LuaPlayer::can_place_entity

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

LuaPlayer::can_place_entity

Post by Bilka »

surface.can_place_entity does not account for the player build range. It would be nice if there was player.can_place_entity which would account both for buildability and player range (including whether the player is on the right surface). If that is not possible, it would be nice to be able to find out if the player is in range to place an entity without creating the entity first.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: LuaPlayer::can_place_entity

Post by Klonan »

Bilka wrote:surface.can_place_entity does not account for the player build range. It would be nice if there was player.can_place_entity which would account both for buildability and player range (including whether the player is on the right surface). If that is not possible, it would be nice to be able to find out if the player is in range to place an entity without creating the entity first.
You can just check the distance is within the players build_distance:
http://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/LuaC ... d_distance

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Post by Bilka »

Klonan wrote:You can just check the distance is within the players build_distance:
http://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/LuaC ... d_distance
We are currently doing that (36 is the square of the default build distance)

Code: Select all

function inrange(position, myplayer)
  return ((position[1]-myplayer.position.x)^2+(position[2]-myplayer.position.y)^2) < 36
end