next_rotation for entities

Place to ask discuss and request the modding support of Factorio. Don't request mods here.
Post Reply
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

next_rotation for entities

Post by darkfrei »

Is it possible to make the same thing like it was done in hazard concrete? Just add next_rotation with the next entity.

Example:

Code: Select all

prot_type["entity-N"].next_rotation = "entity-E"
prot_type["entity-E"].next_rotation = "entity-S"
prot_type["entity-S"].next_rotation = "entity-W"
prot_type["entity-W"].next_rotation = "entity-N"

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5709
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: next_rotation for entities

Post by mrvn »

And can we then make (mod) e.g. chemical plants that have 8 rotations, 4 like now and 4 with the 2 fluid inputs swapped?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: next_rotation for entities

Post by Rseding91 »

I don't see the utility in this. If an entity has rotation support then it already works to rotate it and if it doesn't have rotation support it doesn't have rotation support on purpose.

Additionally it would add confusion as to which should be used: what if something with rotation had a next rotation in the prototype as well - when would which be used over the other?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Staplergun
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: next_rotation for entities

Post by Staplergun »

It can be handled in a similar manner to the minable.result or placeable_by where it overrides default behavior if present in the prototype.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: next_rotation for entities

Post by darkfrei »

Rseding91 wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:47 pm
I don't see the utility in this. If an entity has rotation support then it already works to rotate it and if it doesn't have rotation support it doesn't have rotation support on purpose.
Now I can place left-side and right-side hazard concrete with the same item.

I want actually the same, but for entities. For example placeble cliffs or place furnaces 2x2 or 3x3, using the same item.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding interface requests”