be able to try it out for a few weeks.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:04 pm
by bergi9
@Klonan : if you update this scenario for 0.16, please poke/pm me. For now this scenario is incompatible with 0.16: opening GUI crashs, tiles "out-of-map" causes unable to place player and impossible to make profit). Thanks in advance.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:46 pm
by GeoStyx
This is awesome! Can't wait to play it with some friends tonight.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:31 am
by GeoStyx
Can't host game :( `control.lua:321: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)`

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:42 pm
by Fumelfo
Really fun game mode !
But I'll admit, i abuse of the /c game.speed 50 (and it stills feel less cheaty than installing factorissimo, which would ruin the experience :D)

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:32 pm
by Gergely
How do you place loaders in your scenario that load into containers? How do you flip loaders in the map editor?

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:42 pm
by Klonan
Gergely wrote:How do you place loaders in your scenario that load into containers? How do you flip loaders in the map editor?
I set them with script manually

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:09 am
by GeoStyx
Well this was fun :D Making over $5M profit with ~$10-15k expenses. Here's my build: Image

Next time I think we will be banning Kovarex (and probably logi bots) lol.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:11 am
by GeoStyx
Fumelfo wrote:Really fun game mode !
But I'll admit, i abuse of the /c game.speed 50 (and it stills feel less cheaty than installing factorissimo, which would ruin the experience :D)
Interesting, I never really found myself waiting around. Always something to work on.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:59 pm
by bergi9
@Klonan Thanks for the update
Btw: Energy seems to be free? I had 20MW beacons running and no production or consumption, and the cash didn't change. Also the calculation on the GUI is wrong too.

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:00 pm
by flyingkumquat
Seems like selling your starter items gives a huge boost, maybe you should start with nothing instead?

From a second post:
GeoStyx wrote:Next time I think we will be banning Kovarex (and probably logi bots) lol.
No reason to ban Kovarex really -- it takes 240k (in U235 alone) just to get 1 running, which is only a profit of just over 5k/m (not including the cost and effect of speed modules).
Besides, making Power armor MK2 makes significantly more money than Kovarex.

Grass floor in 0.16.36 stable?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:19 pm
by McFrye
Is it normal that at the beginning all the floor is grass and the map isn't working as usual?