How to see errors and logs?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
hoylemd
Inserter
Inserter

How to see errors and logs?

Post by hoylemd »

Hi folks, I'm new to modding, but not to programming.

I'm working on a macbook, since it's where I have all my programming tools set up. Something is going wrong with the mod I'm working on, and I can't find the error output anywhere. I tried `tail` ing the `factorio-current.log` file, but I didn't see any mod errors there. I also added a line to the mod's `control.lua` script so I will know when I've found the right thing:

Code: Select all

game.players[0].print('Hi Mom!')
But I can't find that output anywhere :(

Some of the stuff I've seen from googling around makes me think that `print()` output and errors should be going to stdout or stderr. Also seems that most modders are testing their mods by running the factorio executable in their command line, so stdout and stderr appear in their terminal. I tried this, but since I have the game installed through Steam, the `factorio` executable (found at `~/Library/Application Support/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/factorio.app/MacOS/factorio`) doesn't launch the game such that stdout and stderr are captured - it just launches it and returns to the shell.

So, my questions:
- For those who develop on macos and/or have the game installed through steam, how do you run the game to test your mods?
- Where do mod errors get printed/logged?
- Where does `player.print()` go to?
- What is your favourite colour?

Thanks folks!

DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: How to see errors and logs?

Post by DaveMcW »

game.print() and player.print() display on screen, they are not connected to any external monitoring tool. (Also Lua tables start at 1 so players[0] is an error.)

print() does go to stdout, but stdout is not easy to work with on Steam.

Use this to print to factorio-current.log:

log("Hi Mom!")

hoylemd
Inserter
Inserter

Post by hoylemd »