Page 1 of 1

Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:43 pm
by coppercoil
Could someone create a hybrid of lamp and arithmetic combinator? Here is a composite item (taken from wiki) and it looks ugly:

Image

I'd like to have them both in one housing. Arythmetic combinator would calculate the final color in standard way, and lamp would display it in standard way too.
It could look like an ordinary lamp, or maybe somewhat different in 2x2, or maybe both.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 7:07 am
by darkfrei
Remove the collision mask and you can place the combinator under / above any entity.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:34 pm
by darkfrei
coppercoil wrote: Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:43 pm Could someone create a hybrid of lamp and arithmetic combinator?
Try this one: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/LED_arithmetic_combinator

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:23 pm
by coppercoil
darkfrei wrote: Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:34 pm Try this one: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/LED_arithmetic_combinator
This mod arrived quicly :)

Standard lamp also have "Enabled condition", could you add it to the LED? This condition is necessary for large "displays". It should be applied for the combinator result, this is the key moment. By the way, combinator output connections are not neccessary (at least for "regular" displays).

The LED itself looks good, but it partially overlaps if placed near each other, and then its design looks like slightly incomplete. And yes, it has got an extra connection box from the lamp :). I understand in cannot be avoided without significant graphics redesign. How about standard lamp design? It needs input signals only. There also is Inlaid Lamps Extended mod that looks pretty good, maybe you can reuse it.

Nevertheless, solid screens looks better now. I will post a comparison when final adjustments will be made.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 6:36 pm
by darkfrei
coppercoil wrote: Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:23 pm Standard lamp also have "Enabled condition", could you add it to the LED? This condition is necessary for large "displays". It should be applied for the combinator result, this is the key moment. By the way, combinator output connections are not neccessary (at least for "regular" displays).

The LED itself looks good, but it partially overlaps if placed near each other, and then its design looks like slightly incomplete. And yes, it has got an extra connection box from the lamp :). I understand in cannot be avoided without significant graphics redesign. How about standard lamp design? It needs input signals only. There also is Inlaid Lamps Extended mod that looks pretty good, maybe you can reuse it.

Nevertheless, solid screens looks better now. I will post a comparison when final adjustments will be made.
Updated to 0.0.2:
The "enabled condition" is by any input. Send the white color to set it white.
Output connections are hardcoded.
The graphics is now smaller for the 1x1 entity.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:15 pm
by coppercoil
darkfrei wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 6:36 pm Updated to 0.0.2:
Great! I tested new version, it seems everything works fine.
There's only one strange phenomenon which becomes visible when zooming out an array of LEDs: some cells looks diferent, like semitransparent:
LEDs.png
LEDs.png (796.83 KiB) Viewed 3288 times

I also noticed it doesn't work with Six Bit Lamps mod color signals. Is it posible to fix that?

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:26 pm
by mat1k
coppercoil wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:15 pm
darkfrei wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 6:36 pm Updated to 0.0.2:
Great! I tested new version, it seems everything works fine.
There's only one strange phenomenon which becomes visible when zooming out an array of LEDs: some cells looks diferent, like semitransparent:


I also noticed it doesn't work with Six Bit Lamps mod color signals. Is it posible to fix that?
SixBit Lamps changes the small lamps signal_to_color_mapping to use a custom variable of colors instead of the base setting. This mod creates a new copy of the lamps. Most likely before the SixBit mod changes the prototype. Giving this mod an optional dependency of Sixbit Lamps will ensure the SixBit chnages are done prior to the hidden lamp being created.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:32 pm
by mat1k
Changing the dependencies line in info.json to read:

"dependencies": ["base", "? sixbit_lamps"],

Should work.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:07 pm
by darkfrei
mat1k wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:32 pm Changing the dependencies line in info.json to read:

"dependencies": ["base", "? sixbit_lamps"],

Should work.
Done!

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:34 pm
by coppercoil
darkfrei wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:07 pm Done!
Yes, it works. Now we've got black lamp color :)

How about strange LED transparency? Here's how it looks while placing new LED:

LEDTransparent.png
LEDTransparent.png (198.75 KiB) Viewed 3263 times

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:43 pm
by darkfrei
coppercoil wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:34 pm How about strange LED transparency? Here's how it looks while placing new LED:
Internal here is no only arithmetic combinator, but also a hidden lamp. As you note, sometimes the background is higher than lamp :(

The position of triangles looks hardcoded too.

Re: Lamp + Arithmetic combinator = Pixel

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:11 pm
by coppercoil
darkfrei wrote: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:43 pm Internal here is no only arithmetic combinator, but also a hidden lamp. As you note, sometimes the background is higher than lamp :(
I hope it would be possible to find some solution in the near future. I have a lot to do too, before my super duper project will be ready to publish :)

Triangles are not big issue because the are not visible normally. The player just has to be accurate while connecting wires to not mix up input and output. I think it is worth to warn about it in the mod description because I already had a couple malfunctions and could not understant why it's not working.

By the way, maybe it's worth to include this link to the mod description for better undestanding how it works. The reader should know this mod is dedicated for lamp arrays. It would be helpul to include some simple BP for a quick start. I have seen many good mods without proper description, they loses potential users who can't realize that mod could be useful for them.
You can also include the following comparison:
LEDComparison.png
LEDComparison.png (3.04 MiB) Viewed 3228 times
Players also should know that it's impossible to create compact colorful 1x1 cell display in Vanilla, so LED mod is a good thing for that.