Page 1 of 2

Version 0.5.0

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:53 pm
by kovarex
Hello,
we just released the version 0.5.0 (experimental)

For those who are using the scenario pack, it would good if you could test the updater, just delete your current scenario pack, and let the updater download it.
Username / password are the same as on the web page.
  • Features:
    • Crafting recipes categorized into groups.
    • Gui styles (changeable by mods).
    • Auto updater for new versions.
    • Train path finding takes two way signals into account.
    • Train Schedule merging when connecting trains.
    • Show what is connected to the electric pole when selected.
    • Train can find the path backward when it has locomotives in the back
    • Choose direction for some entities automatically (semaphore, train statin, pump), when more than one direction is suitable. The R key rotates just between those.
    • Alt info for the cargo wagon contents.
    • Train stop building position is rounded to 2x2 grid to fix the rail grid.
    • Visualisation of guarded rail area by rail signal when building/selecting it.
    • Blinking unplugged icon for generator/solar panel when it is not connected to any machine that can use the electricity, same icon for consumer when not connected to source.
    • Multiple Train Stops for the Train Station (Train stop has gui to change the station it belongs to)
    • Updated recipe tooltip for assembling machine output and technology window.
    • Inserter can pick up to 5 items when moving from inventory to inventory (when researched), this is useful for faster loading/unloading of cargo in train stations.
    • Electric network statistics, accessible by opening the electric pole of the electric network, shows statistics and graphs for different intervals (5s - 50h).
    • God controller (mode without a player)
    • Added sandbox custom scenario (no goal, just building factories).
    • Enemy base generation settings can be set in the map generation gui.
    • Load game gui automatically selects latest save when opened.
    • Added fast and express splitters.
    • Crop Cache for atlas (requires less video memory to run, first load when crop cache is initialized can be slower)
    • Faster loading times (sounds are loaded when needed, faster images loading)
  • Graphics:
    • New gui look.
    • New locomotive graphics.
    • New graphics for mining drills (burner and electric)
    • Use shooting particles when player is shooting.
    • New splitter graphics.
    • New small lamp graphics.
    • Rendering light sources behind the border of the screen (To the maximum distance of 15 tiles).
  • Bugfixes:
    • Fixed bug in internal rail segment structure creation on circular rails. This could have made the save games unusable
    • Fixed speed of logistic robots manager (slowdowns in games with lots of logistic chest + robots)
    • Fixed slow update with big counts of smart chests connected to the circuit network (now instant).
    • Fixed bug in logistic chest unregistration when the "ghost" entity to be built was held above it.
    • Reload fonts when the display is found, this should solve issues of black fonts after switching from different mode/game.
    • Don't allow to do quick transfer (ctrl+click) on entities that are not operable.
    • Rails are not minable when there is train on them.
    • Player selection controller works when player dies (and is respowned by the player port).
    • Correct saving of max updates per frame to the config
    • number instead of true/false.
    • Fix of alt info for chests cleared by the script.
    • Fix of loading saved games with mod items in crafting queue, that are not already present (mod with that item is not present, or the item was removed).
    • Fixed bug of not loadable games due to different mod settings causing to have assembling machines set to recipes with more ingredients than the number of slots of the assembling machine.
    • Fixed object creation in the lua scripts (faster and no memory leaks).
    • Fixed clearing temporary script data (faster).
    • Fixed bug with flickering entity info.
    • Character not connected to player dying doesn't lose the game..
    • Fixed ordering of commands on entity die to allow clone mod.
    • Confirm exit from map editor when map is not saved.
    • Fixed bug of not loadable saves with entities on the edge of the region in some cases.
    • Fixed automatic resizing of script-based gui when text is element or child items are removed.
  • Changes:
    • Larger scale of terrain features.
    • Better movement on transport belts in turns and crossings.
    • Rails recipe changed (made from steel, needs also stone)
    • Locomotive + wagon + rails are more expensive.
    • More random looking enemy base generation.
    • Machines using electricity can have limited maximum input/output flow per second, so accumulators don't recharge/give energy instantly and laser turrets take energy, more continuously.
    • Ambient (music) isn't loaded all at start, but instead streaming realtime while playing, this reduces game starting time and memory requirements.
    • Removed the limit to pickup 1 item per tick when player is picking items.
    • Player picks all items in range when picking items on ground (not just 1 per tick as it was until now)
  • Scripting:
    • Changed the 'orientation' parameter to 'direction' to be consistent, the direction is used for the 4/8 base direction of the entity. Orientation is used for 360° orientation of something.
    • LuaEntity::clearitemsinside and getitemcount works on all entities (hopefully)
    • Added LuaGame::findentitiesfiltered, to find entities of certain type/name faster.
    • Added LuaGame::findnoncollidingposition(name, position, maxperimeter, precision) to quickly find building space.
    • Saving and Loading game from the script (game.load(name) and game.save(name)). Used in tight-spot and transport-belt-maddness.
  • Modding:
    • Mods can modify the gui style of the game.
    • Configurable car trunk size in the entity definition.
    • Measure time spent in scripts divided in individual mods and show in time statistics info (F5).
    • force.resettechnologies now loads new versions of technologies (like before), but it preserves the research and enabled state of technologies, so it is usable in migrations to reload existing technologies that changed.
    • Enabled to have recipe with no prerequisities (just energy). In the crafting gui, it shows Inifnite count craftable of that item (and all items dependent on recipes that are for free).
downloadable at https://www.factorio.com/download/experimental as always

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:55 pm
by Finnboghi
Kovarex, slpwnd and co., you are all gentlemen and scholars.

