Nauvis Post Collapse 1.0 (Pre-Alpha)

Place to share custom user maps, scenarios and campaigns.
lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

Slowly working on a new version of the map so stay tuned for that if I end up releasing it :P

I am currently learning how to day trade, starting to do research to restart my research project from a different angle and I just asked a girl if she's down to spend the rest of her life with me which she is considering so I have really no idea if I will finish it tbh. Currently my plan is to upgrade my setup to game with 3 monitors while I day trade with 5 new ones so that I can multitask even more :)

On top of all this I gotta work out and find a job to make even more money so I can invest further. So far I am on track but that leaves me little energy and time to focus on making free quality content for people xD

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

biff_ccp wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:10 am
Hello. This looks like a great mod. I thank you for it.

After several failed attempts I now have this scenario running, but I've had 2 different kinds of starts.

1) The load scenario option said "Post Collapse (freeplay)" and AFAIK I had the same basic inventory as a vanilla start. (Unfortunately I deleted that save and can't confirm my start inventory.)

2) Now the load scenario option said "Post Collapse" and my start inventory is EMPTY!

Judging from Nilaus' video of this mod, I'm guessing my current install is incorrect. Can anyone confirm this?

P.S. I'm playing Factorio version 17.79 and my Factorio folder DID NOT have a "scenario" sub-folder. I created it myself, unzipped the mod into the subfolder, and then moved all but the "blueprint.zip" into the main Factorio folder. Did I error somewhere?

PPS. If this is as interesting as Nilaus' first few videos make it seem, I'll buy more bloody RAM! I suspect it might be worth it!
Make sure you read earlier posts I made. I added images to show where the zip goes. I remember when I used to have a hard time installing minecraft mods when I was 12 lol

Damn, time goes fast...

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Jap2.0 »

lilstrip wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:11 am
I am currently learning how to day trade, starting to do research to restart my research project from a different angle and I just asked a girl if she's down to spend the rest of her life with me which she is considering so I have really no idea if I will finish it tbh. Currently my plan is to upgrade my setup to game with 3 monitors while I day trade with 5 new ones so that I can multitask even more :)
Wow, that's a lot. Congrats and hope it all goes well for you.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

hey thanks man! Really hope it turns out well so I can help friends out :)

Cool Tool
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Cool Tool »

Hi is it enybody that can go in and delete the biternest's that is not enable to tak out, i try whit cheat's but destroyd all :p or is it a way to do it? nice map,,

User avatar
kmack413
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by kmack413 »

lilstrip wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:11 am
Slowly working on a new version of the map so stay tuned for that if I end up releasing it :P

I am currently learning how to day trade, starting to do research to restart my research project from a different angle and I just asked a girl if she's down to spend the rest of her life with me which she is considering so I have really no idea if I will finish it tbh. Currently my plan is to upgrade my setup to game with 3 monitors while I day trade with 5 new ones so that I can multitask even more :)

On top of all this I gotta work out and find a job to make even more money so I can invest further. So far I am on track but that leaves me little energy and time to focus on making free quality content for people xD
Hey...congrats on all the great work...both on this scenario and on things happening in your personal life! I'd love to know that this map has a future and would like to chat about that future with you whenever you can carve out a few minutes.

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

Cool Tool wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:08 pm
Hi is it enybody that can go in and delete the biternest's that is not enable to tak out, i try whit cheat's but destroyd all :p or is it a way to do it? nice map,,
just open the console and type /editor

Klydon
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Klydon »

Just revisiting this thread since 1.0 has now hit the streets. I have always wanted to try it, but I knew my old system wasn't up for it.

I did put it in the scenario folder (which is different from the screen shots posted earlier, but that might be because I have 1.0 vs whatever version those shots were taken of then). It doesn't show up as an option to select when scenario is selected.

Is there a simple fix to get it to work perhaps? I don't know anything about modding in the Factorio world unfortunately and while I know the author would like to come out with a new version (but seems too busy with RL), I was thinking perhaps just a quick update so it will work with 1.0 will give many a chance to play this wonderful map from a fresh perspective.

Thanks.

User avatar
MEOWMI
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by MEOWMI »

Klydon wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:52 pm
Is there a simple fix to get it to work perhaps?
Mine still shows up and loads just fine. You sure you installed it correctly? It goes in the appdata factorio scenarios folder, extracted.

Klydon
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Klydon »

MEOWMI wrote:
Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:13 am
Klydon wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:52 pm
Is there a simple fix to get it to work perhaps?
Mine still shows up and loads just fine. You sure you installed it correctly? It goes in the appdata factorio scenarios folder, extracted.
The path for mine (I have a steam version) is Factorio/data/base/scenarios/Nauvis Post Collapse.

