A Basic Config

Place to post guides, observations, things related to modding that are not mods themselves.
Post Reply
CJ5Boss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm
Contact:

A Basic Config

Post by CJ5Boss »

Hello all,
Recently I received a request to make a configuration option for my mod, which adds many QualityOfLife researches to the game. Surprisingly, in my past year of modding, I have never touched this issue.
How would I be able to incorporate this into my mod in a config.lua file? Would I just add the name of the file and "= true;" to the end of it? Or is there something I am missing?
Thanks,
CJ

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7329
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: A Basic Config

Post by bobingabout »

https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Mod_settings

Pretty much tells you everything you need to know.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: A Basic Config

Post by darkfrei »

CJ5Boss wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:45 pm
Surprisingly, in my past year of modding, I have never touched this issue.
How would I be able to incorporate this into my mod in a config.lua file? Would I just add the name of the file and "= true;" to the end of it? Or is there something I am missing?
The best mod is https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Blank/what-fish

CJ5Boss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm
Contact:

Re: A Basic Config

Post by CJ5Boss »

darkfrei wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:26 am
CJ5Boss wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:45 pm
Surprisingly, in my past year of modding, I have never touched this issue.
How would I be able to incorporate this into my mod in a config.lua file? Would I just add the name of the file and "= true;" to the end of it? Or is there something I am missing?
The best mod is https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Blank/what-fish
I checked it out. Assuming this code could work with techs, would I just replace the "fish" entity in the code with the tech name? Or is there something else in this case that I need to do in order to incorporate the tech aspect?

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: A Basic Config

Post by darkfrei »

CJ5Boss wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 6:40 pm
I checked it out. Assuming this code could work with techs, would I just replace the "fish" entity in the code with the tech name? Or is there something else in this case that I need to do in order to incorporate the tech aspect?
Every single parameter you can get with this mod: Info Mod or just find it somewhere in Factorio/data/base/prototypes/

Post Reply

Return to “Modding discussion”