Version 0.15.17

Information about releases and roadmap.

Version 0.15.17

Postby FactorioBot » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:10 pm

Graphics

  • Inserters in high resolution; normal resolution inserters are unchanged.

Bugfixes

  • Fixed some inconsistencies in programmable speaker gui (48593)
  • Fixed that headless mode wiped out controls section of config file (47950)
  • Fixed that detached roboports (e.g. after blackout) would not reset circuit network readings on number of robots (48915)
  • Fixed that active blueprint/deconstruction-planner selection did not reset when switching between game and map (48815)
  • Fixed AltGr behavior with special characters (47040)
  • Fixed that mining bar would steal mouse focus (46999)
  • Fixed the /evolution command would underflow when showing negative pollution values. (48786)
  • Fixed crash when mod-list failed to save when exiting the game. (47371)
  • Fixed game would not save at all if generating preview picture failed. (47342)
  • Fixed desync related to driving vehicles. (48826)
  • Fixed unnecessary quotes in programmable speaker note translations (48839)
  • Fixed that the bonus GUI wouldn't fit on screen with a large amount of modded content. (48755)
  • Fixed crash when closing public server. (48889)
  • Fixed that filter inserters lost their filter in tightspot campaign. (48490)
  • Fixed empty space would be rendered if glyph was missing in current font. (38937)
  • Fixed that resizing the game window while catching up after joining a multiplayer game would leave the map blank. (48947)
  • Fixed issue and desync when disconnecting one wire color of an entity connected to 2 wire colors. (48876)
  • Fixed a multiplayer crash that would happen when a player left whilst uploading their blueprint library and then rejoined the same server. (47820)
  • Fixed another issue that prevented spawners from spawning. (48931)
  • Fixed game would fail to load if max-texture-size was too low. (48985)

Modding

  • Moved the "mod-settings.json" file so it now resides in the "mods" subfolder allowing it to work with the mod-directory command line option.
  • Added support for virtual-signal migrations.
  • Inserters now require the inserter prototype property "allow_custom_vectors" to be true before they allow setting custom pickup/drop locations.
  • Font paths were moved from locale cfg to locale info.json (see core/en/info.json).
  • Changed default value of hand_length in inserter prototype to 0.75, to make inserter shadow look nicer.

Scripting

  • Fixed crash when teleporting character entities while in vehicles. (45519)
  • Fixed that character.character_maximum_following_robot_count_bonus didn't work. (48837)
  • Fixed that /help for lua commands wouldn't do parameter substitution correctly. (47382)
  • Added LuaEntityPrototype::resource_categories, fluid, and pumping_speed read.
  • Added LuaEntity::previous_recipe read.
  • Added LuaEntityPrototype::stack/allow_custom_vectors read.
  • Changed LuaEntityPrototype::speed to also work for rolling stocks.


Use the automatic updater if you can (check experimental updates in other settings) or download full installation at http://www.factorio.com/download/experimental.
User avatar
FactorioBot
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Gergely » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:17 pm

FactorioBot wrote:
Graphics

  • Inserters in high resolution; normal resolution inserters are unchanged.

Finally!!! :D

Edit: They look so great, I can't even remember how they used to look like!
20170601153124_1 clip.jpg
20170601153124_1 clip.jpg (143.5 KiB) Viewed 9470 times
Last edited by Gergely on Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:38 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Gergely
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:31 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby bobingabout » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:19 pm

FactorioBot wrote:
  • Inserters now require the inserter prototype property "allow_custom_vectors" to be true before they allow setting custom pickup/drop locations.

That's probably going to be a mod breaker for me.
(I'll probably fix it by making a loop in data-updates to add it to all inserters)
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby posila » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:23 pm

bobingabout wrote:(I'll probably fix it by making a loop in data-updates to add it to all inserters)

That's reasonable solution :)
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby ZlovreD » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:02 pm

posila wrote:
bobingabout wrote:(I'll probably fix it by making a loop in data-updates to add it to all inserters)

That's reasonable solution :)

Reasonable solution is making this option is "true" by default (even if it missing), and set it to "false" for all vanilla inserters.
Another modofocatio to make live harder, like it was with tanker rotations.
User avatar
ZlovreD
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:07 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby posila » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:14 pm

ZlovreD wrote:Reasonable solution is making it "true" by default (even if it missing), which tooks all non-vanilla inserters.
Another modding to make live harder, like it was with tanker rotations.

I was about to explain how this was done to fix a bug where importing blueprint string with modded vanilla inserters to vanilla game would make it possible to have inserters with arbitrary pickup/drop target ... and then I realized you are right, we could have defaulted it to true and set it to false for vanilla inserters explicitly. So, it is another mistake on our part. Interestingly, both these changes were done by a dev who has the biggest contribution to the modding API in the last two years.
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Aeternus » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:52 pm

You could still do that for the next update :)
Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:10 am

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby basementjack » Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:40 pm

Team Factorio/Wube, you are the best of the best!

So exciting to see all this progress!
basementjack
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:31 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby posila » Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:51 pm

Aeternus wrote:You could still do that for the next update :)

We will ... and as it happens, it might be even today :)
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby basementjack » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:01 pm

fired up .17 during lunch to check out the new inserters, and the game has frozen on me. (Mac user, spinning beachball, no mods. no multiplayer.)

