[REQUEST] UPS Friendly Nuclear Reactor

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
Krelian
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

[REQUEST] UPS Friendly Nuclear Reactor

Post by Krelian »

Hi, I just made my first megabase, feed by 28 nuclear reactors. Then reached the dreaded UPS hit. I Really dont like the idea of covering half the world in solar panels, so i want to stick with nuclear power. Plus I like the mini game of producing enriched uranium.
The problem (UPS wise) with nuclear reactors is, the heat and fluid mechanics. So I would like a simplified version that avoid that.

The request is rather simple (i think, i have ZERO knowledge of modding, or I would do this myself).

At the most basic but functional level:
A nuclear reactor just like the vanilla one, but that doesnt use fluids, or heat. Just place it, put a nuclear fuel inside, and it generates the Electricity of equivalent vanilla nuclear reactor + turbines would.

Slighty better:
A nuclear reactor, that also comes with a big turbine attached to a side (or one of those nuclear plant chimneys). The cost of the building should be what a reactor + heat exchangers + copper cables + turbines cost in vanilla.

Best version:
Like above, but the end with the turbine/chimney must be placed on water, to force the player to be near water, as in vanilla happens.

All of the above basically only ask nuclear fuel as imput, and output electricity. No fluids, no heat.

As I have seem most people use the 2x2 reactor setting, a single reactor should give 1/4 power of what vanilla 2x2 arrangement gives. In vanilla, the 2x2 + turbines produces 480 MW. So this one should produce 120 MW. The cost to build should be what in vanilla cost 1 reactor + 12 heat exchangers + 21 turbines, and a bunch of heat cables.

Well, that is it.

bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: [REQUEST] UPS Friendly Nuclear Reactor

Post by bobingabout »