I see the rest of the scenarios that seem to work ok there, but they are simply the base version.

I looked at the earlier posts/pictures and I don't have anything like that path.

Klydon
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Klydon »

Ok, got it to at least to appear. The trick is on a new install, a person may not have a scenario folder under user. You can add the folder, then put the scenario in there and it will show up as a user scenario. Thanks for replying MEOWMI and hopefully this will be helpful to others as well.

TheCornishman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by TheCornishman »

Hi, I have so enjoyed Nauvis Post-Collapse, and thought that I would start again with all the goodies that have come with v1.0 and v1.1 (not least the spidertron!)

However, when I select Nauvis Post Collapse (Freeplay) from the User Scenarios menu, I get the following message:

Code: Select all

Map version 0.17.65-2 cannot be loaded because it is lower than the minimum input version (0.18.0-0).
Is there any way to make the scenario playable with v1.1, e.g. downgrading Factorio and converting the map version?

System info: Steam on KDE/GNU/Linux, 6-core AMD CPU, 16GB RAM.

Many thanks
Jonathan

User avatar
ptx0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1030
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by ptx0 »

TheCornishman wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:00 pm
Hi, I have so enjoyed Nauvis Post-Collapse, and thought that I would start again with all the goodies that have come with v1.0 and v1.1 (not least the spidertron!)

However, when I select Nauvis Post Collapse (Freeplay) from the User Scenarios menu, I get the following message:

Code: Select all

Map version 0.17.65-2 cannot be loaded because it is lower than the minimum input version (0.18.0-0).
Is there any way to make the scenario playable with v1.1, e.g. downgrading Factorio and converting the map version?

System info: Steam on KDE/GNU/Linux, 6-core AMD CPU, 16GB RAM.

Many thanks
Jonathan
yeah use 1.0 and save it there
My Mods - Fish Per Minute base size metric - Use your crashed spaceship as a belt balancer?
• • •
Base: Bob's @ 1 Million SPM
• • •
Linear search and overflows are indicative of sloppy coding practices.

TheCornishman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by TheCornishman »

TheCornishman wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:00 pm
... e.g. downgrading Factorio and converting the map version....
Self-reply, sorry. I tried this by downgrading to 0.17.79 in the Steam betas list, which is the latest before v1.0. That is, there is no 0.18.x that I can downgrade to.

I can begin a new Nauvis Post-Apocalypse scenario with 0.17.79, and immediately save it. However, on upgrading to 1.1 again, I try to open the new save, and get the same message, so no joy there.

I thought I'd try the intermediate step, and yes! I can load the save from 0.17.79 in 1.0! I saved it again, upgraded to 1.1 again, and tried to open the save. It fails, though, with the message

Code: Select all

/home/jonathan/.factorio/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:24: attempt to call field 'get_events' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
	/home/jonathan/.factorio/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:24: in main chunk
Any ideas would be welcome!

Jonathan

TheCornishman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by TheCornishman »

ptx0 wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:22 pm
yeah use 1.0 and save it there
Thanks for the reply; I tried hopping from a 0.17 through 1.0 to 1.1 (see my follow-up post) which failed, so as you suggested I also tried starting a fresh scenario in 1.0 (i.e. not loading a 0.17 save). That starts a new game just fine, although there are expected warnings about deleted items. However, I get the control.lua failure as before when I try to open the save from 1.0 in 1.1.

Jonathan

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Nauvis-Post-Collapse

new versions uploaded on the portal which were converted to 1.0 and 1.1 respectively

TheCornishman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by TheCornishman »

lilstrip wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:55 pm
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Nauvis-Post-Collapse

new versions uploaded on the portal which were converted to 1.0 and 1.1 respectively
That's fantastic! Thank you so much. I've played over a hundred hours on this scenario, and not exhausted all the possibilities yet. :D

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

TheCornishman wrote:
Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:07 pm
lilstrip wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:55 pm
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Nauvis-Post-Collapse

new versions uploaded on the portal which were converted to 1.0 and 1.1 respectively
That's fantastic! Thank you so much. I've played over a hundred hours on this scenario, and not exhausted all the possibilities yet. :D
no problem man! Glad to see you appreciate it!

Optymistyk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by Optymistyk »

Are you kidding me, lately I've been playing exclusively either Factorio or Starsector - this is pretty much made for me

lilstrip
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nauvis Post Collapse (16GB ram minimum required)

Post by lilstrip »

lol

then you will love 2.0 when it comes out :)

Post Reply

Return to “Maps and Scenarios”