Page 1 of 1

Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:04 am
by FactorioBot
Bugfixes
  • Fixed desync related to non-deterministic transport belt merging order when multiple merges happen in the same tick. (79617)
  • Fixed alignment of number input entries.
  • Fixed that undo didn't remove deconstruction task to remove things in the way. (75923)
  • Fixed stray tooltip bug in the map generator window. (76640)
  • Fixed of saving control inputs related to mouse buttons 4+. (86285)
  • Fixed minor clipping issue. (86286)
  • Fixed that train fuel request were unreliable. (77805)
Gui
  • Windows with item and count to be selected have count/confirm buttons disabled when item is not yet selected.
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
  • Added an interface option to show both crafting and logistic windows in the character screen.
Use the automatic updater if you can (check experimental updates in other settings) or download full installation at http://www.factorio.com/download/experimental.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:35 pm
by Natoler
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
I want to change the right end of the notched slider to infinity or 48 stacks.
I moved the slider all the way to the right and made a lot of requests.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:48 pm
by Meddleman
Running 18.34 here, on latest beta in Steam.
The Flat GUI for Character/Logistics tabs isn't really implemented. This is running on a pre-18.34 save, so it might have to do with that. No mods.

Video is only 1.88MB in size, so its fairly mobile data friendly.
FlatGUI Not Really Implemented.mp4
(1.89 MiB) Downloaded 125 times

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:50 pm
by boskid
Meddleman wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:48 pm
Running 18.34 here, on latest beta in Steam.
The Flat GUI for Character/Logistics tabs isn't really implemented. This is running on a pre-18.34 save, so it might have to do with that. No mods.

Video is only 1.88MB in size, so its fairly mobile data friendly.

FlatGUI Not Really Implemented.mp4
It is intended to have `crafting` and `logistics` side by side, without logistics tab it works as always.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:58 pm
by Meddleman
Oof, my bad. Completely misunderstood the implementation :D

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:57 pm
by Episode922
Meddleman wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:58 pm
Oof, my bad. Completely misunderstood the implementation :D
Same here. i wish to have the old interface back.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:17 pm
by valneq
Episode922 wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:57 pm
Meddleman wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:58 pm
Oof, my bad. Completely misunderstood the implementation :D
Same here. i wish to have the old interface back.
What do you mean by "old interface"?
Whether or not you have crafting and logistics side by side now is an interface option. You can set it to your preference.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:31 am
by Episode922
valneq wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:17 pm
Episode922 wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:57 pm
Meddleman wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:58 pm
Oof, my bad. Completely misunderstood the implementation :D
Same here. i wish to have the old interface back.
What do you mean by "old interface"?
Whether or not you have crafting and logistics side by side now is an interface option. You can set it to your preference.
I mean when logistic and trash were betwen inventory and crafting panels.
For me there is a lot of click or keystroke useless. I think the old interface allowed me to be more efficient.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:55 am
by conn11
The recent changes to GUI are really refinig it. Well done.
Thou the term „flat character GUI“ is a bit confusing, maybe expanded character GUI would be more intuitive.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:29 pm
by ignatio
FactorioBot wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:04 am
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
Unfortunately I have to say this was a rather unpleasant change - it makes the sliders practically unusable. E.g. while processing units stacks in lots of 100, they are really expensive items. Why would I want to set a full stack in every requester chest when 5-10 is plenty enough to keep the chest supplied?

Another case is quickly sliding up the requests to "infinity" (either in the player logistics requests or requester chests) to suck up all the items in the network. With the old slider the right end was 10k, which is almost always enough for that. The new sliders are often much lower, and again I'm forced to manual entry instead.

I actually can't think of any situation where I think the stack size is relevant when I want to configure an item count. Why was this introduced?

Please reconsider this, or at least make it configurable. The old logarithmic sliders were really nice to nudge the count by a meaningful step regardless if it's single digits or in the thousands.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:15 am
by gloin
ignatio wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:29 pm
FactorioBot wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:04 am
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
Unfortunately I have to say this was a rather unpleasant change - it makes the sliders practically unusable. E.g. while processing units stacks in lots of 100, they are really expensive items. Why would I want to set a full stack in every requester chest when 5-10 is plenty enough to keep the chest supplied?

Another case is quickly sliding up the requests to "infinity" (either in the player logistics requests or requester chests) to suck up all the items in the network. With the old slider the right end was 10k, which is almost always enough for that. The new sliders are often much lower, and again I'm forced to manual entry instead.

I actually can't think of any situation where I think the stack size is relevant when I want to configure an item count. Why was this introduced?

Please reconsider this, or at least make it configurable. The old logarithmic sliders were really nice to nudge the count by a meaningful step regardless if it's single digits or in the thousands.
The stack size is highly relevant when setting personal logistic requests. I'd say that the majority of my usage of the slider comes from constantly changing the interface requests depending on the task that I'm doing. Having stack sizes easily changeable really makes this so much easier because you'd always want a complete stack of something.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:39 am
by 5thHorseman
gloin wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:15 am
ignatio wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:29 pm
FactorioBot wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:04 am
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
Please reconsider this, or at least make it configurable. The old logarithmic sliders were really nice to nudge the count by a meaningful step regardless if it's single digits or in the thousands.
The stack size is highly relevant when setting personal logistic requests. I'd say that the majority of my usage of the slider comes from constantly changing the interface requests depending on the task that I'm doing. Having stack sizes easily changeable really makes this so much easier because you'd always want a complete stack of something.
I agree. I tend to want one of 4 things in my requests: 0, 1 stack, X stacks, or infinity. I never want "10,000". If I wanted 10,000 I'd want a full chest and infinity works for that.

For chests, when I want a specific number that number is what you get when you right/left click an assembler to a request chest.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:21 am
by conn11
5thHorseman wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:39 am
gloin wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:15 am
ignatio wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:29 pm
FactorioBot wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:04 am
  • Logistic request related item and count windows now have notched sliders for 0 to 10 stacks selection. Different numbers that are not multiplies of stacks can be still written into the textboxes.
Please reconsider this, or at least make it configurable. The old logarithmic sliders were really nice to nudge the count by a meaningful step regardless if it's single digits or in the thousands.
The stack size is highly relevant when setting personal logistic requests. I'd say that the majority of my usage of the slider comes from constantly changing the interface requests depending on the task that I'm doing. Having stack sizes easily changeable really makes this so much easier because you'd always want a complete stack of something.
I agree. I tend to want one of 4 things in my requests: 0, 1 stack, X stacks, or infinity. I never want "10,000". If I wanted 10,000 I'd want a full chest and infinity works for that.

For chests, when I want a specific number that number is what you get when you right/left click an assembler to a request chest.
Inventory slots are limited, so it dosen‘t make much sense (in most cases) to have anything but n stacks of items. Therefore the update is highly conveniant. requesting any specific number is still possible.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:06 pm
by Hiladdar
Sliders are nice, but even for personal logistics I will set some numbers like 48, if I want a stack of something and the item stacks to 50. Likewise I will use numbers such as 90, or 180. Reason for that, is I want there to be room in the stack to pick up one or two items, and not have a second stack.

Large numbers, in my case beyond 5k, I do use, but it is very infrequently, for when I want to control how much of a particular product is in a specific base. As long as I can enter those numbers in manually I am ok.

Based on how I play, my recommendation is for the slider setting to be between zero and about 10k, with the players having the ability "fat finger" manually enter other values.

Hiladdar

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:35 pm
by ignatio
conn11 wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:21 am
Inventory slots are limited, so it dosen‘t make much sense (in most cases) to have anything but n stacks of items.
True, it happens that slots is a factor for personal inventory and train wagons. I don't think it's most cases though - I most often twiddle item levels in requester chests and inserters that insert into chests, and the slots are practically never constrained then.

For personal inventory I certainly don't request a whole stack of things like speed/productivity modules 2 or 3. That would starve the factory for a long time - I've got much better things to do with those raw materials. Even things like engine units and electric engines are relatively too expensive for full stacks when the player first gets them, not to mention flying robot frames.

Also, it often worked fine to select full stacks with the old sliders, it's only that you e.g. couldn't slide directly to 3 stacks of an item with stack size 50.

I wouldn't mind some extra notches in the slider for full stacks, but it shouldn't take away the single and double digit notches (or the final "gimme everything" notch).

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 4:37 pm
by silasary
Because robots frequently deliver in weird quantities - groups of 8 come to mind - I frequently find that if I request a full stack of something, I usually end up with 2-3 more than what I requested, consuming a second inventory slot for a tiny amount of overflow.

My solution to this is to request slightly less than a stack (45, or 95, for example), so that if I have a couple extra, I'm still only using one inventory slot.

Re: Version 0.18.34

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:57 pm
by Shingen
most of the time, if i want to have about a full stack of something, i set the requests to something like from 80% or 90% of a stack size to one stack, so when bots deliver slightly more than the minimum, neither i get another stack, nor they have to fly all the way back to put it to some random storage chest that already had some of those.
overall that allowed range is set to minimize bots flying around trying to keep the perfect set value, because vanilla charging is crap, and once bots start backing up at one of the roboports it's a nuisance to solve