[posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Place for things which are bugs but we have no idea how to solve them. Things related to hardware, libraries, strange setups, etc.
Post Reply
rideawalrus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:06 pm

[posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by rideawalrus » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:10 am

This happens on all versions through the latest experimental, across multiple games and menus. While the game is running full-screen if I change the video output source on my computer the display stops refreshing, but everything else continues. I can still hear sounds, I can walk around (can hear factories get closer or farther), it still autosaves, but the graphics are frozen. The only way to fix it is to force close the game and reopen. I usually play on a DVI monitor but like to switch to HDMI to a TV. They are the same resolution and are both outputting from an Nvidia gtx 770.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by Loewchen » Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:02 am

Post the log after a session with the issue, see my signature.

rideawalrus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:06 pm

Re: Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by rideawalrus » Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:16 pm

Log with the issue, used force alt-f4 to quit.
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(3.8 KiB) Downloaded 31 times

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by posila » Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:48 pm

Hi, I'd like to clarify - do you switch to the TV or duplicate output to the TV?

The log doesn't contain error I expected it would. Do other DirectX9 games survive this transition? (For example anything using Source engine - Half Life 2, Portal 1/2)

Does it also freeze if you try to force OpenGL rendering? Open Factorio properties in Steam library and set launch options to

Code: Select all

--force-opengl

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by TruePikachu » Wed Jul 05, 2017 7:49 am

posila wrote:(For example anything using Source engine - Half Life 2, Portal 1/2)
If you need something free to use as a test, since you're already on Steam, I'd suggest TF2.

Harkonnen
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:23 am

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by Harkonnen » Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:01 am

You can also try to hit Alt-Enter twice (go fullscreen and back) - might reset something.

rideawalrus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:06 pm

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by rideawalrus » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:56 pm

I am duplicating output to the TV (HDMI), or when I go back to single output to monitor (DVI). It does the same thing with Half Life 2 and Portal 2. I'm not running Factorio in fullscreen, but Half life 2 and portal 2 were in full screen, same results. Using Alt-Enter twice just makes it crash with an unable to create sprites error, and didn't do anything on the other two games since they went out of focus when the problem occurs. It does not happen when I force OpenGL.

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by TruePikachu » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:21 am

Since it happens in other games using DX9, it is likely to be an issue with your video card driver. My suggestion is to force OpenGL if you don't want it to crash, there really isn't anything else that can be done on the Factorio side of things.

User avatar
Ekevoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:26 am

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by Ekevoo » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:13 am

Hi, I don't know if it's related or not, but here goes. My display crashes (with an error message) every time I switch between HDMI output or native laptop display. This is an exclusive switch (I'm only used the two highlighted options from project-menu.png), and the screen resolutions are different.
Attachments
project-menu.png
project-menu.png (223.26 KiB) Viewed 96 times
factorio-current.log
(6.36 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
error-msg.png
error-msg.png (240.46 KiB) Viewed 96 times
Image

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: [posila] Display refresh freezes when video output is changed

Post by TruePikachu » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:05 am

Ekevoo wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:13 am
Hi, I don't know if it's related or not, but here goes. My display crashes (with an error message) every time I switch between HDMI output or native laptop display. This is an exclusive switch (I'm only used the two highlighted options from project-menu.png), and the screen resolutions are different.
That is an unrelated issue, it belongs in a separate thread, but it would be likely to be closed anyway because of the backend rewrite for 0.17.

Post Reply

Return to “1 / 0 magic”