Small documentation improvement requests

Place to ask discuss and request the modding support of Factorio. Don't request mods here.
User avatar
JohnTheCF
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by JohnTheCF »

https://wiki.factorio.com/Types/TileTransitions
Mandatory properties are not always mandatory and their optionality is actually determined by bool property. They are mandatory by default though. Other optional properties have no description at all (with rare exceptions) and it's not clear what _effect_map and _weights do, as well as can you set "<property>" and "<property>_mask".

User avatar
JohnTheCF
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by JohnTheCF »

https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Til ... ransitions
There is a little typo in property description, space is missing between "and" and "transition_group2"

curiosity
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by curiosity »


User avatar
JohnTheCF
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by JohnTheCF »

https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Tutorial
"trigger" property is listed in table of contents, but not in mandatory or optional properties section.

-> That was an old value from the cache, I cleared the page cache so it should be fixed.

User avatar
snouz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by snouz »

Not 100% sure it belongs to that page, but I can confirm settings are accessible in data.raw (from the setting stage at least). But it's nowhere to be seen in https://wiki.factorio.com/Data.raw

example in settings-updates.lua:
data.raw["bool-setting"]["Schall-VS-XL-t2-enable"].order = "1"
correctly moves the setting to the beginning.
Graphically contributed to : Bio Industries (soon) | Warehousing | MFerrari's mods | Brevven's mods | Bob Artisanal Reskins | Mining Drones | Teleporters | Emoji signals

User avatar
JohnTheCF
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Small documentation improvement requests

Post by JohnTheCF »

Some StyleSpecification extensions have type string in table on StyleSpecification page, but are marked <abstract> on individual pages. So far I've noticed:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Types/EmptyWi ... cification
https://wiki.factorio.com/Types/ScrollB ... cification
https://wiki.factorio.com/Types/StyleWi ... cification

Post Reply

Return to “Modding interface requests”