Looking forward to playing when I get home from work. :D

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:51 pm
by wrtlprnft
The linux .tar.gz is broken:

Code: Select all

$ bin/i386/factorio
/usr/share/factorio/core/backers.json: cannot open file
After linking data/ to /usr/share/factorio the game starts, but this wasn't required before. I guess the archive just contains the wrong variant of the executable.

Otherwise, thanks for the release!

Edit: the updater crashed when trying to download the scenario pack, I'll post a bug report about that.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:54 pm
by Hi-Torque
Thank you guys for all of your hard work! It is very much appreciated!

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:03 pm
by tonberrytoby
That changelog looks pretty much like the forum's wish list. Cool.

The submenues for the crafting should get tooltips.
Also the objects that are almost always used only as intermediate products, like circuits, should get their own submenu.

wrtlprnft wrote:The linux .tar.gz is broken:

Code: Select all

$ bin/i386/factorio
/usr/share/factorio/core/backers.json: cannot open file
After linking data/ to /usr/share/factorio the game starts, but this wasn't required before. I guess the archive just contains the wrong variant of the executable.

Otherwise, thanks for the release!

Edit: the updater crashed when trying to download the scenario pack, I'll post a bug report about that.
I had the same problem with having to link.
The updater didn't crash for me. Except for the old crash that gets avoided by using aoss.

I was annoyed that you can use no cut and paste to enter your password. Also, the webpage allows login with your email while the updater doesn't, also can be annoying.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:32 am
by Aza-Industries
Time to start a new factory. =)

Awesome work guys!

My 4.2 saves are unloadable, lucky I reached my goal of a production line of everything.

I'm loving the new menu and bigger fonts.

EDIT: Loaded up an old 4.1 backup save and wow! The new GUI is amazing, Watching the energy consumption/production page is hypnotising me.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:14 am
by FlamingNx9
I have been waiting man!Thanks!
Now for phase 2...muhahahaha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3ALwKeSEYs

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:04 am
by MF-
For the upside..
The 2nd half of loading is really faster, almost instant.
The first half is still the same, though.
It seems the the SIGBUS on start decreased in probability (0 out of 2 so far)

For the downside.. (unfortunately large, I hope I am the only one)
I dislike the menus and the background (when too much of it is visible during the "sign up with us" dialogue)
Spilled menu buttons without spacing remind me of too many crappy java programs.
The "Factorio" logo in the corner of the background looks wrong. It looks stretched/compressed. Do I need AntiAliasing support for proper displaying?

The accumulator-relay trick that made the network prefer accumulator solar power to coal power does not work anymore (thanks to the in/out limits I guess)
Is there any other way how I could wire my coal power plant as a fail-safe-only power production?

EDIT: Some might be the usual reaction when any website updates it's theme. (The majority always wants the old one back for a while.)
EDIT2: I am getting hurt when I jump off a car while it's in motion :( :D (I actually almost reported that as a bug)

----- cut here (stuff that now has separate threads follows) ------

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=931 Manual crafting progress is almost invisible.
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=932 Faster splitters lack english translation.
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?t=247&f=7 "My" SIGBUS now appears while terminating -> settings are NOT saved -> I have to dismiss updates again and again...
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=876 got worse, now it crashes on load dialog init, not when selecting the directory
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=927 Extreme font size disproportion in the load dialog (world info (tiny) text v.s. world name text(giant))
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=6&t=930 I am not a fan of transparency. I am pretty sure it should be easy to expose the alpha value for configuration.
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=928 Electricity info UI does not fit in the screen when windowed.
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=7&t=929 The -fffast-math issue in the steam engine's UI is still there, more visible, because it's not just "broken lamp in an indicator light"

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:22 am
by MF-
Creepers seem to always come at dusk, is that a new feature, or just a coincidence?

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:10 am
by gr0mpel
awesome new GUI!!
wasnt able to play more than 10 minutes yet, but the first impression is really great :)

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:12 pm
by tonberrytoby
So, I generated around 30 maps with the enemies set to rare and all resources set to frequent.
It was impossible to reach all 4 resources from the starting place without fighting through enemy bases on all of the maps. Most of the maps had even rocket turrets.

Could you please add an option to set a minimum distance from the startpoint for enemy bases?
And while you are at it, could there be some sort of fast start option where you start with more gear? Like in the later campaign levels.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:02 pm
by Candunc
tonberrytoby wrote:So, I generated around 30 maps with the enemies set to rare and all resources set to frequent.
It was impossible to reach all 4 resources from the starting place without fighting through enemy bases on all of the maps. Most of the maps had even rocket turrets.

