Page 1 of 2

/c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:10 pm
by binbinhfr
Hi,

it seems that the command

Code: Select all

/c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} 
does not capture any GUI.

I tried also the SSU mod that gave the same result.
(viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297)

Could it be a problem with my graphic settings, or is it a general problem ?

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:11 pm
by Klonan
Thanks for the report

The 'show_gui' shows the alt mode gui, not the user gui

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Sun May 29, 2016 11:29 pm
by binbinhfr
ah ok, because in the doc:
http://lua-api.factorio.com/0.12.34/Lua ... screenshot

it seems that there is also a
show_entity_info :: boolean (optional): Include entity info (alt-mode)

which is different than
show_gui :: boolean (optional): Include game GUI in the screenshot

"game GUI" sounded like the whole GUI (quick bar, top bar, minimap, etc...)

Could you show me a screencopy with these kind of infos, because I do not really understand what it refers to.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 5:52 pm
by binbinhfr
Is there a way to make a screencopy with the current user GUI (current windows, bars, etc...) ?
I mean, from factorio, because I can still press "printscreen" on my keyboard. ;)

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 6:29 pm
by Klonan
How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 7:46 pm
by binbinhfr
Klonan wrote:How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?
take_screenshot{player=…, position=…, resolution=…, zoom=…, path=…, show_gui=…, show_entity_info=…}

I saw a "player" field, and as there is also a "position" field, I was supposing that the "player" field was not used to get the player position, but to identify the player's gui, and that the "show_gui" would do what it sounds like ...

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 8:10 pm
by Klonan
binbinhfr wrote:
Klonan wrote:How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?
take_screenshot{player=…, position=…, resolution=…, zoom=…, path=…, show_gui=…, show_entity_info=…}

I saw a "player" field, and as there is also a "position" field, I was supposing that the "player" field was not used to get the player position, but to identify the player's gui, and that the "show_gui" would do what it sounds like ...
well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 3:25 pm
by binbinhfr
Klonan wrote:well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow
Hi Klonan, any news ?

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 3:36 pm
by Klonan
binbinhfr wrote:
Klonan wrote:well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow
Hi Klonan, any news ?
The only thing i have found which the 'Show_Gui" shows is the entity gui, such as the out of fuel icon
Image

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:13 pm
by DaveMcW
Steps to reproduce:

1. Install Factorio 0.11.22.
2. In console type: /c game.takescreenshot{showgui=true}
3. Look at the screenshot, it includes the entire user interface

4. Install Factorio 0.12.34.
5. In console type: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true}
6. Look at the screenshot, it has no user interface.

I don't have access to any earlier 0.12 versions, so I can't pinpoint where it broke.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:25 pm
by binbinhfr
Ok, I do not have access to these old versions, but what you say is making sense.
So I hope this will be recorded as something to correct.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:30 pm
by Rseding91
Why do you want the take_screenshot to include the player's GUI?

At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:37 pm
by binbinhfr
Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:38 pm
by DaveMcW
If show_gui is no longer supported, it should be removed from the documentation.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:43 pm
by Rseding91
binbinhfr wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.
BAH! you dodged the important part - why do you want it?

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 9:37 pm
by binbinhfr
Sssssecret... answer by PM. :o

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 9:41 pm
by sparr
Rseding91 wrote:
binbinhfr wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.
BAH! you dodged the important part - why do you want it?
Because the contents of my hotbar or the minimap or some text previously printed to the console by a mod could be relevant to what I'm trying to illustrate with the screenshot.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:49 pm
by binbinhfr
the author of SSU (screenshot utility) confirms that something was changed...
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297&p=164529#p164529

it could be really nice to revert to previous behaviour.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:43 pm
by matjojo
binbinhfr wrote:the author of SSU (screenshot utility) confirms that something was changed...
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297&p=164529#p164529

it could be really nice to revert to previous behaviour.

To fix this problem I searched through all the changelogs and found no documentation on a change in this department, really weird. I have a feeling I already filed a bug report on this once, and that I did get a fix, but I can't find it.

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:49 pm
by Zeblote
Rseding91 wrote:Other player's GUIs aren't available.
What? They why is the modding api so limited?