Action:
Load saved game, zoom in as far as possible, admire inserter, walk around, crash.
Tried a third time and didn't change zoom or position, just stood there, and it didn't crash.

There seems to be the possibility that it's tied to me highlighting the robo port, then a logistics network chest.

Screenshot attached. - the mac beachballs, factorio uses about 150% cpu, OSX shows it as non-responsive, all on screen activity freezes.

Here's a link to a screen recording video if anyone wants to see what I did just prior. https://youtu.be/xwYovn_gls0

Quick note to other mac users who experience this:
If you try to revert back to 15.16 and get an error "this application is damaged" - You may be able to resolve it on MacOS 10.12 by typing sudo xattr -cr /Applications/factorio.app in terminal.
Attachments
2017-06-01_15-26-08.jpg
2017-06-01_15-26-08.jpg (299.86 KiB) Viewed 6629 times
Last edited by basementjack on Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.
basementjack
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:31 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby wqcoleman » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:19 pm

sadly, this is the third post, sorry for the redundancy.

Wasn't sure why this wasn't posting. However, when I replaced the binary and ran the test again, I got a dialogue asking to send the factorio log along with then save. So, this is both attached.
Attachments
save_material.zip
(13.43 MiB) Downloaded 22 times
wqcoleman
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:06 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Loewchen » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:27 pm

wqcoleman wrote:sadly, this is the third post, sorry for the redundancy.

Wasn't sure why this wasn't posting. However, when I replaced the binary and ran the test again, I got a dialogue asking to send the factorio log along with then save. So, this is both attached.

This is the wrong place for that, make a bug report after reading the How to report a bug topic please.
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Mooncat » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:50 pm

posila wrote:
ZlovreD wrote:Reasonable solution is making it "true" by default (even if it missing), which tooks all non-vanilla inserters.
Another modding to make live harder, like it was with tanker rotations.

I was about to explain how this was done to fix a bug where importing blueprint string with modded vanilla inserters to vanilla game would make it possible to have inserters with arbitrary pickup/drop target ... and then I realized you are right, we could have defaulted it to true and set it to false for vanilla inserters explicitly. So, it is another mistake on our part. Interestingly, both these changes were done by a dev who has the biggest contribution to the modding API in the last two years.


But doesn't that mean we still need to set it to false in order to avoid that bug if we don't use custom pickup/drop locations? (And does custom locations mean changing them in runtime?)
If so, I prefer leaving it as is and let the mods break in obvious way, rather then leaving the problem behind silently and hoping that no body will encounter the bug. :geek:
User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Nexarius » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:58 pm

Gergely wrote:Edit: They look so great, I can't even remember how they used to look like!


The inserters look pretty good but why did you move the base of them down?
Image
Nexarius
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 7:34 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Martinowitsch » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:30 pm

The start of the game used to load in under 60 seconds, now it needs about 5 minutes to load mostly graphics. :(

The train freight option for liquids is still missing :(
Martinowitsch
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Saxony

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby lovely_santa » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:02 pm

Martinowitsch wrote:The start of the game used to load in under 60 seconds, now it needs about 5 minutes to load mostly graphics. :(


I don't mind waiting a bit more to start up the game, once i'm in, i play around 10 hours :lol: :oops: What's 5 minutes in 10 hours, like 1/120th? nothing!

Keep up the good work, i realy like each HD sprite already, just the red inserter is too bright in my opinion towards the rest of the game, maybe that will change when assemblers get HD sprites as they may become brighter too? At least the contrast with the green ground is a bit too much...
User avatar
lovely_santa
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:41 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby kovarex » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:19 pm

Martinowitsch wrote:The start of the game used to load in under 60 seconds, now it needs about 5 minutes to load mostly graphics. :(

The train freight option for liquids is still missing :(

That sounds weird, it takes just few seconds to me. Aren't you using bambillion of mods and HR?
kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6313
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Location: Prague

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby Martinowitsch » Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:07 am

kovarex wrote:
Martinowitsch wrote:The start of the game used to load in under 60 seconds, now it needs about 5 minutes to load mostly graphics. :(

The train freight option for liquids is still missing :(

That sounds weird, it takes just few seconds to me. Aren't you using bambillion of mods and HR?


no mods, this evening will try to reset my options to standard and will test it renew, have no idea if i put any option with hr
Martinowitsch
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Saxony

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby lovely_santa » Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:02 am

kovarex wrote:
Martinowitsch wrote:The start of the game used to load in under 60 seconds, now it needs about 5 minutes to load mostly graphics. :(

The train freight option for liquids is still missing :(

That sounds weird, it takes just few seconds to me. Aren't you using bambillion of mods and HR?


I've timed it, to load the vanilla game on normal it takes 1 minute and 15 seconds (avarage of 3) and to load the high resolution it takes 5 minutes 39 (avarage of 5)

I think it's a lot longer to load the HR, even when not everything is in high resolution yet... I don't think I have a crapy computer, as I run a decent base at 60ups without issues (read as, I try to make a megabase)
User avatar
lovely_santa
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:41 pm

Re: Version 0.15.17

Postby bobingabout » Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:47 am

Even for me, loading takes about a minute with HR turned on.

And I have a M.2 SSD primary, and a WD Black HDD secondary (Factorio is on the HDD)
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Next

Return to Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Saba23, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests