[1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
User avatar
kirazy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

[1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by kirazy »

Image

The light can be omitted, set to zero intensity and size, use_fuel_glow_color can be set to false, but the light gonna light. In color.

working_light_picture seems to respect the use_fuel_glow_color setting, but the light is stubbornly ignoring everything.

Removing fuel_glow_color from each of the fuel-cell prototypes however brings this result:
Image

Please to let me turn off the area light, I want nice colored new lights. :C

User avatar
kirazy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by kirazy »

The Boiler prototype similarly creates a light (even if you kill the light in the energy_source definition) so long as the fuel has a fuel-glow color set.
Image

Is this a bug or do I need to make an interface request so that we can use the 1.1 light layers/properties to achieve the vanilla 1.1 behavior with lights tinted by fuel color?

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5148
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by Klonan »

This is probably the 'light_flicker' of the burner energy source,

For instance we turned it off in the nuclear reactor like this:

Code: Select all

    energy_source =
    {
      type = "burner",
      fuel_category = "nuclear",
      effectivity = 1,
      fuel_inventory_size = 1,
      burnt_inventory_size = 1,
      light_flicker =
      {
        color = {0,0,0},
        minimum_intensity = 0.7,
        maximum_intensity = 0.95
      }
    },
The color of the light flicker is set to {0,0,0}, so that the intensity is still available for the working visualization

For now I will move this to modding help

User avatar
kirazy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by kirazy »

Klonan wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:55 am
This is probably the 'light_flicker' of the burner energy source
Image

light_flicker is turned off the same as in your code example with color = {0, 0, 0}.

There is no light property defined.

use_fuel_glow_color = true.

default_fuel_glow_color = green, basically.

I would expect with this configuration to have a reactor that doesn't have the general area light, but this is what I see:



The same is true for the energy source of the boiler (having had previous experience trying to kill the ambient light with Angel's blast furnace).

Am I missing something?

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5148
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by Klonan »

kirazy wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:35 pm
light_flicker is turned off the same as in your code example with color = {0, 0, 0}.

There is no light property defined.

use_fuel_glow_color = true.

default_fuel_glow_color = green, basically.
You set the flicker color to {0,0,0}, and then you overrode it with the fuel glow color,
So the color will then not be {0,0,0}

User avatar
kirazy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by kirazy »

Klonan wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:50 pm
kirazy wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:35 pm
light_flicker is turned off the same as in your code example with color = {0, 0, 0}.

There is no light property defined.

use_fuel_glow_color = true.

default_fuel_glow_color = green, basically.
You set the flicker color to {0,0,0}, and then you overrode it with the fuel glow color,
So the color will then not be {0,0,0}
...So how do I make the energy_source light_flicker ignore the fuel_glow_color property? Or am I stuck having ambient glows?

Edit: I want it for the working_light, I don't want it for the energy_source.

User avatar
kirazy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] Reactor prototype ignores light settings

Post by kirazy »

Ah, got it. You have to zero out the light size. You can't zero out the intensity, because then you lose the flicker effect.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”