Page 1 of 1

Can I extend the train stop / locomotive dialog?

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:20 pm
by mrvn
I want to improve trains. For that I want to add a few new configuration options to the train stop dialog and to the train schedule. The question is: Can I do that cleanly?

The train station and train schedule dialogs can be opened by clicking on the station entity. That generates an on_gui_opened event. Same if you open them by clicking on a train in the train station or a station on the trains map. So i do get an event now matter how the respective dialogs get opened.

But how do I get access to the original vanilla gui elements so I can add to them? Or do I have to re-implement the whole dialog from scratch adding my own minimap/camera views for all trains heading to a station and such?

Re: Can I extend the train stop / locomotive dialog?

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:29 pm
by DaveMcW
mrvn wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:20 pm
Or do I have to re-implement the whole dialog from scratch
Yes.

An alternative would be to display a button whenever the train gui is opened, and the user clicks the button to get the extended options.