Conversion mod: play a terraforming robot

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
Quantumtroll
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Conversion mod: play a terraforming robot

Post by Quantumtroll »

I've only read a couple of guides about modding, but I haven't been able to figure out of my mod idea is possible. I'm a programmer and can probably figure this out eventually, but I figured I would ask the community about feasibility before jumping in head-first, so to speak.

What I would like is to change the game's goal and a few gameplay elements so that the player will play a robot sent to an alien planet to prepare it for human habitation. A colony ship is on its way, and the planet needs to be ready by the time the ship arrives.

Besides this time limit, the main necessary modification is the victory condition — enough "atmospheric transformers" have been active for long enough to make the atmosphere breathable.

My main question, then, is whether it is possible to change the game's victory and failure conditions. A victory that depends on some atmospheric quality counter, and a failure that is an exceeded time limit?

There are secondary aspects to this mod that are may or may not be possible. If you've read this far, I would appreciate comments to the question posed below.

For instance, I dislike the mid- to late-game combat and I would like the atmospheric transformation to simply poison all the enemies to death. Ideally, this would be done with a new form of "pollution", but I haven't seen any discussion of pollution prototypes or modifications to pollution behaviour, so I doubt it's possible. Can you think of another way of handling this?