Could you please add an option to set a minimum distance from the startpoint for enemy bases?
Yes, I noticed this as well. I am between at least 6 bases right now, just keep your distance from them. It seems as the bases get bigger, the more defenses there are scattered about, making actual bases rather than the old 'alien spawnpoint'. It makes it a bit more difficult, but now you have to advance much quicker in order to reach more resources.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:23 pm
by Cerus
Loving the update, only...I can't seem to create a map where the various resources are anywhere near each other, everything is insanely spread out, seemingly no matter what options I choose.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:51 pm
by Hi-Torque
Hello,

I too have been experimenting with various map settings. Like some of the guys above, even the rare setting gives you more enemies than in the previous version.

Also, I have had a difficult time generating a map where all resources were within a screen or two of each other at maximum zoom out. This would be several hundred tiles of belts...I get these maps in any configuration of segment size/frequency etc.

Nevertheless, I am immensely enjoying the new GUI and graphics.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:11 pm
by slpwnd
Sorry for the complications guys.

I have generated couple of testing maps (like 15 or so). The setting were default and the enemy bases were set to rare or very rare. More than half of them were playable (enemies reasonably far away and all four resources within reach). However a bit of luck is needed.

The map generator has a minimal hardcoded distance for the enemy bases from the player spawning position. At the moment this is set to 100 but it should probably be higher. Also the enemy bases frequency / size increases slightly with the distance form the starting position.

We will soften the settings for enemy base generation for the 0.5.1 bugfix release (larger minimal distance and bit lower frequency). The thing with basic resources being present close to the player starting location has been brought up couple of times already. It is a good point. Running around searching for resources is not much fun. We will add a special small boost to resource appearance probability close to the player spawning location for 0.5.1 for these as well.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:33 pm
by SilverWarior
Quick note to those who use more advanced firewal protections in "Interactive mode" where you are being asked to decide to either allow or deny any new detected internet conection.
When I upgraded Factorio to version 0.5.0 today and tried to login through Factorio using my username and password Factorio noted me that login process was unsucsesfull. I noticed that my firewall (Eset Smart Security) hasn't noted me that Factorio even tried to establish internet conection. I gues this is due to the way how Factorio tries to conect to the internet.
Anywhay I hat to manually add Factorio.exe to trusted aplication which can form internet conections for me being able to login within the game and check for updates. After that I had no problems.

Unles you count the fact that Factorio didn't figured out that old scenario pack is already obsolete and should be updated with new one.
Yes I read the instructions in the first post bout the need to manually delete old scenario pack folder but I still gave it a try.

The first thing that cught my mind with this expiriment is that Factorio didn't even ofered me the ability to download new scenario pack until I deleted old one.
The second thing that caught my mind is that when I clicked on od scenario pack entry in mods section inside Factorio it showed that everything is OK even thou there is different version of game core present in Factorio 0.5.0. Why is that? Shouldn't Factorio check to see if base pack is of corect version needed by scenario pack?


Anywhay I'll go and play Factiorio now and post my gameplay insights later on.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:38 pm
by Hi-Torque
Good Evening,

There is certainly no reason to apologize for an experimental alpha. I hope with our input you guys can finish crafting a game we will all enjoy playing for a very long time. I look forward to further updates with great enthusiasm. A bit off topic, but I am so pleased with Factorio, I have been playing it to the exclusion of nearly every single game I own. It has also completely disrupted my hobby of building paper models...An absolute dream of a game!

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:41 pm
by SilverWarior
slpwnd wrote:The map generator has a minimal hardcoded distance for the enemy bases from the player spawning position. At the moment this is set to 100 but it should probably be higher. Also the enemy bases frequency / size increases slightly with the distance form the starting position.
Why not make this also adjustable like other parameters.
slpwnd wrote:The thing with basic resources being present close to the player starting location has been brought up couple of times already. It is a good point. Running around searching for resources is not much fun. We will add a special small boost to resource appearance probability close to the player spawning location for 0.5.1 for these as well.
I don't know how your map algorithm works but why not trying to make it so that resource fileds which are closer to the spawn points are usually smaller and closer together but the resource fields which are further away are larger and somwheat more spread out between each other.
This will alow easy way to find all of the resources close by but force him to spread out to be able to gather larger quantities of theese resources.

Now without knowing how your map generator algorithm works I can't give you any more detailed information as how to achieve this. But if you are wiling to share that infor with me on PM I would try to help you out with this as best I could.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:51 pm
by zlosynus
It would be really nice to be able to have custom map generators in lua for example, even if they would be slower. Then nicer levels could be achieved.

Re: Version 0.5.0

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:31 pm
by ficolas
As in every update, me asking for the modding changes x)
* Mods can modify the gui style of the game.
How?
Can this be made by the lua script for different GUIs or just in the begining for all the GUIs?
Because it would be awesome to have a smartphone-like frame arround the PDA item, or an electric circuhit as the background for the soldering iron GUI. (Something new coming in some update of the F-Mod)